We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lough Erne Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Lough Erne Resort
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Enniskillen
Certificate of Excellence
Belfast
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Outstanding service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2009

Outstanding staff, outstanding service. 5 stars.

  • Stayed January 2009
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank himselfetc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,391 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    891
    261
    131
    79
    29
See reviews for
286
667
16
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (334)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2009

Just returned from a night at Lough Erne resort with my wife.

Upon arrival I was a bit disapointed with the layout of the reception, seemed very small to be honest. One of the receptionists was on the phone organising the covering of shifts whilst we were being checked in which didn't seem very professional.

Upon entering the room, it was freezing and we had to ring down to reception to get the heat "boosted". Also our room (room 218) was outside the coverage area of free wi fi. The towel rail in the bathroom didn't work and the picture on all channels on the TV were awful and this all in the first thirty mins in the room!

We decided to dine in the bar restuarant as the Catalina restuarant was fully booked. We had a drink and asked for the menu whilst we were having a drink, I had a pint of Guinness and my wife a glass of wine and we were asked 4 times by 4 different waiters/waiteresses if we were ready to order, each time we had to tell them we were going to have a drink first.

Then when we did order and received our food the same thing happened, we were asked 4 times by 4 different waiters if the food was ok... it was fantastic, but we kept getting interupted by the staff, it was getting on our nerves!

The bill also includes an automatic 10% service charge for the food which is a bit presuming.

The breakfast in the morning was fantastic and we had a great walk around the perimeter of the golf course.

Overall the food is good but the service is a bit over whelming and attention to detail seems lacking in certain areas. I would rate this hotel as a 4 star at most.

  • Liked — Food
  • Disliked — cold bedroom
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Fellrunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2009

All i can say is.... Just stay here, husband and i like to treat ourselves with an overnight regularly, i won't be going anywhere else from now on. Staff were lovely, food in the bar and resturant was fabulous, our room was stunning (super bath) and the setting and walk the next morning round the lough will clear any head. Had such a lovely time, can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank trichIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2009

My husband and I recently stayed for 3 days at Lough Erne Golf Resort and we can honestly say what we experienced there was true perfection .
The location is wonderful , the hotel magnificent and the staff are amazing. We loved every moment of our time there. From the moment we arrived we were greeted with warmth & friendliness from everyone we encountered.
The hotel itself is luxurious and wonderfully appointed but its the management & staff that make staying in Lough Erne Golf resort so special... they are all ambassadors for the resort. Nothing is too much trouble for them .
They are friendly & approachable, professional and courteous and never intrusive.... their attention to making your stay a truely wonderful and uplifting experience is reflected in how they all work together as a team .It is apparent how much pride and dedication the staff take in their duties and its reflected in their approach to each other as well as their guests. Special thanks to the very galant and mannerly polish bar manager , Brendan ( conceirge) Richard ( bar waiter) Denise ( Restaurant )...to name a few who helped make our stay so enjoyable.
The food is divine , afternnoon tea is scrummy ....the bar menu is fabulous and excellent value for money .... the restaurant is a culinary delight and breakfast is heavenly. We have stayed in some really fine hotels worldwide and dined in some grand restaurants along the way and never have we enjoyed ourselves as much as we did during our 3 days at this truely amazing hotel right on our own doorstep !
We intend to become regulars at this wonderful hotel and therefore joined the guest benefit scheme and already we are planning our next stay .
You will have a wonderful pleasurable stay at Lough Erne Golf Resort from relaxing in front of the fire in The Library reading a book or the papers to watching the wildlife in and around the lakes through the binoculars ( supplied in each bedroom )...to being pampered n the Thai Spa. Stay at the Lough Erne and be pampered , be invigorated , be indulged ..be inspired ...be prepared to not want to leave. " Enjoy " ...you can tell ...we did !

  • Liked — We Adored Everything About Lough Erne Golf Resort
  • Disliked — There Was Nothing We Disliked .
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Loracgrahem1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2008

Three of us stayed one night following a wedding in the hotel. Decor and scenery surrounding hotel are exceptional. Food was also nice, however while staff are pleasant they seem somewhat inexperienced. During our stay a fire alarm went off due to a minor chimney fire and I would have expected a hotel of this standard to have intercom systems in the corridors advising people of what had happened. My elderly mother was with me and I was not sure if we were expected to evacuate and had difficulty locating staff to get information. At breakfast the following morning a lot of people arrived at 10am so tables were not available. After waiting 20 mins. I asked one of the staff to set a table in an adjoining area. Staff didn't seem to have the initiative to do this themselves.When I went to get the breakfast for both my mother and myself I asked for a tray to carry both plates and juice but the staff looked at me as if they never heard of one. We were also told that toast would be taken to us once we got a table but that didn't happen until I asked for it again. Also you would need a sat. nav. to find your way around the corridors, better signage is needed particularly for the Ross Suite. The hotel has great potential but there is some scope for improvement.

Stayed December 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank DublinladyIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2008

My husband & I stayed for one night at the end of November. We had a wonderful experience and were very impressed with the hotel. The hotel is beautiful, the staff are professional, the bar was quiet with huge open fires and had an excellent pianist playing softly in the background. Our evening dinner in the restaurant and the breakfast were both second to none. We had a truely relaxing time and will without a doubt be returning as i think its the most magical hideway anyone could wish for in a hotel! It was faultless.

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Snipo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N. Ireland
Level Contributor
81 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2008

Quite simply the best staff of any hotel I have visited anywhere in the world. I stayed on business, not particulalry spending a lot of cash but was treated like royalty. The porters, Gordon and his colleagues are a real asset to this hotel. I was in a standrard room but it was beautiful, spacious and bright with a lovely bathroom including rain forest shower, roll top bath and great toiletries. Robes, slippers, mini bar and snack bar all available. There was no air con which I think is more or less essential. The bar is candlelit in the evening and the open fire gives it a lovely atmosphere. The spa is outstanding, the nicest smelling gym ever!
As you will see from my other reviews I'm a tough cookie to please, this hotel was almost faultless.

  • Liked — Staff and service
  • Disliked — No aircon
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank jaybel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Enniskillen
5.6 mi away
Killyhevlin Lakeside Hotel & Lodges
4.4 mi away
The Enniskillen Hotel
The Enniskillen Hotel
#6 of 7 in Enniskillen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 513 reviews
4.6 mi away
Westville Hotel
Westville Hotel
#2 of 7 in Enniskillen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 727 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.5 mi away
Slieve Russell Hotel Golf and Country Club
21.4 mi away
Corick House
Corick House
#1 of 1 in Clogher
4.0 of 5 bubbles 652 reviews
5.5 mi away
Mahon's Hotel
Mahon's Hotel
#1 of 1 in Irvinestown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lough Erne Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lough Erne Resort

Property: Lough Erne Resort
Address: 193 Lough Shore Road, Enniskillen BT93 7ED, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Fermanagh > Enniskillen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Enniskillen
#3 Family Hotel in Enniskillen
#5 Luxury Hotel in Enniskillen
#5 Romantic Hotel in Enniskillen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Lough Erne Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lough Erne Resort, Enniskillen, Co. Fermanagh, host venue to the G 8 Summit 2013 is the first AA and NITB Five Star Hotel in Northern Ireland and was awarded 'Best Hotel' at the 2011 Northern Ireland Tourism Awards. In 2010, it was awarded ‘Golf Resort of The Year’ by the Irish Golf Tour Operators Association. The Resort is the ultimate expression in old world heritage and new world luxury, set on its very own 600 acre peninsula, between Castle Hume Lough and Lower Lough Erne, just outside Enniskillen, with stunning panoramic views from almost every vantage point. This unique luxury Fermanagh hotel’s facilities include: •120 luxury Rooms and Suites•Two Championship Golf Courses including The Faldo Course, a Golf World & Golf Monthly Top 20 Course (UK & Ireland) and the Championship Castle Hume Course•Rory McIlroy has been its Touring Professional representing The Resort around the World•The Golf Academy, a state of the art Practice and Tuition centre•Authentic Thai Spa, with Thai Therapists using Thai Products and techniques•A variety of innovative Dining Experiences with menus composed by Award winning Chef, Noel McMeel. Including: The Catalina Restaurant, The Blaney Bar with an Exclusive collection of 101 Irish Whiskies; The Loughside Bar & Grill, a variety of Afternoon Teas in The Garden Hall and The Halfway House located behind the 9th Green of The Faldo Championship Course•6 Conference & Meeting Rooms•Cygnets The 'BIG' Experience for our younger guests (0-11 years)•One of Ireland’s most romantic Wedding Venues. All this combined with warm, friendly and attentive service make Lough Erne Resort one of the world’s most magical destinations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Lough Erne Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lough Erne Hotel Enniskillen
Lough Erne Enniskillen
Lough Erne Resort Enniskillen, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing