We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely short stay hotel/B&B” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Glendower House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Glendower House
Ranked #8 of 8 Dereham B&B and Inns
Immingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Lovely short stay hotel/B&B”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

I stayed at the Glendower last week when visiting friends in Norfolk. I received an email from Steve (the owner) prior to my visit confirming the details. Upon arrival Steve was very welcoming me and was aware of who I was. It was a very pleasant greeting.
The hotel itself was decorated nicely and had a really homely feel to it. I had a big room and was very comfortable in it. It was, in fact, a family room with bunkbeds included...and many toys and games for the children too. On top of that was a wide selection of books for children and adults alike. I felt this was a great touch for any family that may potentially be staying here.

During the night the room was comfortable and quiet. The slight downside was that it was a shared bathroom (but I was aware of this at the time of booking) and the bathroom was well stocked with toiletries. It was also kept very clean and tidy, with plenty guest towels.

Breakfast the next morning was cooked to choice by Steve, so was hot and fresh...complimenting the continental options in the breakfast room.

It was a brief stay but a very enjoyable one. I would happily stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KevinC2111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    16
    5
    2
    3
See reviews for
21
3
2
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ashby de la Zouch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

We spent a lovely weekend at Glendower house during the Mid Norfolk Steam Gala.

Our apartment for the four of us was upstairs in a little courtyard and our rooms faced the front of the building.

There are 2 bedrooms, a double and one with 2 singles. The twin room has the bathroom off it so we made a rule that if the door is closed, someone is in there, door open and it's vacant.

You also have your own kitchen, and the fridge came in very useful for us to store our drink cans during the heatwave.

Rooms are good sized, bright and cheerful, furnished to a good standard with lovely homely little touches on the walls and shelves.

Beds are comfy. General cleanliness is very good and bedrooms have blackout blinds to ensure a good night's sleep.

Location wise, all we had to do from the Railway Station was walk across the road to Morrisons, follow the footpath round the back of the building and Glendower House is just across the road.

All in all, we couldn't have picked a place more perfect for what we wanted when you take price into consideration. £6 for a freshly cooked to order breakfast on top of the apartment price made it excellent value for money.

Nothing is too much trouble for Steve the host and he will go out of his way to make your stay as pleasant and as comfortable as he can.

Hope he can fit us in next year!



  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sanbria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

Very cute, service is amazing, breakfast is brilliant, the room was comfy, location is central great for a lazy getaway!!
Recommend for a short stay!!! Steve is helpful too!! Would stay here again if I had too!!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Panna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2013

Stayed here by accident - fell ill unexpectedly and couldn't drive home to Hertfordshire, so checked into the nearest place - Glendower House. Wonderful large room, high ceiling, big picture window, very comfortable bed with real linen - feather duvet and pillows, cotton sheets, etc. Steve was very kind - checked on me on Day 3 to "make sure I hadn't died". Ended up staying for the week as I was so unwell; wasn't up to eating anything so can't comment on food. Max is adorable! Great location, excellent to have parking, and such a beautiful house.
Good wifi signal a huge plus; could work whilst recovering.
Only down side was was no ensuite - I would never normally book anywhere that had shared facilities, but as the laterooms.com description of each room includes a bathroom, I booked it thinking there was one. {rooms are big enough to add a little shower cubicle and a toilet in them, Steve :-)}
Highly recommend.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deesuthers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
staffordshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

We stayed here overnight to attend a family funeral. The room was very good and warm with towels and dressing gownns. The owner let us check in early so we could change on arrival. The bathroom was very good and breakfast excellent. The only thing missing was a coffee machine at breakfast but all in all friendly , cosy and lovely. Thank you

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank happyHisaronu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2013 via mobile

Our first stay at Glendower House will hopefully not be our last. The owner, Steve, made us feel very welcome, as did his lovely dog, Max.
The room that we stayed in was spacious and bright. I loved the little extra touches such as the robes that were left for our use and the basket of toiletries in the bathroom that were for guests to use.
The cooked breakfast was delicious and came in addition to choices of different cereals, yogurts, toast and fruit.
This B&B is excellent value and in a good location.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsJaxL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Masnuy-Saint-Jean, Belgium
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013

Just spent two nights at Glendower house and would recommend it to anyone coming to Dereham. The house is beautiful and we had a great big room over looking the garden. We slept very well both nights and came down to very good breakfast both mornings. The house is very convenient to walk in to town. Finally the family were really welcoming and we shall certainly stay next time we are back.

Room Tip: The back bedroom is very large it doesn't have an on suite but is close to the bathroom and they...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank angyweir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dereham
0.2 mi away
The Romany Rye Hotel
The Romany Rye Hotel
#1 of 4 in Dereham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
0.4 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#2 of 4 in Dereham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
4.3 mi away
Greenbanks Country Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Barnham Broom
Barnham Broom
#1 of 1 in Barnham Broom
4.0 of 5 bubbles 852 reviews
2.1 mi away
Yaxham Mill
Yaxham Mill
#4 of 8 in Dereham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
4.4 mi away
Bartles Lodge
Bartles Lodge
#5 of 8 in Dereham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glendower House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glendower House

Property: Glendower House
Address: 10 Commercial Road, Dereham NR191AE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Dereham
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Dereham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Glendower House 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Glendower House is a Victorian house with 2 rooms in the main house plus 6 self-contained / self catering apartments. Glendower is very close to town centre, providing easy and convenient access to all local shops and facilities including numerous pubs and restaurants. Dereham is at the centre of Norfolk, so getting to Norwich, the broads, and all of the coastline is just a short drive or bus ride away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia and LateRooms so you can book your Glendower House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glendower House Dereham, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing