We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Hotels.com$153
CheapTickets$153
Travelocity$153
Tripadvisor$153
ZenHotels.com
FindHotel
View all 11 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (80)
Filter reviews
80 results
Traveler rating
74
5
0
0
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
74
5
0
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews norfolk countryside the main house wonderful hosts dressing room stayed nights great stay hunters hall comfy bed peaceful location jean wensum warwick geese wedding plush fishing coast
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
21 - 26 of 80 reviews
Reviewed August 11, 2020

we had a wonderful two days in this wonderful place. Evening meal on the terrace watching the sunset over the river with the geese strolling in was superb and so tranquil after a difficult drive up. Jean and her team have thought of everything and nothing was missing. The large dining room table also enabled conversation between guests.
Walks in the area include one along the river .

Room tip: different sized rooms described on their website
Date of stay: August 2020
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Joanna7124
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean Wright, Owner at Carricks at Castle Farm, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2020

Joanna and Jan, I really enjoyed your company and look forward to your return whenever it may be. The peaceful Wensum Valley takes some beating for a short break from your busy lives.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2020

Despite the fact that we stayed a few weeks after easing from COVID-19, our second stay at Carrick’s was as enjoyable as our first. John and Jean were as welcoming and accommodating as ever, while all the necessary precautions have been taken. The house and beautiful grounds are so spacious that you feel like you have the place to yourself. As before, the fabulous cooked breakfast went down a storm with our teenage children.

Date of stay: August 2020
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank benmH7916VA
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean Wright, Owner at Carricks at Castle Farm, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2020

It was great you see you and your family again, and we look forward to you returning in less stressful times
and thank you for your comments which are much appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2020

We stayed for two nights: Wonderful hosts and Jean's cooking is to die for; beautiful setting adjacent to the River Wensum and the cottage we stayed in was next to the main house. Spacious rooms - kitchen/sitting area, bedroom and big ensuite; comfy bed, fluffy towels and open fire for winter nights. Absolutely recommend a couple of nights at the very least

Room tip: Cottage adjacent to house is fabulous
Date of stay: July 2020
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 535alisonb
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean Wright, Owner at Carricks at Castle Farm, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2020

Thank you Alison for your kind words, I really enjoyed meeting you both and look forward to your return one of these days,
in the meantime stay safe and keep well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2019

We stayed for 5 delightful nights at Carricks. Even in late November the guest house is warm and very comfortable.
The evening meal and breakfasts were excellent - thank you :-)
We will miss the wonderful walks along the river.

Date of stay: November 2019
Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2019

We booked to stay here while guests at a wedding at Hunters Hall. The location was excellent, you approach down the farm track and there sits the beautiful old farm house in an idyllic setting. The owner greeted us in the friendliest manner such a lovely welcome, she and her husband are the perfect hosts. The room was perfect too very comfortable, furniture fitted the time period of the house but it had a very modern en-suite. The communal rooms were very comfortable with lots of books around to enjoy. The grounds are lovely you can sit by the stream or go for a great country walk, the peace and quiet is heaven. A great breakfast you choose what you would like perfect. Beautiful crockery and cut glass used. We loved the peaceful location and hospitality we will definitely return you do get 5 star treatment! Thank you

Date of stay: September 2019
Thank 562sandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews