We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“absolutely amazing”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of The Retreat

The Retreat
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Retreat
The Retreat and courtyard Living area and kitchen view
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
79 reviews
The Retreat
The Retreat and courtyard
Living area and kitchen view
Living Area
Kitchen
Living Area, flat screen tv
Master bedroom
Master bedroom with en suite
Twin room
Double room
Wet room - disable friendly
Wet room
Luxury shower
Pond
Mother hen
The sheep
Living area
Twin room with vanity unit
Double room with vanity unit
Outside (other existing accommodation)
The ducks
The lake
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Dereham, Norfolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 79 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Craig R
Witham, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“absolutely amazing”
Reviewed September 30, 2013 for a stay in September 2013

we had a stay at the retreat with 2 young children and a disabled family member. The amenities were outstanding. It was spotlessly clean and had everything we needed. The accommodation was very modern and the farm was easily accessible for us all. Amanda and Andy were extremely friendly and pleasant and didn't seem to mind spending time with us. Our daughter loved feeding the animals and taking them to their bed. We are already thinking of booking again for next year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything, it was all fantastic
Liked least: leaving
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claire-El...
Ely
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Superb Family Stay at The Retreat!”
Reviewed September 23, 2013 for a stay in September 2013

Following a Superb 5 nights stay at The Retreat we would like to say a huge Thank You to Amanda and Andy for making our holiday wonderful and welcoming.
The Retreat facilities are excellent for young children especially with providing everything you may need for the stay away, from booster seats to change matt to children's crockery, whilst still being a relaxing, clean and calming adult environment too!
Martha thoroughly enjoyed seeing the animals every day and Andy and Amanda are great with the children at explaining how they are looked after etc.
I would totally recommend this to anyone who wants a getaway from it all whether that is as couple or with family, in a great location to access many interesting areas.
Beautiful tranquil farm, friendly people and lovely accommodation done to a great standard! We will definitely return! Thanks!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Accomodation/ Farm, Andy & Amanda's hospitality
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
440alexl
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely Accommodation in a Lovely Location!”
Reviewed September 4, 2013 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed in The Stables as The Retreat was already booked. Accommodation lovely and very roomy. Had everything you need. Wi-fi was a bonus - ideal for my teenage children. Amanda and Andy very welcoming and we very much appreciated the tea, coffee, milk, biscuits and eggs left out for us on arrival. The ride in the trailer behind Andy's tractor was thrilling and I enjoyed it as much as the younger ones staying in the other barns. My daughter loved looking out for the baby frogs on our walks around the fields. For once the weather was glorious for our week's holiday. We always holiday in the UK and stay in cottages and I must say the Stables and Rivierside Farm is right up their with the best. Our first visit to Norfolk and we found plenty of places to go and see. Hiring a boat for 4 hours was a highlight. Didn't realise the Broads were so busy! Would have no problems recommending Riverside Farm and The Stables to anyone.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mrsct2013
ipswich
1 review
“ideal location, great quality accomodation, fantastic welcome”
Reviewed August 19, 2013 for a stay in August 2013

we have had a fantastic holiday staying at the stables. andy and amanda were really welcoming to us and grandad and our boys really enjoyed "helping out" on the farm! accomodation was real quality and riverside farm is in the ideal location for days trips out. this has been a week we will remember for a long, long time!many thanks.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: trips round the farm on the quad bike were a favourite
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manama, Bahrain
Reviewed August 6, 2013 for a stay in July 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The hosts and the space and freedom for children to play
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewed July 31, 2013 for a stay in July 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The five star service
Liked least: There was nothing to fault..
Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Melanie H
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic accommodation in an idyllic setting!”
Reviewed July 27, 2013 for a stay in July 2013

This holiday was truly one to remember! My partner and I took our three children to The Retreat for a week's holiday and we truly wish that we could have stayed for longer. Andy and Amanda are the most welcoming and generous hosts, really going that extra mile to make our holiday special. Nothing was too much trouble for them and our children loved feeding the animals, going on the tractor rides and picking freshly laid eggs for breakfast! It is in a fantastic location, close to lots of different tourist attractions and we were never stuck for something to do. The Retreat is a home from home, well thought out and beautifully finished with lots of room for a growing family. I cannot recommend staying at Riverside Farm enough - we will have memories that will last a lifetime and will look forward to going there again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The friendly hosts and beautiful location.
Liked least: Only staying for a week!
Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing