We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Christmas Meal”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Droitwich
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Crown and Sandys
Ranked #2 of 5 Droitwich B&B and Inns
Reviewed December 14, 2013

We visited for our company Christmas meal. It made a refreshing change to the usual Corporate offering. The menu choice was good and featured something for everyone. The service was great and the staff were very friendly.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dudleyone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (220)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

173 - 179 of 220 reviews

Reviewed November 13, 2013

The service at 8.30 on a Saturday evening was very slow. We were seated to our table and then saw no one for over half an hour !! Once the drink and food order was taken it took a reasonable amount of time to arrive, but was small and expensive. Wouldn't go back.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank sofilou2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2013

If the reception room had been larger, our son and his wife would have chosen here for their reception, so that had to be elsewhere. As it was, we took all the bedrooms and had a wonderful time here with first class friendly service, spotlessly clean and well furnished rooms. Two of the beds are enormous! We had dinner on the Friday evening, two breakfasts and lunch and all the family were able to chose what they wanted. Not easy with 14 guests of ages between 10 -73! We really could not fault anything and the staff did everything, before and after out stay, to give us a fantastic weekend. As we use hotels around the world, we do know a good hotel when we find one, and this passed all expectations in all respects. Thank you to Erica and Jacob especially. You made us feel very welcome and it was more like staying at friends, rather than in a hotel. We will be sure to come back if there are other family occasions in the area.

Room Tip: There was no lift and the stairs quite steep, so would not suit some guests, but otherwise there wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DAC493
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

We were given a weekend break at the Crown and Sandys by a family member who had previously stayed there. Having read some of the reviews online, I was a little sceptical, but looking forward to a break away.
Both my husband and I were very very impressed with the friendliness of the staff, the size and comfort of our room, the service at all meals, and the ability of the staff to multitask and deal with two private functions and a full restaurant.
The quality of the food that came out was amazing, the sea bass highly to be recommended.
What a wonderful weekend away, in a lovely village setting.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rendad2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013

we had our wedding here last month and everything was perfect ;-) we couldn't have picked a better venue for a civil ceremony. Simply Amazing, the staff are really attentive, the food is superb and the rooms are beautiful. The bridal suite has a lovely bath in the room and a double shower.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Shazlu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

We were very disappointed with the service and the quality of the food, 3 out of 6 meals were not at all good, in fact we complained and 1 meal was taken off the bill, The piece of fish was so small it should have been a starter!! Chicken Supreme was just grilled no sauce very dry and awful. The pork dish was also very disappointing. They were very busy had a wedding party, need to get extra staff for these occasions, if they are unable to cope with both they should do one or the other. It will be a long time before we go again if ever. It is a pity we have been several times before and live very local. Certainly will not recommend it

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank julia k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

By no means a total disappointment. Room was comfortable. Lots of traffic noise but that's not their fault. Some grubbiness around the bath and a general need for some more thorough cleaning but generally acceptable for a one night stopover. It's a bit of a shame that, while the staff are generally quite personable, they lack the ability to serve and treat their customers with any respect or deference. The drink I ordered in the evening was served wrongly and I took it back to the bar and asked for the drink I had ordered. The barman chose to argue with me and say that he would only have served the drink the waiter told him to. I knew what I had ordered and didn't want an argument or explanation, just for the correct drink to be served to me. When we came down to breakfast the following morning, two members of staff (including the barman from the previous evening) were seated at a table, chatting over a coffee. At no time were we welcomed, said 'good morning' to or shown to a table and had breakfast explained to us. After we had been seated at a table for at least 5 minutes, the barman came through and asked us to move, with plenty of sarcasm in his voice I might add, as the table we were sat at was laid for four people and we should choose a table laid for two. He should obviously have wished us good morning and shown us to a correct table from the outset. I had the feeling that he deliberately waited for a while, in order that he could take the simple pleasure of seeing that we would probably sit at the wrong table. When we wanted to leave and settle our bill, we waited at the bar for a while - no-one around - we started to chatter and call, and soon after, the aforementioned barman came out again, this time with another member of staff, and said sarcastically that we can wait a while then two staff come at the same time! I am sure they were seated at the back, hearing us and taking a childish pleasure in making us wait. A very immature and unprofessional staffing approach at this establishment, spoils an otherwise comfortable night's stay.

Room Tip: One at the back, away from the busy A38
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank squirrelgeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Droitwich
3.1 mi away
St Andrews Town Hotel
St Andrews Town Hotel
#2 of 4 in Droitwich
532 reviews
4.4 mi away
Pear Tree Inn and Country Hotel
4 mi away
Chateau Impney Hotel & Exhibition Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hadley Bowling Green Inn
Hadley Bowling Green Inn
#1 of 5 in Droitwich
494 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Lenchford Inn
The Lenchford Inn
#6 of 27 in Worcester
297 reviews
7.5 mi away
The Vernon Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crown and Sandys? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crown and Sandys

Address: Main Road, Droitwich WR9 0EW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Worcestershire > Droitwich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Droitwich
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Part of the Scoff and Quaff family, The Crown and Sandys is a is a large pub restaurant with a successful kitchen and front of house team, serving traditional British Fayre and locally sourced real ale, Crown and Sandys is embedded in the heart of Ombersley, Worcestershire. A perfect venue for large parties, such as wedding receptions, birthdays, christenings and corporate events. We would love for you to come down and enjoy breakfast, lunch or dinner at the best pub in Worcestershire! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Crown And Sandys Hotel Droitwich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing