We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Guest House”
Review of Hydeaway House

Hydeaway House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Egham
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hydeaway House
Ranked #5 of 7 Egham B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 28, 2012

We have stayed at Hydeaway House a couple of times before early AM flights from Heathrow. Ben and Brenda have been very welcoming and helpful and are delightful hosts. HH is quiet and is a pleasant walk from several restaurants and pubs in Englefield Green. The rooms are spotless and tastefully furnished with Brenda and Ben's memorabilia. Our bathroom, unfortunately was uncomfortably small -- an all-to-frequent problem when private homes are converted to B&Bs. Breakfasts are family-style, which offers a great opportunity for interesting conversation with other travellers. The full English breakfast was very good and offers a choice of sausages, bacon, etc. We'll go back.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Figaro12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (75)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 75 reviews

Reviewed August 5, 2012

Stayed at hydeaway house for two nights during a trip to London both to see the sights, and visit family. Ben and Brenda couldn't do enough for us, and made us very welcome during our stay. Accommodation was very comfortable, clean and well placed in a quiet location within easy reach of the London transport networks. Egham train station was a lovely 20 minute walk away, nice restaurants and pubs within walking distance for evening meal. Children well catered for wonderful breakfast with plenty of variety. Would definitely recommend and hope to return in the future.

A big thank you Ben and Brenda.

The Jaggar Family

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Catherine J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2012

Perfect location for Windsor, Eton and the Thames. Brenda and Ben were helpful and welcoming. Lovely home with a mature garden where you could espy a number of beautiful, green parakeets flying around - common to the area, they are now wild. Breakfast was spot on. If we return to the area we would be more than happy to return to Hydeaway House. It helped to make our visit to the Olympic rowing at Eton Dornay. Thank you both very much.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MoldNurseteacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2012

I have just stayed with Brenda and Ben for the last 10 days during the Olympics. They have been the perfect hosts and nothing has been too much trouble. I found the B and B online and was worried as the standard between guest houses can vary so dramatically, but I can hand on heart, say this has been home from home and i have been made to feel very welcome.

Room Tip: Beautiful, big room top of stairs on left, with the biggest and comfiest bed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Juliet L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2012

After a telephone call from the owner, I visited Hydeaway House to complete a thorough inspection throughout the property.
NO evidence of any public health pests were found.
I found Hydeaway House to be of a high standard of hygiene in all areas.

A report has been left at the property for public viewing.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Cleanliness
5  Thank paul c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2012

I stayed in the Hydeaway House for four nights, and I was very satisfied. Brenda and Ben had been perfect hosts in a nice very familiar atmosphere.
My room was not big, but big enough. It was clean and the furniture was very comfortable. A big bed, a wardrobe and a nice armchair. The bathroom was outside the room and I shared it. But there had been no waiting queues and the bathroom itself was commodious and very clean. Towels were changed every day.
Breakfast was very extensive (everthing from cereals to cooked breakfast). My favorit had been the scrambled eggs with bacon. For the evening there are several Pubs in a 5-10 min range to walk.
I can not follow the concerns of a former review about the security problems in Hydeaway House. Every room now has a lock and in my opinion Brenda and Ben are very honest people.
I would stay there every time again it is absolute recommendable.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
Thank Florian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2012

A lovely place to stay whilst visiting my family . I have stayed several times and always found the owners to be pleasant. The rooms and en suite facilities are always clean and fresh with all the little complimentaries you would expect of a B & B. Biscuits on the tea tray, tea making facilities, toiletries and to top it all flowers in the room! A hearty Full English awaits you in the morning. I don't know where these people stayed but it certainly wasn't Hydeaway House. The owners do have dogs but I have never seen them in the guest areas

Room Tip: The room with the super king bed is a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Blackmascara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Egham
0.7 mi away
Travelodge Egham
Travelodge Egham
#3 of 3 in Egham
268 reviews
1.3 mi away
Great Fosters
Great Fosters
#1 of 3 in Egham
1,143 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Runnymede on Thames
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
De Vere Beaumont Estate
De Vere Beaumont Estate
#2 of 2 in Old Windsor
3,921 reviews
1.2 mi away
Savill Court Hotel & Spa
1.3 mi away
Savannah Bed & Breakfast
Savannah Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 2 in Virginia Water
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hydeaway House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hydeaway House

Address: 6 Lodge Close | Englefield Green, Egham TW20 0JF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Egham
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Egham
Number of rooms: 26
Also Known As:
Hydeaway House Hotel Egham
Hydeaway House Egham, Surrey, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing