We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice meal”
Review of Lough Erne Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Lough Erne Resort
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Enniskillen
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
156 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Nice meal”
Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

Played golf and then had a meal in the clubhouse in one of he rooms upstairs. Staff were very helpful, foods was fantastic for great value for money, soup starter which was what we needed after playing in rain, pork main was very tasty followed by desert with coffee.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Peter T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
john0neill, Manager at Lough Erne Resort, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear Peter T,
Delighted to read your kind remarks regarding your recent visit for golf and dinner.Thank you for taking time to post your review.
Kind regards
JOHN
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,417 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    908
    265
    133
    82
    29
See reviews for
297
678
16
66
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (336)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 7, 2013

Firstly, I want to focus on the positives of the resort.... The location and complete resort is absolutely beautiful. If anybody is looking for a hotel that offers a high standard of quality, providing rest and relaxation, Lough Erne is the place to visit.

We were very eager to try out this resort and the experience it had to offer, so myself and my partner took this week off work to got to a few different hotels around Northern Ireland and travel around doing a list of tourist visits (Titanic Experience, Belfast / Bushmills, Giants Causway etc.) and for me, I was looking forward to the Lough Erne stay the most. For this reason, we opted to stay two nights in Lough Erne, to really appreciate the experience.

After an extremely long day of travelling around the coast and driving down to Fermanagh, we arrived at the hotel after 9pm on the Wednesday night. After getting something to eat in the room, I decided to have a shower before bed. Now, the room we were in was a wheelchair accessible room, which was kitted out without a bath for easy access for guests getting into the shower, who would have difficulty getting into a bath. This was perfectly fine for us and it was a very nice room.

After getting out of the shower and making my way across the room, I found that I was walking across a pretty much flooded bathroom. The water didn't drain away and just filled the bathroom in large puddles. With how late in the night it was, I decided not to highlight it until the following morning. Unfortunately, my partner couldn't use the bathroom shower and sink area until the following morning.

When I got up, some of the water had drained away but the room still had puddles of water on the floor. Being unable to comfortably use this room that we had paid a lot of money to enjoy, I highlighted the issue to the lady at reception and asked for us to be moved. She told me that she would send up somebody out of facilities to check the drainage. When the gentleman came in to working the room, we left him to work on it in privacy and we went for breakfast.... My partner still hadn't used the shower and sink area at this stage of the stay.

After breakfast and a nice walk around the golf course, I then went to the lady in reception to see if it had be resolved. She told me that "it must have been", as the gentleman from facilities hasn't reported bad news back to her. We went up, found that the room had been cleaned and the bathroom was clean and floor dry. My partner in a bad need to use the shower,proceeded to do so and she found that the large puddles started to form again. In our frustration, we placed towels on the floor around the edge of the shower, which helped to hold the water back.

There are two concerns which upset me most about this.... 1) we should have been moved straight away and 2) This type of issue was a serious safety concern. A bathroom which was kitted out to be very accessible for guests with and without disabilities, ended up being very dangerous.

We are not the sort of people to cause a lot of trouble at reception over these issues and we are very conscious of not affecting the stays of the other guests, sharing the hotel with us at the time and this is why we didn't push the issue. It was just very upsetting with the level of customer service around a concern like this. We had paid a lot of money for this stay and it was unfortunate that we had this experience.

We are not the sort of people you give one out of five ratings just because of this and that would have been unfair. We couldn't fault anything else and outside of this incident, any other staff we dealt with, couldn't do enough for us. Even the team in reception were extremely friendly to deal with, but I feel that some level of Manager should have looked at addressing this. I'm not looking for an apology etc, just that a better process is followed when dealing with guests that are spending their hard earned money on a stay that they should be enjoying. Things happen and it just can't be perfect every time..... What is important is how it is addressed and resolved. Please use this feedback. Thank you.

Regards,
K. Connolly

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Keith C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
john0neill, Manager at Lough Erne Resort, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear Keith C,
Your comments regarding the floor area of the accessible shower have been duly noted and your acknowledgement that our maintenance department did respond to your initial alert.Thank you for taking time to post your review which raised some valid points.I note that you enjoyed your stay with us and I hope the incident regarding the shower does not deter you from visting us in the future.
Kind regards
JOHN
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Ireland, Ireland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

We were staying in MacNean house & restaurant in Blacklion & decided to take a spin to Enniskillen, saw the sign for Lough Erne Resort & thought why not have a look. What an impressive place. It was around 3pm & we were beginning to get peckish so went into the bar & spoke to a very pleasant young waiter who explained our options. We decided to treat ourselves & had afternoon tea. (you should normally book ahead but we were just lucky)
Nuala was looking after us & had an excellent knowledge of the tea's. She extended her time to us on several occasions, a truly lovely lady.
We really enjoyed our experience there and will definately be back for a relaxing weekend break.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank CastleMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
john0neill, Manager at Lough Erne Resort, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear Majdave,
Thank you for taking time to visit the Resort whilst staying in the area.Delighted you enjoyed our 'Traditional Afternoon Tea' and Clare was also very appreciative of your kind comments.
kind regards
JOHN
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We got a voucher for two for afternoon tea as a gift from a friend for my wife's 30th birthday, so we went on a Sunday and brought her parents and brother. The location is great, the scale of the place is really impressive. When we arrived we were seated in a nice comfortable area with nice background music. There were about four other groups there as well, so there was a nice atmosphere. The girl in charge for us, Anna, was very good at explaining all the different teas etc and also giving us an insight into what it was like at the hotel when the G8 was on. The food was lovely and at the end, even though we hadn't told her, Anna brought us some melted chocolate, marshmallows and strawberries as an extra to mark my wife's birthday. It was a very nice touch and was a bit of the attention to detail that was missing from the afternoon tea we had in the Slieve Donard a couple of months ago.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brucegrimshaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
john0neill, Manager at Lough Erne Resort, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear brucegrimshaw,
Sunday afternoon is a great time to have 'Traditional Afternoon Tea' and tends to be a busy period at Lough Erne Resort ,so booking is always advisable.Please pass on our birthday congratulations to you wife and thanks for joining us to celebrate the occasion.It was a pleasure to acknowledge your wife's bithday with the chocolate dipped strawberries and it is something we like to do as long as we are made aware of the occasion.
Thank you for acknowledging this in your review.
Kind regards
JOHN
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Provence
Level Contributor
50 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Stayed two nights.
Guest greeting by staff well trained and pleasant but that is where the training stops.
Very poor service in Catalina restaurant and housekeeping catalyst for this review.
Maitre D exudes superficial professionalism in meeting and greeting but exercises zero oversight on poorly trained staff.
Wine not presented before opening and then asked may they pour before opportunity to taste, same for both white and red. Second night red Grand Cru vintage 2 years younger than listed on menu, When attention drawn to the change it was not even acknowledged or in fact understood by the server. We did not pursue because not servers fault " she didn't really understand " She took orders by bin number!! Staff only work in the system while it is management that must take responsibility for the System. Staff engage in long conversations with some guests while others await service from the same individuals. Desert and coffee order taken at same time but coffee presented long before deserts so coffee cold before consumption.
Quality and presentation of food excellent but exact same dinner menu both nights...Not even the vegetables changed....carrots both nights. So presumptuous to expect one or two different starters or mains!
Breakfast consists of both full service and buffet.
One server wearing same filthy apron from night before. We commented to each other on big stain at dinner and we could believe when we saw him wearing the same even more filthy apron next morning. Used dishes not removed from table on either morning. When asked to remove used dishes porridge bowl removed while two fruit bowls left behind which were sitting beside the porridge dish. 4 different staff walked past continuously and didn't even see the dishes they were so poorly trained. Both mornings at breakfast were exactly the same with some similar staff and some different. So the issue is not individual but systemic dearth of training.
We took two night cap drinks to bedroom and when we returned the following evening from day trip the dirty glasses were sitting in front of the television while the room had been made over.
Serious management issues not in keeping with 5 star rating. More akin to 3 star.
The G8 must have take their own catering staff with them!
Overall we enjoyed stay because we understood the reason for the poor service was not the individuals fault. We considered taking the matter up with the Maitre D but formed the view from what we had observed over the two days it would be futile. We come away feeling sorry for the staff.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fuinseog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
john0neill, Manager at Lough Erne Resort, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear fuinseogh,
I was disappointed to read that despite 'the quality and presentation of the food being excellent',
you clearly had service issues in the Catalina Restaurant and for this we apologise.Excellent service is something that we strive to achieve on a daily basis at Lough Erne Resort and the Catalina Restaurant is normally very good in this regard.However it appears that in your review, service was lacking in certain areas.
We have just recently been accredited our five star grading and are regularly assessed by an outside agency across all departments in the resort .
Thank you for taking time to post your observations which have been acted upon.
Kind regards
JOHN
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2013

We have stayed at the Lough Erne Golf Resort sixteen times since it opened. I can honestly say that we have never been disappointed with any of the the rooms and we have stayed in suites lake view and courtyard and found that they were all lovley. The food is outstanding and the staff are so friendly and helpful. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who has good taste and appreciates the finer things in life.

Room Tip: dove cote suite is my favourite
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank buzz2447
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
john0neill, Manager at Lough Erne Resort, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear buzz2447,

It was wonderful to read you have stayed with us sixteen times and the 'best hotel in northern ireland' is a great compliment to receive.The Dovecote Suite is truly a beautiful room and is my favourite as well.
Thank you for taking time to post your review and we look forward to number 17, please let me know of your next visit.
kind regards
JOHN
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed August 31, 2013

This hotel is set in a beautiful spot just outside the town.
During our stay the staff were absolutely fantastic, Michelle at reception was very welcoming and friendly, as were the breakfast staff.
However, in our room the view wasn't great, the furniture was very dusty and there were a few marks on the pillow case which wasn't great considering it cost us £160 for the night!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SED95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
john0neill, Manager at Lough Erne Resort, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear SED95,

I was disappointed to read you had a few issues regarding your room and I have passed these on to our housekeeping department. Michelle from reception , was delighted to have been mentioned in your review and thank you for your kind remarks regarding our location.
kind regards
JOHN
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Enniskillen
5.6 mi away
Killyhevlin Lakeside Hotel & Lodges
4.4 mi away
The Enniskillen Hotel
The Enniskillen Hotel
#6 of 7 in Enniskillen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 538 reviews
4.7 mi away
Westville Hotel
Westville Hotel
#2 of 7 in Enniskillen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.5 mi away
Slieve Russell Hotel Golf and Country Club
21.5 mi away
Corick House
Corick House
#1 of 1 in Clogher
4.0 of 5 bubbles 671 reviews
14.9 mi away
Knockninny Country House & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lough Erne Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lough Erne Resort

Property: Lough Erne Resort
Address: 193 Lough Shore Road, Enniskillen BT93 7ED, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Fermanagh > Enniskillen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Enniskillen
#3 Family Hotel in Enniskillen
#5 Romantic Hotel in Enniskillen
#5 Luxury Hotel in Enniskillen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Lough Erne Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lough Erne Resort, Enniskillen, Co. Fermanagh, host venue to the G 8 Summit 2013 is the first AA and NITB Five Star Hotel in Northern Ireland and was awarded 'Best Hotel' at the 2011 Northern Ireland Tourism Awards. In 2010, it was awarded ‘Golf Resort of The Year’ by the Irish Golf Tour Operators Association. The Resort is the ultimate expression in old world heritage and new world luxury, set on its very own 600 acre peninsula, between Castle Hume Lough and Lower Lough Erne, just outside Enniskillen, with stunning panoramic views from almost every vantage point. This unique luxury Fermanagh hotel’s facilities include: •120 luxury Rooms and Suites•Two Championship Golf Courses including The Faldo Course, a Golf World & Golf Monthly Top 20 Course (UK & Ireland) and the Championship Castle Hume Course•Rory McIlroy has been its Touring Professional representing The Resort around the World•The Golf Academy, a state of the art Practice and Tuition centre•Authentic Thai Spa, with Thai Therapists using Thai Products and techniques•A variety of innovative Dining Experiences with menus composed by Award winning Chef, Noel McMeel. Including: The Catalina Restaurant, The Blaney Bar with an Exclusive collection of 101 Irish Whiskies; The Loughside Bar & Grill, a variety of Afternoon Teas in The Garden Hall and The Halfway House located behind the 9th Green of The Faldo Championship Course•6 Conference & Meeting Rooms•Cygnets The 'BIG' Experience for our younger guests (0-11 years)•One of Ireland’s most romantic Wedding Venues. All this combined with warm, friendly and attentive service make Lough Erne Resort one of the world’s most magical destinations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Preferred Hotels, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Lough Erne Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lough Erne Hotel Enniskillen
Lough Erne Enniskillen
Lough Erne Resort Enniskillen, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing