We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic food.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Rose and Crown

Rose and Crown
Ranked #7 of 52 Restaurants in Egham
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups, Kids, Families with children, Business meetings, Bar scene, Special occasions, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Our beautiful "chocolate box" pub is set in the lush, green countryside of Thorpe and is everything a good, traditional English pub should be and we're proud of what we've achieved. We serve delicious food all day, everyday!
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic food.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

I regularly eat at the Rose and Crown with business associates who travel in from other countries. It's always a dilemma as to where to take people from other countries due to the stigma (incorrectly in my opinion) attached to British food. The Rose and Crown has an old village pub feel to it but the food is great. I would recommend the prawn lollipops for starter and the steak is great as a main. Reasonable prices for the location too.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank J_Slater76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    174
    117
    29
    21
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Woking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great place to spend a summer evening.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

Had a great night here. The ribs are to die for. Well cooked and presented. The staff are very good and attentive as well as the young manager. Did not have to wait long for the food which was excellent. If you get a chance sit in the comfy seats outside if the sun is shining it gives you the feeling of being abroad a little alfresco touch. Well worth a night out and will be visiting again very soon. May have the speciality burgers which looked A1 when being given to others.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mark P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great evening meal with very attentive service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

We have just thoroughly enjoyed our dinner at the Rose and Crown. Nice pub grub well cooked in a vibrant atmosphere,, We had been recommended by the owner of our holiday accommodation but with some of the Trip Adviser reviews I was a little worried, these were unfounded. We were seated quickly and a drink order was taken straight away. Good selection of wines by the glass. Food order taken promptly and staff very attentive and friendly. Food served in good time and was very hot and well presented. Portion sizes good but not overbearing. Staff did satisfaction checks and made our evening very pleasant. I would wholeheartedly recommend dinner the Rose and Crown.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MrsCreet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bagshot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Nice Pub”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013 via mobile

Had lunch here yesterday. Best pub Steak & Ale pie I have had in a long time, full of tender meat, served with lovely fresh veg and chips. My friend had vegetarian Cottage Pie which was very good. Friendly and efficient service at the start, however at the end of the meal attention tailed off. We had to go find a waiter to pay our bill. Nice ambiance and would return even though a bit on the pricey side for pub food.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Creeve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maxwell, Barbados
Level Contributor
142 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“DISAPPOINTED”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

Used to eat here a lot when worked locally. We tried to get into the Rose & Olive in Callow Hill but they were full, so we went to the Rose and Crown instead. Seated at a tiny table for 2 which wobbled. The place was freezing, no fire on. Asked if it could be put on, it was duly lit and went out. We have run out of coal, someone told us!
We decided to have Pig 'n Cheese Burgers. Served with a couple of bits of salad, some coleslaw and very nice chips. Burger was half the size of the roll, but tasted ok. I had a Magners Cider, my friend had a Coke and we had 2 coffees. GBP33 - scandalous.
When we had paid the bill, we went through to the other bar to go to the washroom. Wonderful log fire blazing and it was lovely and warm. People where we were (including us) sat there with coats and scarves on.
Go back? No thanks

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Angie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rose and Crown also viewed

 

Been to Rose and Crown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing