We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Another great stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Runnymede on Thames

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Runnymede on Thames
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Egham
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Another great stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

It has been our second visit and we are already planning our third! We got a wonderful complimentary upgrade to deluxe room, much needed space with a crawling baby. The bed was so amazing! The facilities are great (although I was 6min late at the spa and was offered 50% of the time for my facial at full price.... so don't dare beeing late for treatments!), and the food really of a good quality. The staff were so friendly, from the cleaners to the bar staff to waiting staff. The little present of a duck soft toy was greatly appreciated by our son and his parents.
It is 45 min drive from London, but you feel million miles away from home. Truly wonderful.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank audegimonet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Runnymede_Manager, Guest Relations Manager at The Runnymede on Thames, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
Thank you for your feedback and I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciated the extra space for your little one to crawl around. I have passed on your comments regarding the spa treatments to the beauty manager as we do try to be flexible and this is not our usual standard. I am however glad that you liked the small gift of ‘Danny the Duck’ and that you thought your stay was truly wonderful.
We all look forward to welcoming you back soon
Kind regards
Craig Spencer
Resident / Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,540 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    871
    497
    130
    31
    11
See reviews for
374
523
34
305
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (390)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

A great nights sleep, However for the price the room was fairly compact. The shower was good, but in a bath which can be a bit restrictive.

Room facilities were good, hotel staff were very very friendly, and room service was excellent. Could not fault the staff or cleanliness.

The only area that brought down the score was for value for money. Even though this is next to Heathrow, you could get an equivalent room in central london for the same price, or a suite in parts of Oxfordshire. So didn't have the wow factor I was hoping for.

Room Tip: Very good nights sleep on any side of the hotel. We were right over reception and didnt hear any noi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank omniafly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Runnymede_Manager, Guest Relations Manager at The Runnymede on Thames, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Thank you for your review and I am pleased that you found the staff very friendly, the room facilities and service excellent and the hotel clean. I am sorry that you thought the hotel was not value for money. We often compare our prices with other hotels in the area to ensure that we are priced competitively in our market, but I do understand if this was not your impression. We often have offers available so should you wish to be kept informed of these please do email marketing@therunnymede.co.uk who will add you to our database.
However, I am pleased that you had a good night’s sleep and hope that you will visit again soon.
Kind regards
Craig Spencer
Resident / Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

I stayed here for 1 saturday night. Room was pretty good with a small but functional bathroom. Because of the hotel putting on a function we got the room at less than full price. Buffet breakfast was excellent

Full price would felt expensive but then I did not try out the gym/spa. I would think about going again for a family weekend but only with some sort of deal

If you were visiting the UK and wanted a reliable spot from which to base your site seeing then probably a good bet

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank foxydavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Runnymede_Manager, Guest Relations Manager at The Runnymede on Thames, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Thank you for your feedback and I am glad that you were able to get a discounted rate as you were attending a function at the hotel. I am pleased that you found the breakfast excellent. If you would like to be informed of the special offers we have please email our marketing team at marketing@therunnymede.co.uk where they will add you to the database. I hope we see you in the future when you may get to use the spa, pools or gym
Kind regards
Craig Spencer
Resident / Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paulbn3
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

I stayed at the Runnymede for a Black tie Buisness diner in September, The room was large and very well set out ,the bar and lounge area are very well done and the view over the thames was fantastic ,The meal in the evening was first class and the service went well above what I was expecting. all in all a first rate hotel in a lovely location.there was lots of parking space and a very good spa.

Room Tip: Thames view rooms are thre best
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank paulbn3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Runnymede_Manager, Guest Relations Manager at The Runnymede on Thames, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Thank you for your feedback and I am pleased that you had an enjoyable stay at the runnymede. It is very pleasing to hear that you found the food and service at your Black Tie Business Dinner to be ‘first rate’. Thank you for taking the time to post a review and we look forward to welcoming you back soon whether for business or leisure reasons.
Kind regards
Craig Spencer
Resident / Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

We return year after year. A busy atmospheric family Sunday lunch venue.
With the exception of having to ask for a refresh of the dessert selections our overall experience was enjoyable. Good selection of starters with the added bonus of a buffet in that those with healthy hearty appetites can return for seconds.
In fact I had two starters skipped a main and went for desserts and found this still good value.
Of course the added bonus of taking a stroll along the river just outside the hotel is a plus too.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RTFG2506
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Runnymede_Manager, Guest Relations Manager at The Runnymede on Thames, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Thank you for your feedback and I am pleased that you enjoyed the Leftbank’s riverside location and found it to be good value, particularly enjoying the starter and dessert selection. I have passed your feedback onto all the team and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Kind regards
Craig Spencer
Resident / Guest Relations Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

My husband and I went here to celebrate our 25th Wedding Anniversary. It is a lovely location sitting right on the banks of the river which allows you to take walks upstream or downstream. We were lucky with the weather which meant we could sit out on the terrace and enjoy the view and the sun. Dinner in the Left Bank Restaurant is a Buffet Meal and is only good value if you are not vegetarian which I am. I found the vegetarian options rather limited and bland.

Can't fault the hotel itself, spotlessly clean and staff very courteous and helpful. Great location as Windsor Castle is only 15 mins drive away. Do come with a lot of change for parking though. Free parking (even at weekends) is non-existent in Windsor.

Room Tip: Ask for a river view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Roshni S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Runnymede_Manager, Guest Relations Manager at The Runnymede on Thames, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. I am delighted that you enjoyed your time here at the runnymede-on-thames on the occasion of your silver wedding anniversary and particularly liked our location. However, I am sorry you found the vegetarian options bland as we do endeavour to ensure that our salad / tapas and vegetarian selection is particularly flavoursome and innovative and that there is a good choice on the hot buffet. I have passed on your comments to the Head Chef for review. Meanwhile, we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Kind regards
Craig Spencer
Resident / Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012

We didn't get to see much of it, but the room and breakfast were great. Staff very helpful - they even charged my phone for me, checked me in on my flight and called us a cab.

The place is very nice - there is a really loud river nearby but you do not hear it inside. And they have a private jetty and boats for hire. Wish I'd been staying!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RJW_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Runnymede_Manager, Guest Relations Manager at The Runnymede on Thames, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. It is a pity you could not have spent longer here but I’m glad you liked what you saw. For future information we hire the boats from Easter until the end of September each year for residents and non-residents so hopefully we will see you soon!
Kind regards
Craig Spencer
Resident / Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Egham
1.5 mi away
Great Fosters
Great Fosters
#1 of 5 in Egham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 985 reviews
2.0 mi away
Savill Court Hotel & Spa
9.3 mi away
Pennyhill Park, an Exclusive Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Brooklands Hotel
Brooklands Hotel
#1 of 4 in Weybridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,444 reviews
21.4 mi away
Nutfield Priory Hotel & Spa
6.8 mi away
The Oakley Court
The Oakley Court
#2 of 17 in Windsor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Runnymede on Thames? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Runnymede on Thames

Property: The Runnymede on Thames
Address: Windsor Road, Egham TW20 0AG, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Egham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Egham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Runnymede on Thames 4*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set right on the banks of the river Thames we are the perfect location for a short break. Our family friendly hotel is near attractions, theme parks and fantastic sights. There's so much to do right here too with riverside walks, our award-winning spa, gorgeous riverside dining and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct and Priceline so you can book your The Runnymede on Thames reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Runnymede-On-Thames Hotel Egham
Runnymede Hotel Egham
Hotel Runnymede
The Runnymede On Thames Egham, Surrey, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing