We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best hotel in Northern Ireland!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lough Erne Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Lough Erne Resort
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Enniskillen
Certificate of Excellence
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
“Best hotel in Northern Ireland!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013

Not long back from a fantastic stay in one of the hotels lodges. Me & my husband spent our anniversary previously in the hotel & we've been back several times with friends & family. We have always found the staff to go above & beyond to make our stay as relaxing & luxurious as possible. Looking forward to my daughters surprise 30th birthday in November which we will be spending in one of the hotels villas! I know we will have another exceptional stay!!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hb5762
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
john0neill, Manager at Lough Erne Resort, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear Hb5762,
We are looking forward to your next visit, to celebrate your daughter's birthday in November.The self- catering villas are an excellent choice for families or groups,offering spacious accommodation at great value.Your kind comments regarding the staff are appreciated and great to read that you are a regular visitor to Lough Erne Resort.
Thank you for your support.
Kind regards
JOHN
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,391 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    891
    261
    131
    79
    29
See reviews for
286
667
16
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (334)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

the place oozes character the staff were so polite, the room was amazing with a fantastic view across the Lough, the food was top notch could not fault this lovely place, the bed was what dreams are made of !

Room Tip: I would make sure you ask for a room with a view it really is beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank graham m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
john0neill, Manager at Lough Erne Resort, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear graham m,
Your tip to upgrade to a Lakeview room is good advice ,with the views of Castle Hume Lough enhancing your stay.Thank you for your five star review and delighted to read that 'the bed was what dreams are made of'.
Kind regards
JOHN
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
104 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

I stayed here recently and had a fabulous weekend, from the moment we walked in the door to the time we checked out, the staff could not have been any more friendly, helpful and professional. The food was first class and served promptly, once the order was taken (45 mins). The Golf course was one of the best I have ever played with walks for the non golfers. Unfortunately the Thai spa therapy was booked out, so had to make do with the pool and steam room. The bedroom and bathroom were very big with large free standing bath, my problem here was the room was too hot at night (with the heat off) I managed to get the lock off the window the second night, but it was still too hot and also had to endure the music from the wedding and then the drunken guests heading back to their rooms at 3 am. I would certainly love to return to this well managed resort.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rocman2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
john0neill, Manager at Lough Erne Resort, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear Rocman 2,

Thank you for taking time to post such a positive review of your stay with us.Your comments regarding the 'friendly,helpful and professional staff' are well received.Unfortunately there is no air conditioning in the bedrooms,just the public areas of the hotel and apologies if your room was too hot.
The Thai Spa tends to be fully booked at weekends, so booking in advance is strongly advised.Great to read that the Faldo course is one the best you have ever played,it has recently been elevated to Golf World's Top 20 courses in Ireland.

We look forward to your next visit.
Kind regards
JOHN
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Level Contributor
235 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

It is a bit hard to believe that they had the G8 here. I sure hope that the service was better for those self important types attending.
So, first when we checked in it took them 1.5 hours to get our luggage to our room. Why? We don't know but the rest of the group had theirs within 15 minutes. We had to go to the lobby to demand that they find our luggage while they were insisting that all of the group's luggage had been delivered. I can only assume that they delivered it to the wrong room. Any apology? No.
Upon check out, I was getting dressed and was interrupted by someone coming to get my luggage. Pick up was supposed to be at 8:00 and they were there at 7:20. Apparently the guy who arranged the 8:00 was off that day and these folks seem not to communicate with each other.
The food was good, but these people have no idea how to make a martini in the clubhouse. Actually they do not do cocktails, so my husband asked for Bombay Sapphire chilled. They put it in a water glass. One half inch of gin in a water glass. Arrghhh!
The formal dining room had servers who were like automatons. They had memorized the proper words, emitted them properly and robotically. No affect or tone to their voices at all. And, the food all came willy nilly with the cocktails, wine, starter not done - entrée delivered. There never seemed to be enough staff at breakfast.
The grounds are fine, although the lack of landscaping results in a stark presentation, as if the place was plopped down in the middle of a moonscape. While the lake and walk around the lake and golf course was nice, the rest of the place is unappealing.
I am underwhelmed.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wandaMPa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
john0neill, Manager at Lough Erne Resort, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear wandaMPa,

We were very disappointed to read that you were underwhelmed with your recent stay at Lough Erne Resort. It's rare that we would receive such a review, particularly in relation to the grounds and location of the property. We also take note of your service issues and welcome your feedback.Tour Companies normally inform us of any problems throughout their stay and so I was somewhat surprised to read your comments.
Kind regards
JOHN
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

Fabulous golf course, lovely hotel and bedrooms. Staff were very friendly but not really professional for 5 star hotel.Staying for one night arrived and asked to book restaurant for dinner was told booked out would have to eat in Loughside Grill kept checking to see if we could get a booking eventually my husband asked them to ring the restaurant at 8pm and see if they could do anything and was told we could have a table for 9.15 but why could receptionists not have checked this. If I am staying in 5 star I want to eat in restaurant not grill. Food was excellent in restaurant once we got there. Breakfast was fine but not really 5 star. Good 4stars but needs to improve on aspects to make 5 stars.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jenen58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
john0neill, Manager at Lough Erne Resort, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Dear jenen58,
It is always advisable to reserve a table in the Catalina Restaurant in advance,particularly if you are staying over a weekend.This information is offered in you room confirmation.The Loughside Bar &Grill is an alternative venue when the Catalina Restaurant is fully booked.I was pleased to read that you did get a table and that 'the food was excellent'.
Apologies if you thought our staff were not five star in the way we handled this situation and thank you for your feedback.
Kind regards
JOHN
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013

Stopped here for a coffee only so can't comment on the accommodation but couldn't fault the service in the lounge/bar. We were treated with the utmost respect and generosity which made our coffee stop memorable. All the staff we spoke to were friendly and welcoming and we were encouraged to look around the grounds and hotel which we did and were very impressed. Hope to be back one day to stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank blundellsandscroft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
john0neill, Manager at Lough Erne Resort, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear blundellsandscroft,
Thank you for taking time to stop for a coffee break and delighted you enjoyed our surroundings.Traditional Afternoon Tea is a popular choice also, although booking is advisable.Please visit our website for accommodation offers, should you decide to return and stay the next time you are in the area.
Kind regards
JOHN
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a night with my girlfriend for my birthday. Very welcoming and friendly reception staff. The lake view room was excellent, the bathroom especially, real old school charm.

The spa is really good with a nice pool and not too crowded like other luxury hotels. Dinner was fantastic (part of the deal) and the chef even came out for a chat after; nice touch. The curry bread is amazing!

One minor negative; the tap water is horrible...firstly I thought it was the metallic jugs they use but I had a pint of it straight from the tap in the bar and it tastes like it has soil in it! Happily the staff provided us with bottled water free of charge for our room which was really appreciated.

We also had a Thai massage! Pricey but worth it....be warned expect some pain, I loved it though - and oil based one is a bit easier apparently. We're not golfers so can't comment on that, seemed to be plenty of them around.

Overall a great 24 hours and looking forward to the next visit. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Ribbler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
john0neill, Manager at Lough Erne Resort, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear Ribbler,
'Highly recommended' is a nice review to receive and is much appreciated.The Lakeview rooms offer stunning views of Castlehume Lough and are very well appointed.Thank you for taking time to experience a Thai massage in our Spa which boasts an authentic Thai experience delivered by our Thai therapists.
Apologies over the tap water and pleased that our staff responded accordingly.
Kind regards
JOHN
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Enniskillen
5.6 mi away
Killyhevlin Lakeside Hotel & Lodges
4.4 mi away
The Enniskillen Hotel
The Enniskillen Hotel
#6 of 7 in Enniskillen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 513 reviews
4.6 mi away
Westville Hotel
Westville Hotel
#2 of 7 in Enniskillen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 727 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.5 mi away
Slieve Russell Hotel Golf and Country Club
21.4 mi away
Corick House
Corick House
#1 of 1 in Clogher
4.0 of 5 bubbles 652 reviews
5.5 mi away
Mahon's Hotel
Mahon's Hotel
#1 of 1 in Irvinestown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lough Erne Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lough Erne Resort

Property: Lough Erne Resort
Address: 193 Lough Shore Road, Enniskillen BT93 7ED, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Fermanagh > Enniskillen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Enniskillen
#3 Family Hotel in Enniskillen
#4 Luxury Hotel in Enniskillen
#5 Romantic Hotel in Enniskillen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Lough Erne Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lough Erne Resort, Enniskillen, Co. Fermanagh, host venue to the G 8 Summit 2013 is the first AA and NITB Five Star Hotel in Northern Ireland and was awarded 'Best Hotel' at the 2011 Northern Ireland Tourism Awards. In 2010, it was awarded ‘Golf Resort of The Year’ by the Irish Golf Tour Operators Association. The Resort is the ultimate expression in old world heritage and new world luxury, set on its very own 600 acre peninsula, between Castle Hume Lough and Lower Lough Erne, just outside Enniskillen, with stunning panoramic views from almost every vantage point. This unique luxury Fermanagh hotel’s facilities include: •120 luxury Rooms and Suites•Two Championship Golf Courses including The Faldo Course, a Golf World & Golf Monthly Top 20 Course (UK & Ireland) and the Championship Castle Hume Course•Rory McIlroy has been its Touring Professional representing The Resort around the World•The Golf Academy, a state of the art Practice and Tuition centre•Authentic Thai Spa, with Thai Therapists using Thai Products and techniques•A variety of innovative Dining Experiences with menus composed by Award winning Chef, Noel McMeel. Including: The Catalina Restaurant, The Blaney Bar with an Exclusive collection of 101 Irish Whiskies; The Loughside Bar & Grill, a variety of Afternoon Teas in The Garden Hall and The Halfway House located behind the 9th Green of The Faldo Championship Course•6 Conference & Meeting Rooms•Cygnets The 'BIG' Experience for our younger guests (0-11 years)•One of Ireland’s most romantic Wedding Venues. All this combined with warm, friendly and attentive service make Lough Erne Resort one of the world’s most magical destinations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Lough Erne Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lough Erne Hotel Enniskillen
Lough Erne Enniskillen
Lough Erne Resort Enniskillen, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing