We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Afternoon tea”
Review of Great Fosters

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Great Fosters
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Egham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 18, 2013

A lovely , cosy, comforting setting for a family tea with Granny.
Service good,helpful staff, decent sized tea cups, lashings of hot tea.
lovely scones, cream etc.
Sandwiches were lovely but perhaps too small.
Seating was very comfortable.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GreatFosters1931, Hotel Manager - Cathy Nolan at Great Fosters, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2013

Thank you for writing a review on your recent visit for afternoon tea.

I'm pleased that you enjoyed afternoon tea with us and will pass on your comments regarding the size of the sandwiches to the Chef. We are always happy to offer more sandwiches so when you visit again please do ask for a few more if they are a little too small for your liking.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,160)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

867 - 873 of 1,160 reviews

Reviewed February 15, 2013

Went here on a Travelzoo deal and found it lovely. Not the best time of year to be there (snowing) so was unable to make the best of the manicured gardens, moat, swimming pool and outdoor bar/seating areas. We were lucky enough to be upgraded to a room in the main house which had lovely views from the second floor. Lots of antique furniture, creaky floors, log fires and almost medieval feel to the place - v relaxing. Only gripe wd be the food which we both found too rich. Everyone very welcoming and friendly.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MikMangler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GreatFosters1931, Hotel Manager - Cathy Nolan at Great Fosters, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2013

Thank you for writing a review on your recent stay with us. I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2013

We booked this hotel via Living Social. It was a great offer with cream tea, champagne & dinner for a very reasonable price. We're getting married in 6 weeks and thought it would help relieve the pre-wedding stress to get away.

We checked into this beautiful building in the pouring rain and was given a fantastic welcome, We were up-graded to a suite (thank you!) which was awesome. A handsome man even carried our bags through the hotel. The suite was in the Cloisters and was fab! A huge bed, sitting area, sofa, 2 tvs and a lovely bathroom with Molton Brown toiletries.

A very yummy afternoon tea (we upgraded) and then some champers. Dressed for dinner later and was shown to the amazing vaulted hall which is usually kept for weddings for our meal after some cocktails.

Dinner was great. Service was fab.

We had a good nights sleep which did worry us as the hotel is very close to the M25 but we didn't hear a thing. Room service breakfast...could have been a little better, but I guess it's down to what you expect. I like a big breakfast!

We stay at lots of nice hotels and it takes alot to impress us, but this hotel did. Staff were warm and friendly, couldn't do enough. We'd definitely go back

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LaraZH007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GreatFosters1931, Hotel Manager - Cathy Nolan at Great Fosters, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2013

Thank you for writing a review. I'm glad that we managed to impress you and hope that we managed to ease the pre wedding tension a little.

I hope you both have a wonderful wedding day in a few weeks time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013

My husband and I have eaten at The Oak Room at Great Fosters three times now. On each occasion we have found the quality of the food and level of service from the staff to be of a very high standard. The food I must say is absolutely delicious and the cherry pudding I had was amazing!!!!! The Oak room itself is such a lovely room to be in as it has a very warm inviting feel to it plus romantic : ) I am already planning our next visit back so I would highly recommend for others to give this restaurant at Great Fosters a try.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Amyskye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GreatFosters1931, Hotel Manager - Cathy Nolan at Great Fosters, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2013

Thank you for writing a review.

I'm so pleased that you have enjoyed dining in The Oak Room. We are refurbishing The Oak Room at the moment and it will reopen as The Estate Grill in April plus we are also opening a brand new fine dining restaurant The Tudor Room at Great Foster. Please do come back and try these too.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

This was a gift from our 2 sons and there partners, and what a wonderful place is is.
We stayed in the Cloisters and was very cnice, appart from the heating not working, and then moved to another room and was sure the heating wasnt working in there either, but the heated floor did take the chill off a little.
Staff where lovely and polite and the food was to die for, although on our return home my son asked did we like the champagne, but we never had it offered to us, even though it was part of the package.
Even though it was Feb, the gardens where lovely, so can only imagine what it must be like when its in full bloom.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gray D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2013 via mobile

If you want a wonderful hotel experience, eat here, stay here & relax. There's no need to visit Egham or Staines really, hence the 4 for location. Very easy to find off the M25 though. I feel the hotel is definitely overpriced, despite being magnificent. We got a travelzoo deal for 2 for £200 including afternoon tea, champagne 3 course meal & a la carte /buffet breakfast but the room only without the deal would have cost about £175 for a small basic double room. Our room (dr furnival i think!) was very small but had a beautiful view of the gardens & a stunning bathroom (love the green mosaic tiles in the shower) with Molton Brown products. The Bose iPod dock was well
Used by us. The room was lovely & quiet, the perfect temperature & bed very comfy. Up a lot of old creaky stairs and no sign of a lift. Food is very expensive but really excellent-everything on the menu looked delicious. We had delicious scones in the afternoon. The risotto to start was a taste sensation, the duck was almost perfect, just a little tough & the rhubarb ginger cake dessert was amazing! The cucumber martini is do refreshing & didn't last long! We had a very helpful, funny sommelier called Steve who had a funky moustache with a good story behind it & we enjoyed our Sicillian red wine! The breakfasts are fantastic, though surprised there was no eggs benedict or florentine on the menu. The swimming pool is outdoors and closed from September. The gardens are stunning, Edward Scissorhands-esque bushes! Definitely would be better enjoyed in the summer. They charge £1.75 for the morning paper by the way! Overall, we had an amazing time & would highly recommend a stay as a treat or just coming for afternoon tea/dinner but bring your credit card!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thegeorgiegirl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2013

We were recommended this hotel by a friend. As you enter the building through a door within a door you feel you are going somewhere special. The room was across the courtyard and was very comfortable. The bar had the feel of a private club. The restaurant had attentive staff and the food was sublimely excellent. I plan to stay here on my next trip to London rather than in the city.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank taffyyyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GreatFosters1931, Hotel Manager - Cathy Nolan at Great Fosters, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2013

Thank you for writing such a lovely review. We look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in London.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Egham
1.5 mi away
The Runnymede on Thames
8.3 mi away
Pennyhill Park, an Exclusive Hotel & Spa
15.6 mi away
De Vere Wotton House
De Vere Wotton House
#1 of 8 in Dorking
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Brooklands Hotel
Brooklands Hotel
#1 of 4 in Weybridge
2,694 reviews
9.5 mi away
Macdonald Frimley Hall Hotel & Spa
21.4 mi away
Nutfield Priory Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Great Fosters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great Fosters

Address: Stroude Road, Egham TW20 9UR, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Egham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Egham
Price Range: $150 - $444 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Great Fosters 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Probably built as a Royal Hunting lodge and very much a stately home since the 16th century, Great Fosters is now a prestigious hotel, awarded 4 red stars by the AA. Set amongst 50 acres of gardens and parkland, the hotel is a Grade One listed building blessed with the grandeur of 16th century England and luxurious modern facilities. Its past is evident in the mullioned windows, tall chimneys, fireplaces and brick finials, while the Saxon moat, crossed by a Japanese bridge, surrounds three sides of the formal garden. All the suites and bedrooms are individually decorated. The bedrooms in the Main House are adorned with tapestries and antiques, whilst the bedrooms in The Cloisters are more contemporary in style. The refurbished Coach House offers luxurious accommodation with the latest plasma screens, i-pod docking stations and fabulous bathrooms. The hotel has two restaurants - The Estate Grill has been awarded two rosettes by the AA and serves a simple and seasonal menu with many of the dishes using produce grown on the estate and cooked on a Josper grill. The Tudor Room was awarded a Michelin star and three rosettes by the AA in October 2016 and is an intimate sophisticated restaurant open for lunch on a Thursday & Friday and for dinner from Wednesday to Saturday inclusive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Great Fosters reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Great Fosters Egham, Surrey, UK
Great Fosters Hotel Egham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing