We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic family reunion here”
Review of Lough Erne Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Lough Erne Resort
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Enniskillen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 24, 2014

This was such a great place for a large family reunion. Plenty of rooms arranged in lodges near the main hotel. Perfect for family groups.The food was excellent and they could not be more helpful. Because it is so spacious you never felt restricted. A very relaxing spa is attached , a real treat.
We were there in Feb so it was cold. However golf was played and long walks and runs were taken all around this stunning landscape. Others went swimming , enjoyed a 'facial' or 'massage.' I would love to return in warmer weather and really explore the waterways.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cathytraveller_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
john0neill, Manager at Lough Erne Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2014

Dear cathytraveller_11,
The Waterways in Fermangh would certainly warrant another visit.There is so much to do on Lough Erne with boat hire and tour cruises readily available.The views from the lakes are stunning.Marble Arch Caves,Belleek Pottery,National Trust Properties, Belle Isle and Crom Castle are all part of the great outdoors in Fermanagh. There are also a number of water based activity providers for family activities.So please come to Lough Erne again,which is a great base to experience all Fermanagh has to offer our visitors.
Kind regards
JOHN

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,568)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

942 - 948 of 1,568 reviews

Reviewed February 24, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here on 23/2, with my hubby and 9yr old daughter. All I can say is it is amazing. Our room was not ready when we arrived(knew it wouldn't be as we arrived 1hr early) so my hubby & daughter went to the pool and I had afternoon tea. Anna the girl serving the tea was friendly and took the time to go through every type of tea they had. This service continued through to dinner, with Charlie as our waiter. Dinner was beautifully presented and tasted amazing. The room was very comfortable, beautifully decorated and overlooked the golf course and lough.
The only bad point I can say is... we couldn't stay another night, but booked another weekend break for April.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
Thank ajm1203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
john0neill, Manager at Lough Erne Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2014

Dear ajm1203,
Delighted to read that you enjoyed your last stay so much,that you are visiting Lough Erne again in April.We look forward to your next visit.Charlie and Anna were pleased to receive a personal mention in your review and thank you for the kind comments regarding our accommodation.
Kind regards
JOHN

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2014

I expected this Hotel to be out of this world but was sadly disappointed. It was no different or more luxurious than any other 3 or 4* hotel. The interior was rather old fashioned although comfortable.
The room & bathroom although spacious had very poor quality furniture which was chipped in places and the bathroom had fake marble tops on the sink.
The bed was rather too firm for comfort and the pillows and duvet were very poor quality. We had to use the cushions in place of the pillows in order to get sleep. To be honest we didn't sleep well at all.
The food was warm and plenty of choice for breakfast & staff are very attentive.
The Catalina Restaurant food was very fussy but we got enough to do us. Wouldn't be in a rush back.
Also be very careful, although our meal was included in our package, when we went to check out they tried to charge us a service charge of 10 percent which should have been included in package deal! Also if you have tea after your meal they charge you £3 per person which is also not included in your package. So be warned, lots of hidden charges!!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AEB42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
john0neill, Manager at Lough Erne Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2014

Dear AEB42,

The service charge applied to your bill is discretionary and was applied to your meal and is removed if the guest does not wish to pay it.Tea and coffee are not included on the menu price and so are charged as an extra.The Catalina Restaurant is a fine dining experience so apologies if you thought it was 'fussy'.Your observations have been noted and thank you for taking time to post your review,all constuctive criticism is welcome.
Kind regards
John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2014

We stayed here for a long weekend in February, 2014. (This was our Christmas present to ourselves and the kids weighed in with some vouchers for spa treatments!) From start to finish, we were treared to five star service. We had no complaints what so ever and the staff were all 'one better than the other'. The food, in the Catelina Restaurant, was to die for and the service was so friendly, it was hard to believe. We half expected some 'cut-backs' in service, as this resort is now owned and run ny NAMA and we had read some less than kind reviews before we arrived. We didn't play golf on this visit as we were really on a pampering weekend. The Thai Spa was well run and the treatments were excellent. My wife is a complementary therapist herself and she knows quality in this area. Specifically, 'Jai' whom we both had treatments from, was terrific.
Overall, the atmosphere was warm and friendly, withn large open fires, soft cusions and helpful staff. It was expensive but it was worth it for a special treat.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skindiverDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
john0neill, Manager at Lough Erne Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2014

Dear skindiverDublin,
Our Thai Therapist, Jai, was thrilled that she received a special mention from yourselves and thank you for taking time to do so.The Team in our Thai Spa do a wonderful job in pampering our guests.It appears that you were indeed taken by the efforts of all our staff and 5 * Staff and Service are rewarding comments to receive.Glad you enjoyed your time with us.
Kind regards
JOHN

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2014

We stayed in one of the beautiful lodges recently as part of a special birthday trip, enjoying the benefits of our own spacious accommodation in a lodge overlooking the lough, whilst close enough to enjoy the hotel facilities. First the positives - a fantastic setting, high standard of accommodation; a 5* meal in the Catalina restaurant; and some very friendly staff (e.g. concierge and afternoon tea waitress. Whilst receptionist was a little luke warm...).

With a 5* hotel, expectations are raised to expect a very high level of service and facilities. Whilst a very positive experience overall there was a number of things that were not quite 5*. For example:

*The information folder in rooms was very out-of-date referring to developments planned for 2010 none of which have obviously happened yet (e.g. separate changing room for spa which is badly needed as currently have to use the very small one for pool). A small thing to update these folders so not sure why over 4 years out of date (even just to take out pages referring to old plans...).

* Cleaning checks. We went to use a knife from the knife block in the lodge kitchen and it was covered in old cake (yeuch) - obviously put back dirty and not checked by cleaning staff. ;

* Breakfast buffet was nothing very special - have had much better in 4* hotels. There is a breakfast menu including some lovely items such as kedgeree or brie in filo pastry which is more like what would expect for a 5* hotel and which we enjoyed on the Saturday morning. However it is only available on request when busy, as explained to us by the waitress on Sunday, when no menus on the table. Apparently the chef can't cook individual items for everyone if busy. This doesn't seem fair when guests pay the same rates whether quiet or busy. Afternoon tea lovely but not sure if is up there with the 5* quality of the dinner we enjoyed in the Catalina restaurant.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DanniDoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
john0neill, Manager at Lough Erne Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2014

Dear DanniDoll,
It was good to read that you had a 'memorable stay' for a recent special birthday occasion.The service issues you mentioned however are valid and have been duly noted,the information folders are currently been updated.Your comments are well received and discussed internally to improve the overall guest experience.
Kind regards
JOHN

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2014

What a place! We stayed in lodges 17 and 22 both had lake views, fantastic space. Staff were very warm friendly and helpful.
Food in the Catalina is not to be missed, but also good and less formal In the clubhouse.
It was half term so pool got busy at times, but despite hotel being very busy, you always felt there was plenty of space.
A great luxury place for both families or couples.
Cannot recommend highly enough.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NAGill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
john0neill, Manager at Lough Erne Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2014

Dear Nagill,
The Loughside Lodges are ideal for families celebrating special occasions and offer more spacious surroundings, particularly if you are staying for a few days.Self catering options are now also available,in the Golf Villas.Delighted you enjoyed the food in Catalina and the Loughside Bar & Grill.Thank you for your kind recommendation.
KInd regards
JOHN

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2014

The stay was good but compared to our previous visits it was a let down. The noise from the wedidng guests was rather annoying as they were loud late at night. It did affect our sleep. The rooms are good and high standard but a little dark. We asked for a room move and we got a similar room as before so we just gave up. Noone checked if we were happy with the change. The menu had changed in bar since our last visit and it wasn't as good. Limated choice. And pricey. The breakfast was a let down as we sat down a family wearing pink tracksuits came in and they were loud and annoying and it brought the tone down of the whole breakfast experience. The food was made to order and was very good but it wasnt the buffet style it used to be and we enjoyed that more.
Spa is highly recommended, with very pleasant and skilled Thil ladies.

Room Tip: Loughview room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BeenDee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
john0neill, Manager at Lough Erne Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2014

Dear Been Dee,
Noise from Weddings guests is always difficult to manage and apologies if this detracted from your stay.The Blaney Bar Menu has only been recently changed and this is a balancing act, as some of our guests have favourite dishes that they prefer.The Buffet option is still available at breakfast time but on quieter days, midweek in the winter season, it may not have been practicable to have it available.Thank you for your kind comments reagrding our Thai Spa and Thai therapists.
Kind regards
JOHN

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Enniskillen
5.6 mi away
Killyhevlin Lakeside Hotel & Lodges
4.7 mi away
Belmore Court Motel
Belmore Court Motel
#1 of 7 in Enniskillen
1,908 reviews
4.7 mi away
Westville Hotel
Westville Hotel
#2 of 7 in Enniskillen
812 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
The Enniskillen Hotel
The Enniskillen Hotel
#6 of 7 in Enniskillen
598 reviews
21.5 mi away
Slieve Russell Hotel Golf and Country Club
5.6 mi away
Mahon's Hotel
Mahon's Hotel
#1 of 1 in Irvinestown
338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lough Erne Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lough Erne Resort

Address: 193 Lough Shore Road, Enniskillen BT93 7ED, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Fermanagh > Enniskillen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Enniskillen
#3 Family Hotel in Enniskillen
#5 Luxury Hotel in Enniskillen
#5 Romantic Hotel in Enniskillen
Price Range: $143 - $382 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lough Erne Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lough Erne Resort, Enniskillen, Co. Fermanagh, host venue to the G 8 Summit 2013 is the first AA and NITB Five Star Hotel in Northern Ireland and was awarded 'Best Hotel' at the 2011 Northern Ireland Tourism Awards. In 2010, it was awarded ‘Golf Resort of The Year’ by the Irish Golf Tour Operators Association. The Resort is the ultimate expression in old world heritage and new world luxury, set on its very own 600 acre peninsula, between Castle Hume Lough and Lower Lough Erne, just outside Enniskillen, with stunning panoramic views from almost every vantage point. This unique luxury Fermanagh hotel’s facilities include: •120 luxury Rooms and Suites•Two Championship Golf Courses including The Faldo Course, a Golf World & Golf Monthly Top 20 Course (UK & Ireland) and the Championship Castle Hume Course•Rory McIlroy has been its Touring Professional representing The Resort around the World•The Golf Academy, a state of the art Practice and Tuition centre•Authentic Thai Spa, with Thai Therapists using Thai Products and techniques•A variety of innovative Dining Experiences with menus composed by Award winning Chef, Noel McMeel. Including: The Catalina Restaurant, The Blaney Bar with an Exclusive collection of 101 Irish Whiskies; The Loughside Bar & Grill, a variety of Afternoon Teas in The Garden Hall and The Halfway House located behind the 9th Green of The Faldo Championship Course•6 Conference & Meeting Rooms•Cygnets The 'BIG' Experience for our younger guests (0-11 years)•One of Ireland’s most romantic Wedding Venues. All this combined with warm, friendly and attentive service make Lough Erne Resort one of the world’s most magical destinations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Lough Erne Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lough Erne Hotel Enniskillen
Lough Erne Enniskillen
Lough Erne Resort Enniskillen, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing