We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't book MY table...”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Chequers

The Chequers
Ranked #3 of 64 Restaurants in Droitwich
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $49
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
West Bromwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Don't book MY table...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

... because I will definitely be returning and I don't want to find that it has become too busy for me to book for a meal!
Excellent food, excellent service and the beer is marvellous.
Table for two, we had excellent unobtrusive service and the meals were excellent.
Thoroughly, unreservedly recommended.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    171
    102
    31
    22
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kidderminster
Level Contributor
32 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

Went on a Monday lunchtime - great food, good service. Chose food off the special lunch time menu - very nice. Good presentation and delicious.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Perfect Ambiance”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

Reading the last review it is obvious that you can't please everyone. I was very impressed by the food, it's presentation, the ambiance and the attentive staff. I like to be served my meal promptly once I have ordered it. We took time over ordering, having a drink and some lively converstion before settling on our menu choices. We were not rushed in anyway. Likewise between main meal and desert we had a drink and again were not rushed. We booked at 7:30 and left after two excellent courses and some good wine at 11:00 p.m. The evening is what you make it. This is an excellent place to eat that serves wonderful food which is beautifully presented. 5 star in my opinion.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lp1125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
149 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

My wife, our eldest daughter and I ate at the Chequers last week to celebrate my wife's Birthday. The food was good, but our meal was spolied by being too rushed. We sat down at 7.35 and 55 minutes later had finished two courses, and that time included choosing from the menu. This was simply too fast - our mains arrived within 3-4 minutes of us completing our starters. When paying the bill, I mentioned to the waiter that our meal had been spolied by being rushed. He agreed, and said that it was because the kitchen had become busy all of a sudden. I didn't and still don't understand what he meant by that. I think we were rushed because the restaurant had a party of (I think) about 10 or 12 who sat down at the same time as we did, and therefore the kitchen wanted to get our meals out and finished before serving the big party. Overall we were disappointed. The next day I emailed the restaurant with the above information and to be fair they called back pretty quickly, sounding concerned. However the person that called defended the speed of the service, and said that we perhaps should have mentioned to the waiter that we required a longer pause between courses. This isn't pub grub - the mains were £17 each - and 55 minutes from start to finish is in my opinion just too fast. The manager that called offered a free glass of "sparkling rose" on our next visit. There won't be one.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DavidSnellUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Cosy Atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

Popped in for a drink - lovely country pub with very pleasant staff. It was so cosy two people had fallen asleep in the comfy chairs!! Drinks were reasonable - would definitely return

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank LadyPentreath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Chequers also viewed

Droitwich, Worcestershire
 
Droitwich, Worcestershire
Droitwich, Worcestershire
 

Been to The Chequers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing