We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Impromptu Sunday Lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The George Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The George Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Dereham
Certificate of Excellence
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Impromptu Sunday Lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2013

Another off the cuff visit to The George for Sunday lunch in the Restaurant. Very good all round, food/service/atmosphere. Our 3rd visit in the last couple of months and we will definitely be back again soon!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karlv75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    66
    27
    10
    8
See reviews for
58
81
8
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Northants
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

We had an overnight stay as we were in dereham for a show. From the First greeting from the Receptionist when we arrived to the Final goodbye we could night fault it. The room was very clean plenty of room and storage we were shown how to put heat on if needed. The showereasy to operate and the bed very comfortable iwe satyed in room4 it was quite no problem with noise. The menu for breakfast had something for everyone and plentiful we really could not fult this place and if in the area again would most definately stay again

Room Tip: Room 4 was light airy and quite
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Theatre2northants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

We re-visited the restaurant again for dinner with friends on a Thursday, as we had been before and was looking forward to a good evening, but although the food is still very good we were kept waiting a long time for our orders to be taken and for the food to arrive. Also, it took even longer to have the plates removed afterwards. There was a distinct lack of staff and this spoilt the evening and the restaurant was not very busy. More evening staff are required please.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 138jans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

There were 4 of us and we had dinner in the Restaurant on Saturday, 6th April and were very pleased with the dining room and the tables are not too close together and were nicely laid out. The food was excellent and we thoroughly enjoyed the evening. We were with friends and were not too sure where to take them but I can thoroughly recommend The George as the staff are very attentive and helpful and it is very clean and comfortable. Would not hesitate to go back. They also have their own car park which is very good for those who cannot walk too far!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 138jans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk GB
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

We decided to call back for lunch and if still ok would book a table for 4 when son and fiance visit at the end of the month. The disco type music was so loud we just walked out. I do not want to go out for lunch with that type of noise and before its said you should have asked for it to be turned down. I do not do that. We just leave if they cannot work it out for themselves.

Room Tip: did not stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnnyNorfolk01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dereham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2013

At last somewhere in Dereham with proper food cooked well. We have lived in the area for over 10 years and have always travelled into Norwich to eat out. Very pleasantly surprised at the well cooked generous portioned locally sourced British dishes.

Friendly attentive staff and a comparable price to a restaurant in Norwich. If you want microwaved food go else where in the town there is plenty of dishes with the same names available but non tasted this fresh and well presented.

We will definitely return and long may it continue to thrive

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alastair R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

Visited the George yesterday with a dog. Asked at the bar if it was alright about the dog and informed it was ok. Bought drinks and asked about food told the kitchen was closed, this was at 2.30. The sign outside said they were open for breakfast dinner and lunch from 9 till 11. Sat down with my family and drinks only to told by the staff that the assistant manager said dogs were not allowed and would we move to the corridor. There were only 2 chairs in the corridor not enough for 4 people. Made to feel very unwelcome. Went to the local Wetherspoons, service good, food acceptable.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank p33hos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dereham
0.1 mi away
The Romany Rye Hotel
The Romany Rye Hotel
#1 of 4 in Dereham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
4.1 mi away
Greenbanks Country Hotel & Restaurant
6.9 mi away
Barnham Broom
Barnham Broom
#1 of 1 in Barnham Broom
4.0 of 5 bubbles 868 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.6 mi away
Park Farm Hotel
Park Farm Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hethersett
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,076 reviews
10.3 mi away
Wensum Valley Hotel Golf and Country Club
0.4 mi away
Glendower House
Glendower House
#8 of 9 in Dereham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George Hotel

Property: The George Hotel
Address: Swaffham Road, Dereham NR19 2AZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Dereham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Dereham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The George Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
George Hotel Dereham
The George Hotel Dereham, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing