We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Place to Stay”
Review of The George Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The George Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Dereham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 21, 2013

We had an overnight stay as we were in dereham for a show. From the First greeting from the Receptionist when we arrived to the Final goodbye we could night fault it. The room was very clean plenty of room and storage we were shown how to put heat on if needed. The showereasy to operate and the bed very comfortable iwe satyed in room4 it was quite no problem with noise. The menu for breakfast had something for everyone and plentiful we really could not fult this place and if in the area again would most definately stay again

Room Tip: Room 4 was light airy and quite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Theatre2northants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (275)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

213 - 219 of 275 reviews

Reviewed October 14, 2013

We re-visited the restaurant again for dinner with friends on a Thursday, as we had been before and was looking forward to a good evening, but although the food is still very good we were kept waiting a long time for our orders to be taken and for the food to arrive. Also, it took even longer to have the plates removed afterwards. There was a distinct lack of staff and this spoilt the evening and the restaurant was not very busy. More evening staff are required please.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 138jans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

There were 4 of us and we had dinner in the Restaurant on Saturday, 6th April and were very pleased with the dining room and the tables are not too close together and were nicely laid out. The food was excellent and we thoroughly enjoyed the evening. We were with friends and were not too sure where to take them but I can thoroughly recommend The George as the staff are very attentive and helpful and it is very clean and comfortable. Would not hesitate to go back. They also have their own car park which is very good for those who cannot walk too far!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
3  Thank 138jans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

We decided to call back for lunch and if still ok would book a table for 4 when son and fiance visit at the end of the month. The disco type music was so loud we just walked out. I do not want to go out for lunch with that type of noise and before its said you should have asked for it to be turned down. I do not do that. We just leave if they cannot work it out for themselves.

Room Tip: did not stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JohnnyNorfolk01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2013

At last somewhere in Dereham with proper food cooked well. We have lived in the area for over 10 years and have always travelled into Norwich to eat out. Very pleasantly surprised at the well cooked generous portioned locally sourced British dishes.

Friendly attentive staff and a comparable price to a restaurant in Norwich. If you want microwaved food go else where in the town there is plenty of dishes with the same names available but non tasted this fresh and well presented.

We will definitely return and long may it continue to thrive

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alastair R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Visited the George yesterday with a dog. Asked at the bar if it was alright about the dog and informed it was ok. Bought drinks and asked about food told the kitchen was closed, this was at 2.30. The sign outside said they were open for breakfast dinner and lunch from 9 till 11. Sat down with my family and drinks only to told by the staff that the assistant manager said dogs were not allowed and would we move to the corridor. There were only 2 chairs in the corridor not enough for 4 people. Made to feel very unwelcome. Went to the local Wetherspoons, service good, food acceptable.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Service
1  Thank p33hos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

had a birthday party meal booked here so decided to stay as well . have to say food was excellent staff very nice good beer room was huge with a large ensuite very quiet also large carpark . breakfast was delicious overall a very good place to stay. there was only one slight negative the shower over the bath needed a bath mat as the bath surface was slighty slippy

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank buster099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dereham
0.1 mi away
The Romany Rye Hotel
The Romany Rye Hotel
#1 of 4 in Dereham
377 reviews
4.1 mi away
Greenbanks Country Hotel & Restaurant
20.9 mi away
Beechwood Hotel
Beechwood Hotel
#1 of 2 in North Walsham
936 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.4 mi away
The Pheasant Hotel
The Pheasant Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kelling
664 reviews
22.2 mi away
Knights Hill Hotel & Spa
Knights Hill Hotel & Spa
#3 of 15 in King's Lynn
946 reviews
16.7 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#1 of 2 in Mundford
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George Hotel

Address: Swaffham Road, Dereham NR19 2AZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Dereham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Dereham
Price Range: $90 - $105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The George Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
George Hotel Dereham
The George Hotel Dereham, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing