We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As special night at a special place”
Review of Great Fosters

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Great Fosters
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Egham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 12, 2014

For our one night stay we were kindly upgraded to The Nursery suite which was just fabulous. So much character (animals in the ceiling!) and so many features--like the bathroom and shower rooms which are hidden behind the panelling! This suite enjoys a view over the front of the hotel, the swimming pool at the side AND the beautiful gardens at the rear. The bed is enormous and very comfortable indeed.

The suite includes two very comfortable sofas, a bureau, a table, and plenty of space. We didn't want for anything

The staff are friendly, proactive and appear to be happy to do anything to make your stay special.

We ate in the The Estate Grill (as we have done many times before) and enjoyed each of our three courses--especially the cote de beouf which was cooked to perfection. (Suggestion: could you make your side dishes just a little more generous without breaking the bank?)

However, if I was asked "What would you change?" I'd happily say "nothing". This is a gem of a place to go and get cozy and to be treated very well indeed.

(And regarding one of the other reviews who mentioned the smoke from the fire--I guess he doesn't understand that this kind of feature--a massive open fire in the entrance hall--adds to the charm and helps this venue stand out from the characterless chain establishments--none of which are getting on for 500 years old!).

Room Tip: 'The Nursery' if you want a suite with charm, character and views! It's on the second (t...
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MeganeGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GreatFosters1931, Hotel Manager Cathy Nolan at Great Fosters, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2014

Thank you for your detailed review of your recent stay with us. I'ms so pleased that you appreciated your upgrade to the Nursery suite and will be sharing your comments with the rest of the team.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,113)
There are newer reviews for Great Fosters
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

642 - 648 of 1,113 reviews

Reviewed May 10, 2014

The weather forecast was sunny for the Easter Day. My family and I decided to book one night in the Great Foster, Egham located in the outskirts of London. The hotel was fully booked for the rooms in the old building but was some availability in the contemporary annex " The Cloister ". I booked two adjacent rooms. The reservation procedure over the phone was easy and the attendant was very helpful and polite.
Upon arrival we were received by a couple of guys who were standing out side the little door, an old feature of the Grade One Listed Building. They willingly helped getting everything including a pram inside the hotel and they even took the car to park it in the Car park on the side of the building.
You experience the marvel of the old building and its great setting as soon you turn in from the main road. We walked in the lovely Tudor hall with its open fire fireplace to reach the reception. The staff was so welcoming and the they gave us the feeling that they were waiting for us. Easy and smooth check in and in minutes we were on our way to our rooms through the courtyard to the annex. Our luggage was waiting there with two smily and polite attendants.
The rooms were gorgeous, spacious and meet the claimed 5* standard. They were Furnished with a good reproduction period furniture to suite the leaded glass windows and meld perfectly with the Tudor ambiance. The rooms and the bathrooms were very clean and well fitted with all required accessory guaranteeing comfortable stay.
The main building was one day the hunting lodge for king Henry the eighth. The architectural details on the walls and the ceilings are just beautiful and well maintained. Walking out from the back of the building to the stunning gardens and the Saxon moat was a great experience. The amazing sculptured trees in the forms of birds and perfect geometric shape gave the place the royal touch and the sense of perfection. Sitting in the terrace taking the delicious afternoon English tea over looking the beauty of the gardens was just out of this world.
The generous full English breakfast was a great experience. The lunch and dinner served a la cart to perfection.
We decided to come back for a longer stay since every member of my family enjoyed thoroughly the Easter break. I recommend highly the Great Fosters hotel for locals and visitors to London to experience the real English hospitality and tradition.
Alan

Room Tip: The rooms in the "Cloister" are in the annex but spacious than the rooms in the main old b...
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alarinova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GreatFosters1931, Hotel Manager Cathy Nolan at Great Fosters, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay with us on Easter Sunday.

I was pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and that the sun even managed to shine!

Please do come back and see us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2014

On Easter Monday the weather was good to take my family to stay overnight in the Great Fosters at Egham near London. The marvellous one day the hunting lodge of Henry the Eight is grade one listed building. We booked a table for six for our dinner at 7.00pm. We made welcomed by the maître and two of his assistants. We had a three month baby in a pram. They sincerely helped to seat us and the baby in the best comfortable way possible.
It is a high standard restaurant set in a beautiful room full of old architectural features. The atmosphere and ambiance were great indeed. The menu was comprehensive catering for all tastes. The orders arrived exactly as described. The staff were so polite, prompt and serviante we were treated like royals. The food was delicious and was good value for the money at £50 per person.
I highly recommend the restaurant which is located only 45 minutes drive from central London.
Alan

    • Value
    • Service
Thank Alarinova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GreatFosters1931, Hotel Manager Cathy Nolan at Great Fosters, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2014

Thank you for writing a review on your dinner with us in The Estate Grill on Easter Monday.

I'm so pleased that you and your family were well looked after and hope that you will return to see us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2014 via mobile

We did an overnight stay in a panel room to celebrate our 10th wedding anniversary. We had our wedding celebrations here 10 years ago. The visit bought back wonderful memories. Everything was as it was. The room (panel 2) was lovely. Food fantastic! We ate in the grill and would recommend the cauliflower cheese risotto to start, steak and beef suet. Tip - think about his many sides you ordered as we had far too much food, so much so we didn't have room for pudding. Afternoon tea on the terrace is a must. We highly recommend Great Fosters!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephanie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GreatFosters1931, Hotel Manager, Cathy Nolan at Great Fosters, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2014

Thank you for your lovely comments. I'm so pleased that you enjoyed coming back to stay with us to celebrate your 10th wedding anniversary. Congratulations and we we look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2014

Having the opportunity to stay in a place with such character and history was incredibly memorable. We stayed in the panel II room and although it was very dark the bed (wondrously comfortable), windows, fireplace, bathroom and of course wood paneling was unforgettable.

We were patrons in the tudor room, the bar and the estate grille. We had wonderful experiences in all three places.

The estate was beautiful and it provides a central location to many English adventures

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Megan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GreatFosters1931, Hotel Manager, Cathy Nolan at Great Fosters, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2014

Thank you for your review which made for very pleasant reading. I'm so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope that you will return to Great Fosters when you are next in our part of the world.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2014

The service and environment here were OUTSTANDING. The gardens are wonderful. The Tudor Room service and food were fantastic, very romantic and attentive. It was a great place to relax and unwind, near Winsor Castle and Wentworth Golf Club.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jmurphywa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GreatFosters1931, Hotel Manager, Cathy Nolan at Great Fosters, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2014

Thank you for your extremely kind comments. We look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in the UK.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2014

Stayed one night before departing Heathrow for return flight to the States. The property itself is quite picturesque, the gardens are impressive. Lobby and common areas are visually interesting, but quite smelling of smoke, to the point of watering my eyes (and my spouses as well). Dinned at the Estate Grill with another couple (boss and his wife). Food was tasteful, but not remarkable. Certainly not commanding of the price - we had a few small plates and two entrees to share - 150 GBP's total bill seemed extreme given the quantity and quality of the servings. We both had rooms in The Cloisters section. Best described as a regular looking hotel room, however ours was mostly dark. Called about the nonfuntional bulbs, attendant explained maintenace was out until Tuesday as it was Easter weekend, so no solution. OK, I can shower in the dark. But a cold shower is asking too much. At 260 GBP's, the least one can expect is ample hot water. However, not a hint. The shower was ice cold. Upon checking out, we were told "yes, we understand there is a problem with the boilers in that area of the property". No offer to accomodate a price break or some adjustment for (1) the dark room or (2) the cold shower. Asked for a taxi to Heathrow, told the fare would be 17 GBP's - but the driver asked for 25. Not sure why.

Our conclusion - this is a lovely property with charm and history. Nice to visit, but I wouldn't stay. It's considerably overpriced for our needs - a night of transit before a flight. Best to stick with a Heathrow hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DavidS46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GreatFosters1931, Hotel Manager, Cathy Nolan at Great Fosters, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay with us last week.

I am at a loss to understand your comment about the light bulb since the manager on duty changed changed it personally. Whilst our maintenance team was not in the hotel over Easter we have plenty of staff available who can change a light bulb!

I am sorry that you did not have any hot water on the morning you departed. Sadly we had a faulty boiler that morning, which has since been repaired and this meant that there was insufficient hot water. I hope you will accept my sincere apologies. You should have been offered a gesture of goodwill when you departed and I will be contacting your separately to arrange this.

I am so sorry that you di

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Egham
1.5 mi away
The Runnymede on Thames
8.3 mi away
Pennyhill Park, an Exclusive Hotel & Spa
2.3 mi away
Savill Court Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.6 mi away
De Vere Wotton House
De Vere Wotton House
#1 of 8 in Dorking
173 reviews
5.5 mi away
Brooklands Hotel
Brooklands Hotel
#1 of 4 in Weybridge
2,631 reviews
3.2 mi away
Coworth Park - Dorchester Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Great Fosters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great Fosters

Address: Stroude Road, Egham TW20 9UR, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Egham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Egham
Price Range: $156 - $465 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Great Fosters 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Probably built as a Royal Hunting lodge and very much a stately home since the 16th century, Great Fosters is now a prestigious hotel, awarded 4 red stars by the AA. Set amongst 50 acres of gardens and parkland, the hotel is a Grade One listed building blessed with the grandeur of 16th century England and luxurious modern facilities. Its past is evident in the mullioned windows, tall chimneys, fireplaces and brick finials, while the Saxon moat, crossed by a Japanese bridge, surrounds three sides of the formal garden. All the suites and bedrooms are individually decorated. The bedrooms in the Main House are adorned with tapestries and antiques, whilst the bedrooms in The Cloisters are more contemporary in style. The refurbished Coach House offers luxurious accommodation with the latest plasma screens, i-pod docking stations and fabulous bathrooms. The hotel has two restaurants - The Estate Grill has been awarded two rosettes by the AA and serves a simple and seasonal menu with many of the dishes using produce grown on the estate and cooked on a Josper grill. The Tudor Room was awarded a Michelin star and three rosettes by the AA in October 2016 and is an intimate sophisticated restaurant open for lunch on a Thursday & Friday and for dinner from Wednesday to Saturday inclusive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Great Fosters reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Great Fosters Egham, Surrey, UK
Great Fosters Hotel Egham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing