We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tour of the garden and lunch offer”
Review of Great Fosters

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Great Fosters
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Egham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 12, 2013

Just come back from a wonderful experience at Great Fosters. The Head Gardener gave an excellent tour and very interesting tour, the garden is fascinating. Lunch was really lovely and the staff were very warm and welcoming. Would definitely go there again, well worth the £35 it cost us each.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank swtrains
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GreatFosters1931, Hotel Manager, Cathy Nolan at Great Fosters, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your visit to the hotel yesterday.

We have had wonderful feedback from our first horticulture and heritage luncheon. I'm so pleased that you enjoyed the day and will pass on your thanks to our Head Gardener, Russell and the rest of the team here.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,146)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

802 - 808 of 1,146 reviews

Reviewed June 6, 2013

We've stayed at the hotel twice now, both times we were in the main building and the rooms have been spectacular. We've also been several times for dinner and while GF never fails to impress, they have outdone themselves with their new restaurant 'The Tudor Room', the food was amazing and the sommelier really knows his stuff (quiz him on the history of the building as well as wine!). This really is a special place, try it for yourself!

Room Tip: 'Queen Anne' is a beautiful room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alx09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GreatFosters1931, Hotel Manager, Cathy Nolan at Great Fosters, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2013

Thank you for your wonderful review, which I shall be sharing with the rest of the team.

I'm so pleased that you have enjoyed your stays with us and in particular your most recent visit when you dined in one of our new restaurants The Tudor Room at Great Fosters.

Please come and stay with us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013

We needed a hotel for the night before our flight out of Heathrow. Originally I had a reservation at one of the chain hotels by the airport. Then I read a TA mention of Great Fosters Lodge and decided it was a more interesting way to spend the last night of our vacation rather than at an airport chain hotel.

We were thoroughly delighted with what we found. And it was only 15 minutes from Heathrow. But like another time and place. A taxi to the airport in the morning was 21 GBP. But it was so much nicer staying at Great Fosters than at the airport.

The main building is over 500 years old and has a fascinating history. It is beautifully decorated. Our room was nicely refurbished and very comfortable with an excellent bathroom.

You have to realize that this building is OOOOOLD....so don't expect things to be perfect like at the Marriott or Hilton. Some of the doors stick and the floors creak. The woodwork is scratched up. But this is the great charm of this place. We loved it. These conditions existed NOT out of neglect, but out of the fact that it was so historic.

The gardens were gorgeous. We enjoyed a lovely afternoon snack with wine in the bar area.

Breakfast was excellent.

Exploring the grounds was fascinating...much better than hanging around the airport!

The staff were all gracious and helpful.

The only hiccup was dinner in the Oak Room. It was a very busy Bank Holiday and service was very disorganized that evening.

But I would definitely return to this hotel if I am ever in the neighborhood. We very much enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pacosmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GreatFosters1931, Hotel Manager, Cathy Nolan at Great Fosters, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay with us. I was delighted to read your comments and hope that you will return to stay when you are next in our part of the world.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

For cream tea a stroll in the garden and a nice relaxing evening in a luxurious room. Convenient for Heathrow, Windsor, Wentworth etc. This really is a unique hotel. Anyone staying at one of the chain hotels near Heathrow should be kicking themselves for missing out on this. Hotel staff were excellent as well. We really were nervous that it might have gone downhill since our last stay 17 years ago, but if anything it has just got better. Thoroughly recommended.

Stayed: May 2013
Thank Paul_K_Oregon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GreatFosters1931, Hotel Manager, Cathy Nolan at Great Fosters, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

I'm so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us - please don't leave it another 17 years before you return!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

This hotel is truly beautiful, from the moment you drive up to the front door to the moment you are checking out! Stunning features and quirky details, absolutely love the little wooden door you have to go through. We only stayed one night and didn't arrive until gone dark and left first thing in the morning so we missed seeing the gardens which I was disappointed about because from the pictures I had seen online they looked lovely. We decided to eat less formerly in the cocktail bar and were given a choice of the bar menu or a full menu. Boths meals were lovely and made to perfection, I had the "banana" dessert and wow it was to die for, heaven on a plate! I still think of it now. My husband asked to see the wine menu and along with it came their wine expert to ask if he could be any of any help in choosing a wine, the staff were fantastic, very very helpful without being too overbearing. Nothing was too much trouble for any of the staff. There was a wedding taking place but apart from a bit of music you wouldn't know they were there. The whole place was welcoming and comfortable with a very relaxing feel to it. Our room was across the courtyard in the coach house, more contemporary than the main house but still lovely, Molton Brown toiletries and robes and slippers, little things like bottle of milk in fridge for tea and coffee instead of those nasty plastic pods! Only negative thing i can say about our stay was the room was a bit small which wasn't too much of a problem for us as it was just for one night as we were going to watch the golf at The Wentworth Club, which I have also stopped at and would chose to return to Great Fosters rather than Wentworth. I would definately return and would have no hesitation in recommending it to anyone. If visiting this area it is a must, and would be perfect for a romantic getaway.

Room Tip: I cant really say much apart from if you want all the period features you are probably better asking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lindsey69_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GreatFosters1931, Hotel Manager, Cathy Nolan at Great Fosters, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2013

Thank you for taking the trouble to write a review on your recent stay with us.

I was delighted to read your lovely comments and hope that you will return in the not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2013

Our business travel was made much more pleasant by elegant, impeccably maintained surroundings, and professional friendly staff (especially Stephen, Amanda and Amber).

This is a venue with interesting history and a stroll through the extraordinary manicured grounds cleared the head after a long day of meetings. Stunning wedding venue.

The rooms are comfortable, nicely decorated and well appointed. Moulton Brown amenities, fluffly bathrobes and slippers all help to relax and recharge. 

Dinner both evenings in the Estate Grill restaurant was superb. There is also a very well priced fine dining option. Only looked at the menu but it is the menu of a chef with serious intentions. A great deal of the food (both meat and vegetables) used is reared and grown in the grounds of Great Fosters itself and the freshness really shines through. 

This hotel is part of the excellent Small Luxury Hotels group, which I find to be the most reliable and consistent source of hotel options wherever I am travelling. 

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DonnybrookDiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GreatFosters1931, Hotel Manager - Cathy Nolan at Great Fosters, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2013

Thank you for writing such a lovely review on your recent stay with us. I will certainly ensure that your comments are share with the team and in particular Stephen, Amanda and Amber.

I'm so pleased that you enjoyed your stay in particular our grounds and food and hope to haev the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

This hotel is truly a hidden gem, quirky, elegant and incredible service.
With so many of the large chain hotels in the UK, they are lifeless and devoid of any service, so it was a pleasure to find this great hotel.
I stayed in the Tower which eas right at the top of the hotel (crazy winding staircase) and overlooked the wonderful gardens.
It is one of the few non London hotels that offers valet parking.
The food was excallent at supper and breakfast.
Most of the staff are foreign, maybe that is why the service is so good.
I am planning a romantic weekend away here and would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Stay in the main hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank frankfurness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GreatFosters1931, Hotel Manager - Cathy Nolan at Great Fosters, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2013

Thank you for your recent view on your stay with us.

We pride ourselves on our service and are proud that we are still a privately owned hotel. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Egham
1.5 mi away
The Runnymede on Thames
8.3 mi away
Pennyhill Park, an Exclusive Hotel & Spa
5.5 mi away
Brooklands Hotel
Brooklands Hotel
#1 of 4 in Weybridge
2,653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.6 mi away
De Vere Wotton House
De Vere Wotton House
#1 of 8 in Dorking
193 reviews
2.3 mi away
Savill Court Hotel & Spa
3.2 mi away
Coworth Park - Dorchester Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Great Fosters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great Fosters

Address: Stroude Road, Egham TW20 9UR, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Egham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Egham
Price Range: $163 - $442 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Great Fosters 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Probably built as a Royal Hunting lodge and very much a stately home since the 16th century, Great Fosters is now a prestigious hotel, awarded 4 red stars by the AA. Set amongst 50 acres of gardens and parkland, the hotel is a Grade One listed building blessed with the grandeur of 16th century England and luxurious modern facilities. Its past is evident in the mullioned windows, tall chimneys, fireplaces and brick finials, while the Saxon moat, crossed by a Japanese bridge, surrounds three sides of the formal garden. All the suites and bedrooms are individually decorated. The bedrooms in the Main House are adorned with tapestries and antiques, whilst the bedrooms in The Cloisters are more contemporary in style. The refurbished Coach House offers luxurious accommodation with the latest plasma screens, i-pod docking stations and fabulous bathrooms. The hotel has two restaurants - The Estate Grill has been awarded two rosettes by the AA and serves a simple and seasonal menu with many of the dishes using produce grown on the estate and cooked on a Josper grill. The Tudor Room was awarded a Michelin star and three rosettes by the AA in October 2016 and is an intimate sophisticated restaurant open for lunch on a Thursday & Friday and for dinner from Wednesday to Saturday inclusive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Great Fosters reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Great Fosters Egham, Surrey, UK
Great Fosters Hotel Egham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing