We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for lunch”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dereham
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Yaxham Waters Holiday Park
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 17, 2013

Having looked round this pleasant site we stayed for lunch and what a delight. Fresh vegetables, all locally sourced, reasonably priced and of good quality. Not only service with a smile but on Thursdays a special over 60's discount. We will return.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roy593
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (113)
There are newer reviews for Yaxham Waters Holiday Park
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

99 - 105 of 113 reviews

Reviewed October 4, 2013

Great place with excellent facilities both on and offsite. Have all ready looked into booking our next stay. Feeding the goats and chickens was brilliant and the onsite shop And cafe was brilliant. Fishing was a joy as well as being able to take the dog was a real treat the letting lodges could go with a bit of a touch up as little details eg toilet roll holder kept breaking holes on the walls and floors

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Saragreen92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Stay was pleasant , staff in cafe and shop very polite ,food was of high standard , chef made sure everything was fine (and the staff) . Very clean .Nice soft towels.Very quiet and peaceful , a few problems with the lodge .stains on carpet in main bedroom , the mattresses in both bedrooms were very uncomfortable . The sofa bed was dipped which made it unpleasant to sit on and view tv . if you are going for the fishing and for carp , these I found were small not to say there are not bigger , but my biggest was about 2lb, if you have young children that would like to fish then a great place to start. Shame the lake was not alot larger , on small side .The Mid-Norfolk Railway runs along the back of the site (great view) .Playground for the kids a bit run down , but the kids there seemed to love it .

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mike o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Never have I experienced such a wonderful uk self catering holiday as our weeks stay in a lodge at yaxham waters .
ideal for families and fisherman / non fisherman alike
the lodges are clean and modern coming with 42" tv,s with playstations and all mod cons . only thing needed was some larger cooking pots as there a bit on the small side .
the view over the lake was stunning and a lovely way to watch the sun go down .
I went with wife and two children , one age 17 one 7
the 17 year old daughter I thought would hate it but asked if we could stay for longer
we have already booked the same week next year and are taking our parents as well
location is great you feel as though you are in the middle of nowhere , but just a mile and a half away at dereham is a huge tescos and lidl
a good day out is on the steam train from dereham to wyndham , also wells on sea which is a wonderful seaside small town with loads to do.
or you could just sit by the lake , either way you will have a wonderful time
and a small mention for all the staff who are some of the friendliest ever
thanks to you all xx

Room Tip: take lots of bread and sweetcorn for the fish
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MoulesFrites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

The facilities at Yaxham waters I feel where pretty good. Showers and toilets where clean and generally well stocked. The site overall was very tidy and well maintained. The Cafe onsite I thought was awful. The standard of food was terrible and overpriced, and personally think it needs a huge menu overall. Its a real shame when its the only cafe on site. It really does let the site down especially given they should have great access to local farmers meat and produce, Norfolk has no shortage of good quality farms.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Georgia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YaxhamWaters, Manager at Yaxham Waters Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2013

Thank you for your review. We are sorry that you didn't enjoy the food in our café as it is normally very popular with our holidaymakers and people in the local villages. Unfortunately at the moment our kitchen is quite small and we don't have the facilities to offer as wide a range of meals as we would like. We do offer specials every day as well as our normal menu to try and introduce more variety. We are starting a café extension at the end of the summer season which will extend and modernize our kitchen. We will also be reviewing and extending our menu then.
We do try to source our food locally when we can. For example we use the eggs from our own chickens in our cakes and breakfasts in the café, and we use meat from the local butcher. We also sell some local vegetables in our shop.
Thank you for your kind review of our facilities, and we hope that if you stay with us again you will be able to see the benefit of our café extension.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

We had a lovely relaxing time in a beautiful lodge-the lodge had everything you needed, and was lovely and warm overlooking the lovely little lake, staff very friendly, nice little restaurant on site, can't wait to go back in october, we took our 2 dogs too, wish I could afford to buy a lodge as a holiday home

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kandidandi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013

Yaxham waters has an excellent shop, a great cafe and lovely staff. The shower block is modern and cleaned every day. The pitches are quite close together but it wasn't too busy so that was fine for us. We had a very relaxing stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank norwichtraveller08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dereham
1.9 mi away
The Romany Rye Hotel
The Romany Rye Hotel
#1 of 4 in Dereham
368 reviews
5.4 mi away
Barnham Broom
Barnham Broom
#1 of 1 in Barnham Broom
903 reviews
2.0 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#2 of 4 in Dereham
266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Greenbanks Country Hotel & Restaurant
0.8 mi away
Yaxham Mill
Yaxham Mill
#5 of 9 in Dereham
162 reviews
0.3 mi away
Forge House Yaxham Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yaxham Waters Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yaxham Waters Holiday Park

Address: Dereham Road | Yaxham, Dereham NR19 1RF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Dereham
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Dereham
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Yaxham Waters is a scenic and tranquil ten acre holiday park set in the middle of the Norfolk countryside. We’re right in the centre of the county making us a great base for exploring the county’s attractions and famous coastline. We have luxury lakeside and countryside lodges to rent or buy. Our popular café serves a variety of freshly prepared meals and all of our ingredients are locally sourced wherever possible. We have a fully-enclosed children’s play area and goats, battery-rescue chickens, fish and ducks to feed, meaning that there is plenty to keep children entertained. For keen anglers, we have two well-stocked fishing lakes, one for the use of our lodge customers and the other for day ticket holders. You can purchase day tickets from our farm shop, along with any essentials you may need for your stay. Our park is ideal for family holidays and people looking to relax and enjoy the beautiful scenery that Norfolk has to offer. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Yaxham Waters Holiday Park Dereham, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing