We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't miss the breakfasts!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lough Erne Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Lough Erne Resort
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Enniskillen
Certificate of Excellence
Wiltshire
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Don't miss the breakfasts!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2014

We stayed in one of the lodges after a family wedding.
Lovely accommodation - very comfortable.
We had an amazing breakfast in the Golf Club - I didn't plan to eat quite so much but the sausages were outstanding.
As ever, the weather is Northern Irish.
The place is a long long way from Belfast but the road access is good after the G8 Summit last year.
If you like golf there is a lovely golf course on rolling countryside and there are nice walks around.
Great for a short break to blow away the cobwebs.

Room Tip: The lodges are great lots of different options - you can stay where Obama or Putin stayed if you ask
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Route66Wiltshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
john0neill, Manager at Lough Erne Resort, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Dear Route 66Wiltshire,
Belfast is approximatley an hour and a half from Lough Erne Resort and is motorway driving for most of the way.Generally at weekends or during busy periods we use the Loughside Suite for all our Loughside Lodge guests and the buffet breakfast is very popular with families.Delighted to read that you 'enjoyed the sausages'.
Kind regards
JOHN
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,391 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    891
    261
    131
    79
    29
See reviews for
286
667
16
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (334)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2014

On a recent Saturday night visit to Enniskillen we decided to treat ourselves with a stay here and were delighted to be upgraded to a Lake view room. Room 105 was perfectly comfortable with a large bathroom, but unfortunately when we went to bed at about 1am we realised that we were directly over the bar where loud revelling continued for at least another hour. It was very hot in the room and failing to find a thermostat we opened the window only to discover that it overlooked the smoking patio, so now smoke as well as noise wafted into the room.
A nearby lift, which emitted a whirring noise every time it moved, added to the disturbance throughout the night.

When we were checking in it was pointed out that fortunately there wasn't a wedding taking place in the hotel that night, so we wouldn't be disturbed by loud running about the corridors late at night.

All of this makes me wonder whether the management at the Lough Erne value a good night's sleep for its guests. If so it is very disappointing as, in terms of decor, service, food and environment it is a fabulous hotel.

We really were disappointed.

Room Tip: Avoid room 105.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TOBINSIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
john0neill, Manager at Lough Erne Resort, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Dear TOBINSIreland,

It's very regrettable that your night's sleep was interrupted by loud revellers in the smoking area,
paricularly having received an upgrade to this room.
More frustrating when you comment 'In terms of decor, service, food and environment it is a fabulous hotel'.Please inform me personally of your next visit and I will endeavour to enhance your next stay in some way.
Kind regards
JOHN
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pettigo, Ireland
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2014

As my daughter said if it's good enough for Barack Obama it will do. Beautiful hotel just outside enniskillen. Went here Saturday late afternoon. What a treat. We decided to try the bar food, upon arrival we were seen to straight away, lovely young lady who attended our every need. We didn't have to wait long for our food and it was delicious. The surroundings are top class we then made our way to a very relaxing and cosy lobby. We had a drink and some desserts and I found some beautiful antique jewellery on display in the reception. Wandered around hotel and it is a gem. Although we live very near will will be back to stay the night. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Meg b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
john0neill, Manager at Lough Erne Resort, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Dear Meg b,
Our antique jewellery display is certainly eye catching and receives a lot of attention from our guests.It was pleasing to read such kind comments about our food offering in the Blaney Bar and that you will be returning soon to visit us.
kind regards
JOHN
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtownards, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2014

My wife and I have just arrived home after staying in this hotel. It's a great place to stay, you are made very welcome and the staff really look after you very well.
We dined in the Catalina Restaurant which was a terrific experience, not only was the food good it was presented in an outstanding way.
If you want to spoil your self and be well looked after this is the place for you.

Room Tip: A lake view is the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank robyou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
john0neill, Manager at Lough Erne Resort, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Dear robyou,
Delighted to read that you enjoyed your dining experience in the Catalina Restaurant during your recent stay with us.Noel and his team do a wonderful job and just recently recieved Best Chef and Best Restaurant in Ulster at the Food&Wine Awards.
Kind regards
JOHN
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2014

On arrival the staff were very attentive and helped us check in. When we got to our room we sat out on the balcony and the sun sparkled on the lough, it was beautiful. The bedroom was lovely and the roll top bath is fantastic. We had a nice walk around the grounds and then dined in the Catalina Restaurant. The staff were friendly, helpful and knowledgeable about the menu. The food was excellent, it was not cheap but it was outstanding flavours. There are two other places to eat on the resort so you can get a cheaper menu if you require. I used the spa and though the swimming pool is not massive it is immaculate both in decoration and cleanliness. We enjoyed the whole experience and wished we could have stayed longer.

Room Tip: Have a lakeside view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lhughes21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
john0neill, Manager at Lough Erne Resort, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Dear lhughes 21,
Your kind comments regarding the staff are very much appreciated and 'Perfect Stay' is a wonderful review to receive.We look forward to your next visit and thank you for taking time to share your experience.
kind regards
JOHN
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2014

The greeting on arrival was poor, the porter said we might find an umbrella inside and then left us standing in the rain .

We requested the room turn down service but all we received was the bed sheets pulled back, towels left on the floor, toiletries not replaced and a small chocolate thrown on the bedside cabinet.

The spa can only be accessed by walking outside and during our stay this meant walking in the rain . The steam rooms were not working, the showers were cold and the relaxation area was grubby.

Apart from the above the staff were very friendly, the dining experience was good and we had a very enjoyable stay but this is definitely not a 5* hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travellersDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
john0neill, Manager at Lough Erne Resort, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Dear travellers Dublin,
I was disappointed to read your recent review of your stay and some of the issues particularly when you remarked on 'the friendliness of the staff,the good dining experience and the enjoyable stay you had'.
I can only suggest that the fresh towels put in your room for turn down service fell from the towel rail onto the floor as they would not have been placed there by housekeeping staff.
Unfortunately if you are staying in our Loughside Lodges the Spa can only be accessed from the outside.It was unfortunate that annual maintenance was being carried out in the steam room during your visit and I would be grateful if you would contact me prior to your next visit and I will endeavour to enhance your stay in some way.Kind regards JOHN
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Down
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2014

stayed here a couple of weeks ago for the weekend, hotel is gorgeous, food was amazing, staff are super friendly and the lough itself was just breathtaking. We were lucky to stay the weekend Ireland won the 6 nations and the atmosphere was fantastic. Highly recommend for a relaxing break away although if your looking for music and a loud busy atmosphere this isnt the place for you!

Room Tip: lakeside view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Roisin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
john0neill, Manager at Lough Erne Resort, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Dear Roisin D,
What a great weekend to be away and watching Ireland win the six nations.There was a tremendous atmosphere and of course everybody was in great form when Ireland won !!! Thank you for your kind comments regarding the Resort.
Regards
JOHN
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Enniskillen
5.6 mi away
Killyhevlin Lakeside Hotel & Lodges
4.4 mi away
The Enniskillen Hotel
The Enniskillen Hotel
#6 of 7 in Enniskillen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 514 reviews
4.6 mi away
Westville Hotel
Westville Hotel
#3 of 7 in Enniskillen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.5 mi away
Slieve Russell Hotel Golf and Country Club
21.4 mi away
Corick House
Corick House
#1 of 1 in Clogher
4.0 of 5 bubbles 652 reviews
5.5 mi away
Mahon's Hotel
Mahon's Hotel
#1 of 1 in Irvinestown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lough Erne Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lough Erne Resort

Property: Lough Erne Resort
Address: 193 Lough Shore Road, Enniskillen BT93 7ED, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Fermanagh > Enniskillen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Enniskillen
#3 Family Hotel in Enniskillen
#5 Romantic Hotel in Enniskillen
#5 Luxury Hotel in Enniskillen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Lough Erne Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lough Erne Resort, Enniskillen, Co. Fermanagh, host venue to the G 8 Summit 2013 is the first AA and NITB Five Star Hotel in Northern Ireland and was awarded 'Best Hotel' at the 2011 Northern Ireland Tourism Awards. In 2010, it was awarded ‘Golf Resort of The Year’ by the Irish Golf Tour Operators Association. The Resort is the ultimate expression in old world heritage and new world luxury, set on its very own 600 acre peninsula, between Castle Hume Lough and Lower Lough Erne, just outside Enniskillen, with stunning panoramic views from almost every vantage point. This unique luxury Fermanagh hotel’s facilities include: •120 luxury Rooms and Suites•Two Championship Golf Courses including The Faldo Course, a Golf World & Golf Monthly Top 20 Course (UK & Ireland) and the Championship Castle Hume Course•Rory McIlroy has been its Touring Professional representing The Resort around the World•The Golf Academy, a state of the art Practice and Tuition centre•Authentic Thai Spa, with Thai Therapists using Thai Products and techniques•A variety of innovative Dining Experiences with menus composed by Award winning Chef, Noel McMeel. Including: The Catalina Restaurant, The Blaney Bar with an Exclusive collection of 101 Irish Whiskies; The Loughside Bar & Grill, a variety of Afternoon Teas in The Garden Hall and The Halfway House located behind the 9th Green of The Faldo Championship Course•6 Conference & Meeting Rooms•Cygnets The 'BIG' Experience for our younger guests (0-11 years)•One of Ireland’s most romantic Wedding Venues. All this combined with warm, friendly and attentive service make Lough Erne Resort one of the world’s most magical destinations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Lough Erne Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lough Erne Hotel Enniskillen
Lough Erne Enniskillen
Lough Erne Resort Enniskillen, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing