We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yet another unhappy customer”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Droitwich
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Crown and Sandys
Ranked #3 of 5 Droitwich B&B and Inns
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Yet another unhappy customer”
Reviewed December 22, 2012

The Crown and Sandys were very unaccommodating for my food choices, they could not make me a simple salad and the food I was served was awful quality. I'm guessing they don't have a fridge as the fresh produce looked old and was utterly tasteless.

The young kids who where waiting didn't seem to know what they were doing and were not particularly friendly in any way. The whole experience was worse than McDonalds (not that I ever go there anymore)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam11111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    52
    29
    21
    17
See reviews for
50
68
3
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2012

We got married locally and the groom and friends stayed at the C&W the night before and several guests stayed there on the night of the wedding. The service was excellent and I would like to thank you for looking after everyone!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nathalie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2012

This restaurant, in Ombersley, is a pleasant establishment run by the same company as one of our favourite restaurants, The Kings Head in Worcester.
Popped in for lunch and had two sandwiches. Although not cheap, the quality compensates for this and the chips are very good.
Good choice of beer and cider and the waitress was attentive.
Recommend the 'Posh Hot-Dog'

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sherlock641
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bewdley, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2012

I ordered from the specials menu offering two courses for £12. There was a fairly good choice available. I had crab cakes for starter and sea bass for main course. Both courses were bland in taste and not very warm when they arrived at the table. Service was good with staff friendly and efficient. Surroundings pleasant with modern decor. Wouldn't hurry to go back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2012

We were really disappointed with our meal which was ordered from the main menu just about warm which is not ideal for lamb and chicken,service was very impersonal.We had to wait ages for our drinks.To round off our experience we had drinks on our bill we had not ordered and had to wait for 15minutes to get a revised bill which we went to the bar to collect in the end as we had to be somewhere else and were late.Maybe they have enough customers that they do not need to worry too much which is a shame as we have been to the Kings Head in Sidbury on many occassions and never been disappointed you would not think they belonged to the same company.We will not be returning to the Crown & Sandys.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Patricia2260
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcestershire
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2012

Went to the Crown and Sandys at lunchtime to celebrate a Birthday and had a good meal. We went for the set menu which I think runs until 7pm (certain weekdays) whereby you can have 2 courses for £12 and 3 courses for £15 (I think!). I had fish and chips and a chocolate brownie dessert. The chips are really chunky and crispy and I enjoyed the main course. The dessert was also well presented. Both portions were of normal size and not tiny, as can sometime happen with set menus. The interior is warm and inviting and typical gastro pub style with plenty of oak about and an eclectic mix of furniture. This place is part of the same group as Swan at Whittington and Kings Head Sidbury, amongst others, so if you've been to either of those, expect the same sort of quality here.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank russs99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

This was our second visit to the C and S since new ownership. Last time we commented that the 'fresh English turkey' was more like a well-known source from East Anglia.
This time, we tried again with an open mind. Service adequate but impersonal. Food average. Chicken curry was bland and dry with chewy popadom. Steak and ale pie looked and tasted fine, but was floating in a pool of cool mushy potato. A bottle of thin Sauvignon Blanc at £15 or so didn't help.
The surroundings are still the same and I suppose people are lured by the old reputation, but I think they need to brush their act up.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank martin186424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Droitwich
3.1 mi away
St Andrews Town Hotel
St Andrews Town Hotel
#2 of 4 in Droitwich
490 reviews
4.0 mi away
Chateau Impney Hotel & Exhibition Centre
4.4 mi away
Pear Tree Inn and Country Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
The Granary Hotel and Restaurant
4.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Droitwich M5, Jct 5
7.4 mi away
The Elms
The Elms
#1 of 1 in Abberley
659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crown and Sandys? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crown and Sandys

Property: The Crown and Sandys
Address: Main Road, Droitwich WR9 0EW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Worcestershire > Droitwich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Droitwich
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Part of the Scoff and Quaff family, The Crown and Sandys is a is a large pub restaurant with a successful kitchen and front of house team, serving traditional British Fayre and locally sourced real ale, Crown and Sandys is embedded in the heart of Ombersley, Worcestershire. A perfect venue for large parties, such as wedding receptions, birthdays, christenings and corporate events. We would love for you to come down and enjoy breakfast, lunch or dinner at the best pub in Worcestershire! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Crown And Sandys Hotel Droitwich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing