We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Estate Grill at Great Fosters

The Estate Grill at Great Fosters
Ranked #4 of 51 Restaurants in Egham
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $50 - $81
Cuisines: European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Scenic view
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Estate Grill is our contemporary restaurant, which is a reflection of our commitment to providing locally sourced, simple dishes. Executive Chef, Marc Hardiman, has a straightforward and honest approach to food and enjoys experiencing new dining concepts, both in Europe and the UK. With this in mind, along with the current trend for dining to become more relaxed and casual, he has created an innovative menu of smaller plates, allowing guests to order a variety of dishes brought to the table to eat informally, in an almost "grazing" style. Choose as few or as many as you like and they'll be served by both restaurant staff and even one of our chefs. The menu still offers more classic dishes too, mainly cooked on our Josper grill, so if you fancy a traditional main course then the choice is yours! The aim is to offer our diners a more flexible approach to eating out whilst still using the finest ingredients, many of which are grown on our estate and freshly picked each day. Our extensive kitchen garden and glasshouse supply us with a variety of seasonal herbs, fruits, salad leaves and vegetables.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Amazing food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2012

A large party of us arrived the evening before my daughters wedding. We dined in the Oak Room, the food and service was outstanding.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Vanessa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

453 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    307
    87
    44
    13
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sunbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“beautiful place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2012

Decided to visit Great Fosters hotel for a business lunch and we weren't disappointed. The service was exceptional and although we only settled for a bar snack it was delicious. Sitting by a roaring log fire with the rain pouring outside we were impressed with the decor and wonderful feeling of sitting where Henry the VIII might have sat.(although not in the same chair). tasty food and a lovely glass of wine. My friend very impressed with the waiters choice of Sipsmith gin. Cant wait to go back. The negative.......a little backgroud music would have been nice.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Kathryn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Charmingly Authentic British Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2012

Our visit to the Great Fosters was that of a special family occasion, about 16 in total uniting together in celebration of various milestones. Suffice it to say, the choice of dining experience and venue could not have been better than the service we received here.

The hotel and its grounds offer fantastic character. The scenery both indoors and out provides a beautiful setting for those special occasions.

Furthermore, both the tasteful range of choice in the food and its subsequent delivery is second-to-none. The catering and service was of utmost quality.

This experience, which I hope to enjoy again someday, comes with my absolute recommendation.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank yanneves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GreatFosters1931, Hotel Manager - Cathy Nolan at The Estate Grill at Great Fosters, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Thank you for your recent review and wonderful comments. I'm so glad you enjoyed your family celebration and that we successfully managed to cater for all ages.

I hope that you and your family would like to return for your next gathering.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camberley, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“A lovely place for tea”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2012

We were given a voucher for afternoon tea at great fosters. The garden is beautiful and we were served very attentively sitting on the terrace overlooking it. Excellent quality and atmosphere

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Camberleyannie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GreatFosters1931, Hotel Manager - Cathy Nolan at The Estate Grill at Great Fosters, responded to this review, December 16, 2012
Thank you for writing a review on your visit to us for tea in July. I was delighted that you had an opportunity to wander through our beautiful gardens and hope that we will be bale to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Always a lovely experience dining at great fosters”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2012

I have been dining at great fosters for 3 years now and loved it so much I have become a member. The oak room and the bar menu and its always without fail a wonderful experience. The food is exceptional and the service excellent. This shouls be michelin starred.
if you are in a group, a couple or just with close friends the staff make you feel welcome and have a superb grasp on what to recommend on the dining menu and the wines. I would recommend coming here to great fosters as its great value and such a wonderful experience

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank bruna b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GreatFosters1931, Hotel Manager - Cathy Nolan at The Estate Grill at Great Fosters, responded to this review, December 16, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your visits to Great Fosters.

I'm delighted that you are enjoying your VIP Club membership and visits to the Oak Room and hope that you will be coming to see us very soon - we are looking very festive at the moment!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Estate Grill at Great Fosters also viewed

 

Been to The Estate Grill at Great Fosters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing