We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing location and house - we didn't want to...”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of The Retreat

The Retreat
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Retreat
The Retreat and courtyard Living area and kitchen view
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
79 reviews
The Retreat
The Retreat and courtyard
Living area and kitchen view
Living Area
Kitchen
Living Area, flat screen tv
Master bedroom
Master bedroom with en suite
Twin room
Double room
Wet room - disable friendly
Wet room
Luxury shower
Pond
Mother hen
The sheep
Living area
Twin room with vanity unit
Double room with vanity unit
Outside (other existing accommodation)
The ducks
The lake
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Dereham, Norfolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 79 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Spicers20...
Essex, United Kingdom
1 review
“Amazing location and house - we didn't want to leave!”
Reviewed July 1, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

This was our first visit to Norfolk, and it will definitely not be our last. We stayed in the Retreat and had a fantastic week. The property is home from home - very clean and spacious with excellent facilities. Riverside Farm is a peaceful location that is handy for the supermarket and in easy reach of all that Norfolk has to offer.

We were a party of 5 (including two children age 6 & 7) and found the Retreat had more than enough space for us. We could park our car immediately outside and had full access to the farm. Nice touches like the milk, tea, coffee and fresh eggs were provided on arrival.

The owners, Andy and Amanda were the perfect hosts and made us feel very welcome. They treated us to so many farm experiences it is difficult to list them all but here are a few: collecting fresh eggs each day, feeding the ducks, chickens, goose, rabbits, goats, sheep and horse. Helping bale the hay, playing table tennis, welcoming two new-born baby goats, rides in Andy's quad bike trailer, seeing the doves, the playground area, playing table football, visiting the lake, sharing a home brew!

It was a lovely place to return to each evening and there was an abundance of things to do. The whole family agreed that this was our favourite holiday to date! I would recommend the Retreat and Riverside Farm to anyone who wants to experience the best of Norfolk.

Travelling Tip - if you are travelling to The Retreat on the A47 (from Norwich) don't take the turning signposted for East Tuddenham - take the left turn immediately after it. It isn't signposted but it is the most direct route to the Retreat

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The lovely property and the amazing farm experiences
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela N
Singapore, Singapore
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Perfect stay”
Reviewed June 12, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

I stayed here for a pre-wedding weekend trip with my two bridesmaids. I choses the holiday cottage as we also had my bridesmaid's little boy with us, and it looked like a much better option that getting rooms at a B&B or hotel. We had a fantastic time - it was just what we were looking for. The cottage itself is beautiful and well-fitted and kitted out, and Amanda the owner couldn't have been more helpful. It is a lovely peaceful spot to enjoy the English summer. The farm animals and pets were perfect child-friendly entertainment too!

Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoannaGri...
Beverley, United Kingdom
1 review
“Highly recommended”
Reviewed May 21, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

We stayed here for just two nights when visiting the area for a wedding. Before our visit i was in touch with Amanda a number of times to discuss arrangements and found her very helpful. It was our first trip away from home with our ten week old son and she was very accommodating. The property had been beautifully renovated and the accommodation clean and comfortable. We particularly appreciated the free range eggs! We will definately return if visiting the area, and certainly recommend the Retreat. Thank you.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sonia b
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect farm vacation for young families”
Reviewed May 8, 2014 for a stay in April 2014

We stayed here with 3 generations of family including a 4 year old girl who was very sad to leave. Amanda and Andy were the perfect farm hosts and wherever we went, Ruby's daily highlight was feeding the animals, collecting eggs and spending time with the new rabbits. As Londoners it was a great taster of "farm life" and the location was central to lots of family-friendly destinations around Norfolk. The Stables where we stayed was comfortable, modern and well laid out, with great views all around of the property. Absolutely recommend this to young families.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redbishop
Southampton
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“If you need to stay in Norfolk with family of any age, come here, just BRILLIANT!”
Reviewed April 28, 2014 for a stay in September 2013

Came for 3 nights and wished it was more! Amanda is an amazing host with lots of energy and drive, but relaxed and welcoming at the same time. We had an age range from 5 - 90 in our family party and we all loved the space, farm animals and the wonderful accommodation!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The relaxed atmosphere and the animals and grounds for the children to enjoy.
Liked least: Most was excellent, the trampoline was broken, but had been for a while. The children would have enjoyed it, but that was so minor compared with the property over all.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SuzanneIl...
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic farm holiday!”
Reviewed April 27, 2014 for a stay in April 2014

We have just returned from a fantastic holiday at Riverside Farm. We stayed at the "Retreat" with our four children aged 5 to 11. The accommodation was lovely with everything we could possibly need. Our hosts Andy and Amanda were brilliant - entertaining our children for hours, involving them in all aspects of looking after and feeding the animals! Only problem is they now want lots of pets!! Fresh eggs were collected (and eaten!) everyday, a tractor ride was enjoyed by the whole family and we had to drag the kids out to explore further afield as they would have stayed on the farm all day! Lots of lovely places to explore - we had a brilliant day on a boat on the Broads. All in all a holiday we won't forget and would definitely return for another holiday! Thanks Andy and Amanda!!

Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amuseybus...
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Location, Family Friendly, Very Welcoming Owners and Excellent Accommodation”
Reviewed April 16, 2014 for a stay in April 2014

Riverside Farm - The Retreat.

We were looking to stay in Norfolk to attend a Diamond Wedding anniversary and were delighted to find Riverside Farm which was so reasonably priced that we chose to have a 1 week break during the children’s school holidays.

The property is tucked away at the end of a cul-de-sac in East Tuddenham, not far off the A47 but surprisingly we did not hear any of the traffic from it. The location was perfect for our family. Coming from a busy town we are not used to leaving our children outside ‘to roam’, it could not have been safer for them, although the chickens were a little too familiar.

The kids had a fantastic break, quite a contrast to their usual environments, this was a rural escape and they really enjoyed it. The owners, Andy and Mandy made the holiday even more special, they put an enormous effort into making our week an enjoyable one, taking the children to pick up eggs from the barn and feed the chickens, ducks, geese, rabbit and goats.

The accommodation was excellent with two shower rooms, one a walk in ‘wet room’, well equipped kitchen and three good sized double bedrooms. Outside there is a communal BBQ although we didn’t get this fired up when we were there. If you enjoy dining Al Fresco, I can think of worse places to sit watching the sun go down with a glass of red wine and something tasty from the Barbie.

It is possible to go on a number of rural walks from the doorstep of the accommodation as the public footpath goes past the end of the farm. We saw wild deer, loads of rabbits and the hedges were full of birds and butterflies if you have an interest in wildlife.

The location was perfect, being quite central, we were quickly onto the A47 and able to travel to the local Dinosaur Adventure Park, 5-10 minutes away (a big hit with our three boys), visit Comer Beach, Banham Zoo and a couple of local museums, all recommended. The fish restaurant at Easton is worth a visit if you are not feeling like cooking after a long walk or strenuous day with children.

Safe to say we will be returning at some point and a big thank you to the owners for their hospitality.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Well equipped accomodation in a lovely setting
Liked least: Excited children waking me up after drinking a glass of red wine too many.
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing