We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely barn conversion.”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of The Retreat

The Retreat
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Retreat
The Retreat and courtyard Living area and kitchen view
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
79 reviews
The Retreat
The Retreat and courtyard
Living area and kitchen view
Living Area
Kitchen
Living Area, flat screen tv
Master bedroom
Master bedroom with en suite
Twin room
Double room
Wet room - disable friendly
Wet room
Luxury shower
Pond
Mother hen
The sheep
Living area
Twin room with vanity unit
Double room with vanity unit
Outside (other existing accommodation)
The ducks
The lake
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Dereham, Norfolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 79 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
PATRICIA...
1 review
“Lovely barn conversion.”
Reviewed June 19, 2018 for a stay in June 2018

Located in a peaceful rural setting, but with road links easily accessible. Amanda (the owner) gave us a friendly welcome, and was really helpful! The facilities are excellent, and 'The Retreat' being on one level was ideal for my elderly mother-in-law. I loved seeing the Bantams and other animals, especially the lambs! We all enjoyed our stay and hope to return.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicola P
1 review
“Slice of heaven in Norfolk”
Reviewed June 15, 2018 for a stay in May 2018

Amanda and Andy were incredibly welcoming to our young family and involved the kids with feeding the farm's sheep, goats and chickens. The accommodation was lovely and homely and on arrival we were given some beautiful fresh eggs from the farm's chickens. Our kids had free reign over the masses of open space. This is an absolutely perfect country getaway, within minutes of beautiful Norwich and all the wonderful sights and experiences Norfolk has to offer. We would love to come back again!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nmckee
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent stay”
Reviewed June 15, 2018 for a stay in June 2018

We had a wonderful stay, our hosts were excellent and very friendly, we had a lovely welcome package, we will definitely stay here again and recommend the stables for future guests. Thank you Andy and Amanda.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kazzieeva...
Uxbridge, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“The retreat ”
Reviewed September 30, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Fantastic place to stay Amanda and Andy make you very welcome .This is our 2nd stay here this year .we love norfolk and if you want an accomodation which has everything for your needs this is def the place to stay..you wont be dissapointed . .A car is a must to get around the rural roads ,and fantastic places to visit and eat .

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fred B
Northiam, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A great week”
Reviewed August 19, 2017 for a stay in August 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Very friendly people on a lovely farm complex. The kids loved the animals and were disappointed to leave. Had a great week in a beautifully presented cottage. I would thoroughly recommend.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
fifimacas...
Troon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“We had a quacking time!”
Reviewed August 7, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Really lovely place to spend a holiday. The barn is beautifully converted and nice and cosy, with everything you need provided to a clean and high standard. Excellent service for guests is clearly important, which I really liked.The farm land has a real beauty spot which is serenity itself, and the lie of the land let's you see the wide skies. It's timeless and beautiful. Meanwhile the chickens, ducks, goats, sheep and emus provide excellent entertainment. Owners are really welcoming and approachable if you need them.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing