We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely spot”
Review of Lough Erne Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Lough Erne Resort
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Enniskillen
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Lovely spot”
Reviewed August 31, 2013

This hotel is set in a beautiful spot just outside the town.
During our stay the staff were absolutely fantastic, Michelle at reception was very welcoming and friendly, as were the breakfast staff.
However, in our room the view wasn't great, the furniture was very dusty and there were a few marks on the pillow case which wasn't great considering it cost us £160 for the night!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SED95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
john0neill, Manager at Lough Erne Resort, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear SED95,

I was disappointed to read you had a few issues regarding your room and I have passed these on to our housekeeping department. Michelle from reception , was delighted to have been mentioned in your review and thank you for your kind remarks regarding our location.
kind regards
JOHN
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,451 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    934
    270
    135
    83
    29
See reviews for
309
694
16
67
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (338)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2013

We called in to Lough Erne on our way back from Donegal and had afternoon tea. It was delicious and a truly delightful experience. Nuala, the lady in charge gave a superb explanation on the different teas available and had samples for us to smell before we decided what tea we would like.
The food and ambiance was just what we needed and uplifted the spirits. Cant wait to go back to stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pmg8686
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
john0neill, Manager at Lough Erne Resort, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear pmg8686,

Our traditional afternoon tea is as popular as ever and Nuala does a fantastic job in the Garden Hall with our guests.The chocolate afternoon tea is of course a favourite with the kids and pink afternoon tea is ideal when celebrating a special occasion.Gift vouchers are available for all three.
Glad you enjoyed the experience !
Kind regards
JOHN
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed August 24, 2013

I am just back from my stay at lough erne for my birthday I have to say what an amazing experience my partner and myself had... the staff were brilliant and so so helpful.. the food was so gorgeous and the rooms were amazing. I had such a relaxing time and will be back again asap.. however my only badthing I would have to say is that the hotel does not cater very well for smokers. As we all know that you have to smoke outside which im more than happy with but there was nonowhere really to smoke and it left me feeling very awkward when I was having a smoke as I had to go for a walk to do so. Even when I was in the bar and ask for an ashtray to go outside for a smoke I was given a saucer.. which made ne feel even more awkward. . I dnt smoke much but when im away I like to have a few.. dnt let this put you of as I will b going again I just thought I would raise it just to warn smokers ...

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank belfastmariag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
john0neill, Manager at Lough Erne Resort, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear belfastmaraig,

Happy Birthday and thank you for choosing Lough Erne Resort to celebrate your special occasion.Your comments regarding the provision of dedicated smoking areas are very valid and it is something we are considering.
Glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you back soon.
kind regards
JOHN
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2013

We recently stayed at this hotel as a special treat, and were generally very pleased with our experience. If I really had to pick out any negatives they would be the size of our lakeview room and the lack of any air conditioning. In ALL other respects we found this break very pleasant and relaxing. Staff were all extremely polite and helpful and generally could not do enough for us. By far our best experience was dinner in the Catalina Restaurant. That was a genuinely unforgettable occasion. The food and service were unsurpassed in our experience.

I e-mailed the hotel to thank them for a very pleasant stay, and am a little disappointed that I did not even receive a simple acknowledgment, which I feel is bad business. I have had the same experience with other hotels in the area. However this does not take away from the fact that we thoroughly enjoyed our stay, and we will not let this put us off staying there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shalis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
john0neill, Manager at Lough Erne Resort, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear Shalis,
I hope the lack of air conditioning in your room did not detract too much from your stay.We have air conditioning in our public areas and the recent spell of good weather over the summer months, necessiated fans being provided for guest rooms. May I also apologise for your e-mail not being responded to ,particularly when you took time to pass on your kind comments regarding the Catalina Restaurant and the staff.
I was delighted to read it's your intention to visit us again and we look forward to that.Please advise of us of your dates so we can enhance your stay in some way.
kind regards
JOHN
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Stayed in Lough Erne recently and wow, what a treat! From the genuinely friendly welcome and impeccable service to the beautifully appointed rooms, it was a pleasure from the start of our stay to the moment we checked out. We stayed in the lodges on the grounds of the hotel and they were like a haven of tranquility. The hotel staff were welcoming and helpful in recommending local restaurants and attractions to us. The bar and restaurant staff were also professional and very courteous and always took the time to stop and chat when they were delivering drinks and food.

Although slightly pricey to stay here, I can't wait to return!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank themetunegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
john0neill, Manager at Lough Erne Resort, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear themetunegirl,
The Loughside Lodges that you mention so favourably, have become very popular with guests ,as they offer the same luxury as the hotel rooms but are more spacious and have a well appointed living room with a kitchenette.We have also added some self- catering villas to our stock,which are available for weekend and weekly lets.
Thank you for your kind comments regarding our staff who are a tremendous asset for the Resort.
Kind regards
JOHN
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, Northern Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Great nights sleep, incredibly peaceful but lacks the amenities and facilities of a true 5 star resort. It s a pity the hotel didn't make use of its recent pool refurb to really make something of it but although clean and pleasant it does lack something. Hotel staff couldn't do more for you although our breakfast experience wasn't great-no menu or tea or coffee was offered!! Toilet seat in room was chipped and surprisingly no air conditioning built into the room. We visited the Farnham Estate in Cavan after and the Lough Erne could learn a few things from their amenities. All in all though, a lovely stay!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debs85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
john0neill, Manager at Lough Erne Resort, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear Debs 85,

Glad to read you had a'lovely stay' despite some issues regarding the refurbishment of the Thai Spa.Unfortunately it just wasn't possible to increase the size of the Spa although we certainly would have liked to.
Your comments regarding breakfast have been passed on to our food and beverage department.
Thank you for your observations which were valid.
kind regards
JOHN
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland.
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2013

A return visit to this fantastic Hotel. Check in was a little slow with a minor complication, but once this was sorted out, everything was good.
The staff really make the Hotel, nothing was trouble to them, polite, friendly and helpful.
The food in the Restaurant was outstanding, and Noel the Head Chef came around the tables to make sure everyone was happy with the service and the quality of food.
Breakfasts were excellent too - the Hotel was busy but not fussy - which speaks for itself.
The Pool was excellent too with a Sauna and Steam Room - the view from anywhere in the Hotel is super. Looking forward to our return visit.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
john0neill, Manager at Lough Erne Resort, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dera Charlois,
Delighted that you decided to visit us again at Lough Erne Resort and indeed that you are coming back !! Noel our Executive Head Chef loves to get out on the floor at the end of service to meet the guests and it is always well received.
Thank you for posting your review.
Kind regards
JOHN
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Enniskillen
4.4 mi away
The Enniskillen Hotel
The Enniskillen Hotel
#6 of 7 in Enniskillen
554 reviews
4.7 mi away
Westville Hotel
Westville Hotel
#3 of 7 in Enniskillen
770 reviews
21.5 mi away
Slieve Russell Hotel Golf and Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Mahon's Hotel
Mahon's Hotel
#1 of 1 in Irvinestown
315 reviews
15.3 mi away
The Valley Hotel
The Valley Hotel
#1 of 1 in Fivemiletown
470 reviews
4.7 mi away
Belmore Court Motel
Belmore Court Motel
#2 of 7 in Enniskillen
1,848 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lough Erne Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lough Erne Resort

Property: Lough Erne Resort
Address: 193 Lough Shore Road, Enniskillen BT93 7ED, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Fermanagh > Enniskillen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Enniskillen
#3 Family Hotel in Enniskillen
#5 Luxury Hotel in Enniskillen
#5 Romantic Hotel in Enniskillen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Lough Erne Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lough Erne Resort, Enniskillen, Co. Fermanagh, host venue to the G 8 Summit 2013 is the first AA and NITB Five Star Hotel in Northern Ireland and was awarded 'Best Hotel' at the 2011 Northern Ireland Tourism Awards. In 2010, it was awarded ‘Golf Resort of The Year’ by the Irish Golf Tour Operators Association. The Resort is the ultimate expression in old world heritage and new world luxury, set on its very own 600 acre peninsula, between Castle Hume Lough and Lower Lough Erne, just outside Enniskillen, with stunning panoramic views from almost every vantage point. This unique luxury Fermanagh hotel’s facilities include: •120 luxury Rooms and Suites•Two Championship Golf Courses including The Faldo Course, a Golf World & Golf Monthly Top 20 Course (UK & Ireland) and the Championship Castle Hume Course•Rory McIlroy has been its Touring Professional representing The Resort around the World•The Golf Academy, a state of the art Practice and Tuition centre•Authentic Thai Spa, with Thai Therapists using Thai Products and techniques•A variety of innovative Dining Experiences with menus composed by Award winning Chef, Noel McMeel. Including: The Catalina Restaurant, The Blaney Bar with an Exclusive collection of 101 Irish Whiskies; The Loughside Bar & Grill, a variety of Afternoon Teas in The Garden Hall and The Halfway House located behind the 9th Green of The Faldo Championship Course•6 Conference & Meeting Rooms•Cygnets The 'BIG' Experience for our younger guests (0-11 years)•One of Ireland’s most romantic Wedding Venues. All this combined with warm, friendly and attentive service make Lough Erne Resort one of the world’s most magical destinations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Preferred Hotels, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Lough Erne Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lough Erne Hotel Enniskillen
Lough Erne Enniskillen
Lough Erne Resort Enniskillen, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing