We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value accommodation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Romany Rye Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Dereham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 9, 2012

A Wetherspoons hotel in the center of Dereham. Comfortable and very good value for money. The reception staff were very welcoming and helped with the only problem we had - parking. The room was a good size and the bed very comfortable. The bedding was feather based to which my wife was allergic but it was no trouble to change to synthetic bedding.The shower was very good. Breakfasts were inexpensive with a reasonable choice. (English breakfast for £2.99). Evening meals were also good. We were there on steak night and the place was very busy but even so we were served in reasonable time and our steaks were cooked just as we had ordered. There was a good selection of real ales on sale.This was a good, inexpensive base to explore Norfolk and Norwich

Room Tip: We were very satisfied with room 102. Even though the room was on the front we didn't experience...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank conguk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (377)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

356 - 362 of 377 reviews

Reviewed October 27, 2012

Parking and checking was fine with helpful, friendly service. Given room 101. Refering back to previous review, the shower still leaks and more ends up on the floor and the plug in the bathroom does not fit. Everytime the handdryer in the ladies in the bar was used it could be heard. Bathroom was tiny and the room felt claustraphobic. The only positive was £48 for a friday and decent restaurant and breakfast.

Room Tip: Refuse room 101 or check the shower has been fixed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank exhullboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

This is a good quality Wetherspoons hotel in a central location. rooms were good size with good quality fixtures and fittings, large comfy beds. Usual Wetherspoons fare, always good value. My one gripe is in the small bathroom. The design of the wash basin means that you can not wash without sloshing water all over the floor and you are in great danger of suffering cranial damage from the fixed position tap. Please redesign!. Rooms at the front of the hotel are best to avoid extractor fan noise at night. Would recommend for short stay.

Room Tip: Avoid room 111 due to noisy fan. Rooms at the front best.
See more room tips
Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
Thank lugabugs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

Arrived Friday evening and checked in OK. Couldn't park in the car park but found parking nearby. We went in the bar for our meal; I had Chilli which was lovely. My wife wanted one of their Superfood Salads, sold out unfortunately at 8pm. She chose some Pasta dish which was only average. Room was lovely, shower worked fine and the room was nicely decorated. Checking out on Sunday we went into the bar for breakfast. Wanted Eggs Benedict only to be told they only had one poached egg!! They had plenty of eggs to fry them but only one to poach. Bizarre. So in summary the room was fine but the eating experience left a bit to be desired.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Worksopman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2012

We got this room at an excellent price of less than £30.00 on a Monday night so we can't really grumble at anything for that price. Not that there was really anything to grumble about. When we checked in the Receptionist was really pleasant, we were given room 101 !!!!!!! at the top of the stairs. This was a room at the front but there wasn't any noise, probably due to the fact it was a Monday Night. The room was lovely and of course the pub below was very handy for breakfast in the morning. My only gripe was that when the shower was turned on it had a leak from where it was attached to the pipe so it flooded the bathroom even with the shower curtain tucked in. We mentioned in to the Receptionist on the way out who said she would get it reported but didn't apologise for it or say she hoped it hadn't spoilt our stay. It hadn't but it would have been nice to have had it acknowledged. Would stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pomy63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

Well, this is the first time my wife & I have stayed at a Wetherlodge and we were very pleasently surprised. The rooms ( we travelled with another couple) were very well decorated, large, spotlessly clean & well equipt. Our room was at the rear thus had no noise, on the first floor and not too hot. The staff, especially the young lady I know only as 'Sam' was most helpful, polite and informative. Even to a very old rude, arragent old man ( I can't say Gentleman) who expected EVERYTHING to be done for him. At all times Sam and the other members of staff were always polite & helpful towards this most awkward guest, even though he shouted and tried to bully them at all times for no reason. Please remember that this is a new budget hotel above a Wetherspoon pub, not a 5 star restaurent. We will return and advise others to do so. On visiting the Romany Rye my wife & I will now visit other Wetherlodges. Only downside was there is very limited parking, which didn't bother us as there was a free carpark 3/4 minutes walk away, also there is no lift. But verything else was is really great. JTM France.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jtmfrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

Tables are not cleared quickly and, when they are, they are not set up properly. When staff were questioned in this regard the response was 'we have been very busy'. In which case there should be more staff - we have a lot. In which case they are not managed or trained well enough. At the steps from the lower to the upper floor was a trolley piled high with soiled plates, glasses and utensils - this should not be, they should be away out of view. What type of customer are they trying to attract? Those who eat from uncleared tables and in sight of dirty plates or those of slightly of slightly higher standards.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beverley127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dereham
0.1 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#2 of 4 in Dereham
275 reviews
12.0 mi away
Best Western Brook Hotel Norwich
23.5 mi away
Globe Hotel
Globe Hotel
#2 of 15 in King's Lynn
777 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.4 mi away
The Dukes Head Hotel
The Dukes Head Hotel
#7 of 15 in King's Lynn
1,098 reviews
6.8 mi away
Barnham Broom
Barnham Broom
#1 of 1 in Barnham Broom
915 reviews
15.4 mi away
Maids Head Hotel
Maids Head Hotel
#2 of 50 in Norwich
1,220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Romany Rye Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Romany Rye Hotel

Address: Church Street, Dereham NR19 1DL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Dereham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Dereham
Price Range: $58 - $100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have 22 en-suite rooms; all have tea & coffee facilities, LCD flat screen TV, hairdryer, bath and shower. All rooms have wifi access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Romany Rye Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Romany Rye Hotel Dereham, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing