We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic family stay”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of The Retreat

The Retreat
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Retreat
The Retreat and courtyard Living area and kitchen view
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
80 reviews
The Retreat
The Retreat and courtyard
Living area and kitchen view
Living Area
Kitchen
Living Area, flat screen tv
Master bedroom
Master bedroom with en suite
Twin room
Double room
Wet room - disable friendly
Wet room
Luxury shower
Pond
Mother hen
The sheep
Living area
Twin room with vanity unit
Double room with vanity unit
Outside (other existing accommodation)
The ducks
The lake
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Dereham, Norfolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 80 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
matlamb20...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic family stay”
Reviewed June 15, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Amanda was very helpful and made us feel at home and the retreat was well designed and very comfortable for our family stay. The farm animals were a huge hit with our 3 year old and he is still talking about the goats and the lambs.
This part of Norfolk is central and very convenient for all sorts of activities, lots of them for the kids, including trains and boat rides. There are also some great local pubs with excellent food for mum and dad.
I couldn’t recommend it highly enough and hope that we will return one day.

Date of stay: June 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
neilmanch
1 review
“I cannot rate highly enough!”
Reviewed June 6, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We (2 adults & 3 children) stayed at The Retreat, Riverside Farm for 2 nights whilst competing in a martial arts competition behind held at UEA. The conversed barn was fantastic and provided perfect access to Norwich, The Norfolk Broads and surrounding areas.

We were met by the delightful owners, Amanda and Andy who took time to show us around the farm and give us plenty of advice on the best places to eat and visit.

Our youngest daughter had a great time meeting all the farm animals including the 2 week old rabbits whilst our older teenage sons headed straight for the table tennis table.

The only downside to our visit was it only lasting for 2 days and the long journey home on Sunday!

A definitely 6/5 rating and can't wait to visit again next year!

Date of stay: June 2016
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lynsey27
kent
2 reviews
“What a fantastic find!”
Reviewed May 13, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Absolutely loved our stay at 'The Retreat'
Booked a last minute break and were lucky to stumble across this beautiful barn conversion. Tastefully decorated, immaculately clean inside and we even had eggs, biscuits, milk, coffee, tea bags and sugar. What a wonderful surprise on arrival.
Amanda greeted us and kindly let the children feed the Lambs in the morning. A gorgeous mini break with perfect surroundings. Thank you so much. We will come again x

Date of stay: May 2016
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jenniferj...
Luton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed May 2, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

We have just got back from a 2 night stay at the retreat as a family of 4 with our friends too. The accommodation was lovely and comfortable, our children absoloutely loved it here too they loved interacting with the farm animals as well as help Amanda and Andy feed them, the biggest highlight was helping to bottle feed the two orphaned lambs on site. We had a fantastic mini break and will definitely be staying here again on our next visit to Norfolk! Young and old would fall in love with the surroundings, animals and the welcome amanda and Andy had given us on our stay. Many thanks the juggins and evans family! X

Date of stay: April 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tricia L
Greater London, United Kingdom
1 review
“A Wonderful Holiday in a Fantastic Holiday Home in a Great Location”
Reviewed April 8, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

We had an outstanding holiday in The Retreat. A girls week away with a mix of ages from 82 to 12 years and we all had a wonderful time. The youngest loved the Emu's and Andy was so kind as to let her into their enclosure with him and just spent time with us every day allowing us to cuddle the rabbits and visit the new baby lamb. My mother at 82 went for walks with us through the fields to the lake and really enjoyed the location and accommodation which for someone of her age finding a place suitable for her is very hard to find. The accommodation was really clean and like a home away from home with everything that you would want. We visited Langham Glass, Cromer, Hunstanton, Norwich and The Broads all within an easy drive away and for Norwich just a 15min drive to the park and ride into Norwich. So if you're looking for a nice, clean, friendly place to stay within easy reach of the coast and walks from your door then you'll be hard pushed to find something better then Riverside Farm.

Thanks again Amanda and Andy.

From - Tricia, Helena, Grace, Lidia, Jan and Georgia xx

Date of stay: March 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Malling, United Kingdom
Reviewed April 5, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Date of stay: April 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Lovely peaceful farm setting.
Liked least: Wifi was slow. it didn't bother me but the kids mentioned it.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Dover, United Kingdom
Reviewed October 13, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Date of stay: October 2015
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing