We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice staff just need new chef!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of The George Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The George Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Dereham
Certificate of Excellence
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nice staff just need new chef!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2014

We went for a family Sunday lunch at the George, the 7 of us were greeted by an empty bar and restaurant but very friendly staff. We went to our table and all ordered the Sunday roast. What arrived can only be described as slop, whoever dished the food onto the plates couldn't count I had 2 roast potatoes others had 5 or more. The beef was fatty and tough, my sister visiting from down south was trying to be polite and spitted hers out into her napkin. It was just disgusting. We didn't complain during the meal as didn't want to completely spoil our family day and also the waiting staff were very polite and friendly it's just a shame the food was not fit for a dog!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca W, Owner at The George Hotel, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your meal. I am surprised by your comments as we had a very busy lunch and actually completely sold out of Roasts. We had no complaints from other diners, only complements. We pride ourselves on using the best local quality ingredients,. As a business we are very disappointed that you did not speak up at the time and allow us the opportunity to rectify the situation. We do not see how speaking out would have spoiled a family day out ?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    65
    26
    10
    8
See reviews for
56
77
8
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dereham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2014

Have visited this hotel recently for a lunch with a friend. It was a real pleasure as the new owners were very welcoming and the food was great. I'd certainly recommend a meal in the bar area or restaurant. Everywhere was clean and service was good.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca W, Owner at The George Hotel, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review. Thank you for your positive comments. Hope to see you again soon. Rebecca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2014

We go to the Geroge on a regular basis, the food is excellent and unlike the other pubs in Dereham the food is good quality, well priced and the staff are very helpful. Weatherspoons is very poor compared to the George as it has an awful service.

It really is the only choice for a good meal within Dereham. Also it is the best Bed & Breakfast within the County.

Room Tip: Rooms are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ed C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca W, Owner at The George Hotel, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review. Thank you for your positive comments.Our Chefs work very hard preparing all our dishes from scratch, using fresh local ingredients Hope to see you again soon. Rebecca.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dereham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2014

8 of us arrived at 7 pm on the 19/1/14 for a pre booked family meal, i was a little surprised that we appeared to be the only people in the bar and afterwards in the restaurant,
The staff were really pleasent and helpful, when the food arrived I realized why, really way overpriced and very poor portions with scant amount of veg.
when i pay nearly £20.00 for steak I assumed I would receive a bit more than half a tomato, a few chips and salad which arrived in what only be described as a small ashtray,
my steak which was described on the menu as 330 grammes bone in porterhouse, should have been cooked medium was well well done very small in size and had no appearance of bone whatever
the last time I was in the george which I admit was a couple of years ago (I now live in france and dont get back as often as I would like) the bars were always packed as was the restaurant,
I dont know what has gone wrong but I hope you can put it right soon

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank fred s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014

Went there for new years eve party. Was excellent from start to finish. Champagne reception, canapés to die for, small bowls of food from around the world, (nice touch) and a cheese board all of which was served to you. Non of the usual queuing up. Disco and a brilliant Magician at you table. Well done Tony and Jean

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stevegb21w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
29 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2013

Was in bad need of a decent room to sleep in this Norfolk town. This was a fairly decent sized room and reception staff very polite and friendly. The hotel is based at the end of the high street, and has a car park behind. From what I could see the bar and eating area is very pleasant, I didnt eat a evening meal but I must give special mention that staff on Sunday morning was kind enough to open slightly early and was given a great slap up full English Breakfast. Fresh coffee and juices to choose as well. Am sure local produce was used, and there was a nice choice of different cooked breakfasts including Kipper or Eggs benedict. Am sure in the summer months this place makes a nice stopover to the Fantastic range of beaches not too far drive away.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank balours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2013

Another off the cuff visit to The George for Sunday lunch in the Restaurant. Very good all round, food/service/atmosphere. Our 3rd visit in the last couple of months and we will definitely be back again soon!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank karlv75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dereham
0.1 mi away
The Romany Rye Hotel
The Romany Rye Hotel
#1 of 4 in Dereham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
4.1 mi away
Greenbanks Country Hotel & Restaurant
6.9 mi away
Barnham Broom
Barnham Broom
#1 of 1 in Barnham Broom
4.0 of 5 bubbles 853 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 mi away
Wensum Valley Hotel Golf and Country Club
16.7 mi away
The Old Rectory Hotel
The Old Rectory Hotel
#1 of 1 in Crostwick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
9.2 mi away
Broom Hall Country Hotel
Broom Hall Country Hotel
#1 of 1 in Saham Toney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George Hotel

Property: The George Hotel
Address: Swaffham Road, Dereham NR19 2AZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Dereham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Dereham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The George Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
George Hotel Dereham
The George Hotel Dereham, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing