We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Christmas Day”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Chateau Impney Hotel & Exhibition Centre
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Droitwich
Reviewed January 23, 2013

They look after you very well and the food on Christmas day in the French restaurant was great. The carvery down stairs everyone was packed in. Lots more room in the French restaurant, it does cost more but worth it.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank suntravellover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben E, Manager at Chateau Impney Hotel & Exhibition Centre, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review of your Christmas dining experience at Chateau Impney. We are very happy to know that you enjoyed the special service and food we provided in the beautiful French suite and hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to dine with us again next Christmas, if not sooner.

Kind regards,

Neil D’Souza
Revenue Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,145)
There are newer reviews for Chateau Impney Hotel & Exhibition Centre
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

872 - 878 of 1,145 reviews

Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed here as a last minute weekend break and it was fantastic! We were in one of the apartments on the first night which was a little dated decor wise, but was very spacious and clean. On the second night we were moved into the hotel and had 2 rooms with interconnecting door. These were again dated but spotless. The hotel restaurant food was what I call 'comfort food' i.e. prawn cocktail and proper English main courses - very nice! The staff were very helpful and friendly and couldn't do anything more to help us.

Room Tip: The apartments are spacious if you are travelling with a family.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rowena M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben E, Manager at Chateau Impney Hotel & Exhibition Centre, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your lovely review of Chateau Impney. We are delighted you enjoyed our friendly and helpful staff and that you found your overall stay a fantastic one!

We are in the process of renovating our rooms and do hope you will visit us again soon for another weekend break.

Kind regards,

Neil D’Souza
Revenue Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for a two day work conference last week. We were thrilled to find we had been booked into one of the top top turret rooms, which although a little dated had a comfortable four poster bed and was quite romantic. It snowed heavily during our stay which only added to the atmosphere.
Food and service were okay if unexceptional.

However, after our return on Friday we received an email from our boss warning us that some colleagues had reported their credit/debit cards and driving licences had been stolen during their stay. My wife checked her purse, and low and behold her debit card and driving licence had gone. It's important to note here, that during our two days in the hotel we never left, and my wife had her handbag with her at all times, so one can only surmise that a member of the hotel staff is a pickpocket. This was also the only explanation the police could offer us unless it was one of our colleagues, which seems unlikely, firstly because we know them all, and secondly because another reviewer who visited in the hotel in October last year says that six of her group were victims of theft.

Our company was picking up the tab for the whole event, the hotel staff knew we wouldn't be going to our wallets for anything, so they knew any thefts wouldn't be discovered.
This is of course conjecture, but it's hard to come up with a different conclusion.

We now have all the hassle of stopping cards and replacing the licence, not to mention the fear of identity fraud. There's a fee for the new licence, and a fee to register with an agency that will hopefully prevent the culprits from using my wife's identity. So a 'free' hotel stay won't be so free after all.

The hotel manager denied he had had any other complaints, even though we know he had from colleagues, and from other guests who have stated it here, so there appears to be a resident thief.

Going back to the hotel itself, I think it's probably nice if you get the right room. But I wouldn't stay there again or recommend it anyone - because they obviously have a serious security breach and they show little interest in plugging it.

Room Tip: Make sure you're in the main 'Chateau'
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Matt B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben E, Manager at Chateau Impney Hotel & Exhibition Centre, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2013

Dear Guest,

We were greatly disappointed to read your recent review. We understand how upsetting and frustrating this sort of situation can be and we do apologise that you experienced this at our property. We would like to point out that we have been fully cooperating with both the police and your company representatives, including the offer to reimburse any out of pocket expenses which have been incurred. While we appreciate your frustration, we do feel it is inappropriate to immediately assume that it is a member of staff and there is no evidence to support this. Our hotel manager did not deny that he had no other complaints and we would like to stress that we take all matters of security very seriously indeed. We have and will continue to work hard with both the police and your company to resolve this situation.

Kind regards,

Neil D’Souza
Revenue Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2013

Having read the reviews and seen the travellers' photos I was already prepared for the dated decor and blue bathroom suite! Yes it does look tired and in need of investment but generally it was clean, the staff were friendly and helpful and the food was ok. However, the facilities in the room let the place down. Having checked into the room and eventually found the switch on the wall by the bed that enables you to operate the TV, it would not switch on with either the remote or the buttons on the side of the TV. This was a bit of an irritation but not the end of the world as I wasn't spending much time in the room. Although there was trouser press, there was no iron or ironing board in the room. I picked up the phone to ask reception if they could bring one to the room, but the phone did not work either! I therefore went to meet colleagues in the bar with a creased shirt. The bed was comfy, the staff were good and the food was fine, but I probably wouldn't book a night here with the wife.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank neilcharlwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben E, Manager at Chateau Impney Hotel & Exhibition Centre, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at Chateau Impney. We are very happy to hear that our cleanliness, food and service met your expectations. We are aware that our rooms are in need of some updating, which is actually underway now. We are looking forward to launching our newly renovated rooms complete with everything a business traveller is looking for.

Thank you again for sharing your feedback and we do hope you will try us again when visiting the Droitwich area.

Kind regards,

Neil D’Souza
Revenue Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

We have visited the chateau every christmas & anniversary for the last 16 years and have always enjoyed the Jasons Carvery restaurant, the staff are very attentive and the food is tasty and well prepared. This year we decided to stay over after our meal and decided to book one of the lovely executive rooms in the old section of the hotel with four poster bed, we were not dissapointed! the room was on the top foor in the main front old section overlooking the beautiful gardens and grounds and was an unusual shape due to being in one of the typically french "turrets". As some of the previous reviewers have said, some people may find the hotel a little dated but I dont want to dwell on this subject except to say that the bathroom was a 1970's 80's style but we didnt care it was functional and clean and the main room was beautiful in style, the whole hotel itself (as other reviewers have said) "may" benefit from an overhaul BUT hubby and I both hope that IF this is done, the decorators are CAREFUL not to over do it as the reason we LOVE the chateau and keep going back is because of its DATED CHARM, we like this and everywhere is quaint and a bit old fashioned BUT we expect that when you are staying in an 19th century chateau...the way we see it is that if we were staying in a brand new hotel then we would expect all shiny new chrome everywhere and all mod cons everywhere BUT at the chateau we dont expect OR want that!! as i have mentioned above the staff are lovely and really look after you and we were so impressed with the room and the overnight stay AND the cooked breakfast the next day that we will certainly choose to stay over next time and each time we go to eat at the chateau

Room Tip: always ask for a room in the old original part of the hotel (18th century bit) as this is quaint and...
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Frankie1996
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben E, Manager at Chateau Impney Hotel & Exhibition Centre, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your lovely review of Chateau Impney. We are honoured and delighted you choose to visit us every year for your special celebrations.

It is nice to hear our guests appreciating everything that makes Chateau Impney such a special place. Rest assured the renovation plans currently underway will be sympathetic to the unique features of this beautiful historic building.

We look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.

Kind regards,

Neil D’Souza
Revenue Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

We attended Chateau Impney just before Christmas on a works party and stayed the night. Driving up to the hotel it was very impressive, however, I had done my homework and therefore didn't have high expectations.
The staff were very polite and friendly on arrival. The function room was good and the food was amazing. They served a lot of people in a short period of time and the food was well cooked and still nice and hot when it reached our plates.
The rooms were very old fashioned and in need of an injection of cash to bring them up to date. Whilst the bed was comfy, the creaks of the floorboards above and the noise from next door (only divided by a door) would interrupt the light sleepers amongst us.
Otherwise, the rooms were spotlessly clean and the bedding appeared to be new.
I would recommend the hotel for the entertainment/function room and food and if the rooms/ ensuites were updated, would definitely stop again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BlackCountryNikki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben E, Manager at Chateau Impney Hotel & Exhibition Centre, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent review of Chateau Impney. We are delighted to hear you were pleased with both the food and service for your Christmas works party. We take particular pride in both the quality of food and excellent service for all our functions and events at the Chateau.
You will be pleased to hear that renovations are already underway to bring our rooms up to date and restore the grandeur in the lobby and public areas.

We look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.

Kind regards,

Neil D’Souza
Revenue Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Stopped the one night in a feature double room (406) as a surprise for my husband’s Birthday. We have celebrated Birthdays with a meal in Jason’s Carvery for 10 years but we had never stopped over before. After reading the reviews on here I was very sceptical about booking but I’m so glad I did. Yes, the hotel has recently been sold, yes it needs a substantial amount of money spending on it, yes the room had a very shabby and stained carpet, chipped woodwork and the décor was very dated. Now on to the positive points. The room was huge (as was the bathroom), was well furnished and best of all absolutely spotlessly clean. All the furniture was highly polished and there wasn’t a speck of dust anywhere (I even scrutinised down the side of the armchairs, very sad I know!). The bathroom was cleaned to the same high standard. Hats off to the housekeeping staff for doing such a good job.

We ate in Jason’s Carvery and had (as usual) an excellent meal, attentive waiting staff and a very pleasant chef serving the carvery. Afterwards relaxed in the bar. Just one minor gripe here. Previously we used to sit back and listen to someone playing the piano, now they have installed a flat screen tv. Not my cup of tea and something I felt that ruined the ambience of the place but obviously this is just personal choice.

Breakfast was amazing, huge, delicious cooked breakfast and far bigger portions than we had been expecting.

Check-out (and check-in) was done both friendly and efficiently.

So, to sum up, we certainly weren’t disappointed. The staff are amazing, the place is spotlessly clean, the food is excellent and there is something very magical about stopping here. The grounds are beautiful and we had lovely views from the room over the gardens. However, if you are expecting immaculate décor to a 4 star hotel standard then at the moment this hotel isn’t for you. Hopefully in the future it will be. People just need to accept that the new owners are refurbishing it as quickly as they can but it is a big job.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cakesy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben E, Manager at Chateau Impney Hotel & Exhibition Centre, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review of Chateau Impney. It is nice to hear our guests experiencing everything that is special and magical about the Chateau. All our staff will be particularly delighted to hear your kind comments on their hard work, along with the quality of the meals you enjoyed.

Refurbishment work is already underway and as you mentioned, it is a large project which will take time.

Thank you again for taking the time to share your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back again to see the changes very soon.

Kind regards,

Neil D’Souza
Revenue Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Droitwich
1.2 mi away
St Andrews Town Hotel
St Andrews Town Hotel
#2 of 4 in Droitwich
507 reviews
0.5 mi away
Travelodge Droitwich
Travelodge Droitwich
#3 of 4 in Droitwich
218 reviews
8.1 mi away
The Southcrest Manor Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Hogarths Stone Manor
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Droitwich M5, Jct 5
7.1 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Stourport Manor
Hallmark Hotel Stourport Manor
#1 of 1 in Stourport on Severn
922 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau Impney Hotel & Exhibition Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau Impney Hotel & Exhibition Centre

Address: Bromsgrove Road, Droitwich WR9 0BN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Worcestershire > Droitwich
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Droitwich
Price Range: $76 - $114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Chateau Impney Hotel & Exhibition Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 114
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Chateau Impney Hotel & Exhibition Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau Impney Hotel Droitwich
Chateau Impney Droitwich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing