We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bank Holiday Break”
Review of The George Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The George Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Dereham
Certificate of Excellence
West Ham, London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Bank Holiday Break”
Reviewed August 25, 2014

My partner and myself had a wonderful 2 night break. The hotel was spotlessly clean, our room very spacious and comfortable (We had the four-poster bed) and the staff very cheerful and helpful.

The breakfasts were delicious ranging from eggs Benedict, smoked salmon with scrambled eggs and the full English. We had the Norfolk Lamb on Saturday evening and it practically melted in your mouth.

Altogether a very nice experience and I would recommend this hotel to anyone staying in the Dereham area.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
superchefnorwich, Owner at The George Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2014
Thank you for the lovely review. We are glad that you enjoyed both your stay and the food. Its great to get positive feed back. We hope you return to stay again soon. Rebecca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    74
    30
    11
    9
See reviews for
67
89
8
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2014

Had a great afternoon here, brought the one with pimms on groupon and was told they were busy today so i might be waiting a little bit... didn't bother me in the slightest though as i was too busy chatting ! Our pimms was brought out straight away and we asked for tea and coffee. BRILLIANT SELECTION OF CAKES! and they were all yummy ! i loved that they did a plain scone with it too and apple cake was the best! Sandwiches were great to but maybe something to improve on is a slightly larger selection of savoury food not that i mind having loads of cakes, but i know some places do cheese straws or mini sausage rolls with their afternoon teas.

stayed there a really long time started to feel sorry for the staff having to put up with us haha! but they were lovely and we would recommend it to anyone. Had a lovely afternoon thanks for making it so great (especially as it was my friends birthday)

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lyndsey O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
superchefnorwich, Owner at The George Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2014
Thank you for writing us such a fab review for our afternoon tea. Here at the George we prepare everything on the premises from scratch, so its great to get positive feedback for something that a lot of work has gone into. Rebecca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 23, 2014 via mobile

Went here with a group of friends last night atmosphere was good. Food was all round amazing and if you have a sweet tooth this is the place to go. Steak was cooked to my liking and the house salad was delicious! All cooked local and fresh definitely going back again! Highly recommended!!

Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Abilaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
superchefnorwich, Owner at The George Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write us such a fab review. We are glad that all the food was to your liking Hope to see you again soon :) Rebecca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmarthen, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2014

We booked 2 rooms for a family event. We made life difficult for the staff because we were arriving late and arrived even later than anticipated at 11pm. While the place was closed, their lights wee on quickly as we arrived and they got us booked in and to our rooms quickly and efficiently. Rooms clean and comfortable. Breakfast was good and the evening in the bar vey pleasant. All in all, a good place to stay and would stay again.

Room Tip: There are two rooms in a separate building up a flight of stairs. Own external door and we stayed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
superchefnorwich, Owner at The George Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Your arrival did not put us out at all, we were looking out for you. Glad you enjoyed yourself. Rebecca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2014

Stayed one night at the George Hotel. The food was excellent and reasonable priced. The hotel was also dog friendly.
Dereham is a small market town with plenty of shops and an interesting church.
Would recommend for a stopover.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mossgrant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
superchefnorwich, Owner at The George Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. Glad you enjoyed your stay.Hope you choose us again if you are in the area. Rebecca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
476 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2014 via mobile

We bought groupon vouchers for afternoon tea, cakes and sandwiches and used groupons online reservation list and added on the notes that ons of the party were gluten intolerant. Upon arriving at The George Hotel staff had no idea I was gluten intolerant and therefore hadn't made provisions, I believe this was down to groupons booking errors. The manageress offered us any main meal from the menu and her husband bought me gluten free cakes from the shop and baked my partners cake and scone fresh. I was also made a gluten free batter with my fish. My partner had the crayfish. The food was lovely, the Pimms was generous and with lots of fresh fruit which I believe was all grown on site as dotted all around are various strawberry plants, cucumber plants and lots of herbs. We will definitely be going again. (I did complain to Groupon, if they are going to add a "additional information " section then they must make sure the retailer gets this.)

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank SmartDamo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
superchefnorwich, Owner at The George Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. I am sorry that we were not aware of your Gluten intolerance. I am glad that you were happy with what we did to try and rectify the situation. Its disappointing as had we known we would have prepared you a afternoon tea to meet your requirements. We hope you do come back for another meal soon . Rebecca.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2014 via mobile

Food and staff excellent.
Rooms though could do with being updated and one of the beds seemed smaller than an actual double bed
Good value for money, we had a weekend break which included a fabulous breakfast, nice start to the day
The staff were all very friendly and nothing was
too much trouble . Hotel is in a nice central location we will definitely return soon

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Salc5047
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
superchefnorwich, Owner at The George Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2014
Thank you for your kind review. Glad to hear that you enjoyed the food and that the staff met your needs. We plan to update some of the rooms soon, we only took over in February. We do hope to see you again soon. Rebecca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dereham
0.1 mi away
The Romany Rye Hotel
The Romany Rye Hotel
#1 of 4 in Dereham
357 reviews
6.9 mi away
Barnham Broom
Barnham Broom
#1 of 1 in Barnham Broom
895 reviews
9.3 mi away
Broom Hall Country Hotel
Broom Hall Country Hotel
#1 of 1 in Saham Toney
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.9 mi away
Beechwood Hotel
Beechwood Hotel
#1 of 2 in North Walsham
862 reviews
11.6 mi away
Park Farm Hotel
Park Farm Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hethersett
1,129 reviews
0.3 mi away
Glendower House
Glendower House
#9 of 9 in Dereham
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George Hotel

Property: The George Hotel
Address: Swaffham Road, Dereham NR19 2AZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Dereham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Dereham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The George Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your The George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
George Hotel Dereham
The George Hotel Dereham, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing