We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Egham
Post
Inbox
Search
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,509)
Filter reviews
1,509 results
Traveler rating
1,009
269
115
73
43
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
1,009
269
115
73
43
Show reviews that mention
All reviews estate grill tudor room hunting lodge coach house afternoon tea the main house italian room historic rooms cocktail bar beautiful hotel steeped in history sandwiches tithe barn grounds are beautiful wedding breakfast wedding reception wedding venue
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 1,509 reviews
Reviewed January 18, 2020

Using a £50 gift voucher we received we booked afternoon tea .
We were surprised to be sat in the corner of a large sitting room at a low table with lounge type chairs. The service was excellent, the staff member who looked after us was friendly and very helpful.The selection of sandwiches and the warm scones were very good. However the cakes, which all looked very pretty were a disappointment. They were all overloaded with buttercream and quite sickly.
Considering the bill was £70 plus 12.5% on the £20 not covered by our gift voucher, we did not feel it was good value for money. There was no atmosphere at all sitting on our own in a large empty room.

Date of stay: January 2020
    • Service
Thank Carole9166
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2020

Just got back from our Niece Hanna and Dominic’s wedding at Great Fosters what a wonderful place to have a wedding or just stay for a while the building is amazing we were met by the reception staff and whisked to the orangery where the wedding took place the staff and the wedding breakfast was wonderful everyone enjoyed their meal and the surroundings were stunning can not recommend this place enough. A big thank you to all the staff who were so helpful and professional they made our day very special.

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank Malgray01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMGreatFosters, General Manager at Great Fosters, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2020

Dear Malgray01
Thank you for your feedback! Delighted that you enjoyed the wedding.
We look forward welcoming you back for leisure stay.
With kind regards
Sandra Mueller
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2020

A hotel to remember, great service, excellent food and rooms you never want to leave. The history of the place is so evident throughout the whole hotel. Creating a wonderful atmosphere and luxurious comfort. The gardens are not to be missed.

Date of stay: January 2020
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank lisalaws2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMGreatFosters, General Manager at Great Fosters, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2020

Dear lisalaws2016
Thank you for your lovely feedback! We look forward welcoming you back soon again.
With kind regards
Sandra Mueller
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2020

beautiful venue, although less of a party atmosphere than our last experience in 2017. a smaller group and the live band did not seem to get the right balance of dance pleasers. we have a special fondness for GF as we were married there and visited many times since, but something has been lost in the transition to becoming part of Alexander Hotels. Some of my ratings are "average" which is less than one expects for the cost and for this stunning venue.

Date of stay: December 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Vyner26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2020

We live near Gt Fosters and have always enjoyed their New Years day brunch.
Not this year. It was a disgrace and the Hinchcliffes who now own should hang their heads in shame.
There was no welcome.
We had to ask for the complimentary cocktail - staff weren't interested in serving.
The starter menu was pitiable- some bits of fruit and some meusli.
Then One and a half hours to wait for eggs Florentine which was simply awful. No muffin just a warmed up roll. No meats which one would expect at a brunch. All for 140.
Complained to Prem Kumar, manager, who was ashamed I think and let us off the wine bill. Decent of him.
I wouldnt be writing this if when I called their head office to get through tothe chairman I was just rudely fobbed off.

R P.

Date of stay: January 2020
    • Value
    • Service
Thank F7608VSrichardp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMGreatFosters, General Manager at Great Fosters, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2020

Dear F7608VSrichardp
We have spoken and have gone through the events on the evening.
The New Years day brunch concept will certainly be changed back to what we offered in previous year and will be in touch closer to the time to confirm with you.
With kind regards
Sandra Mueller
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews