We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely fabulous!!!!”
Review of Lough Erne Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Lough Erne Resort
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Enniskillen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Just got back from an overnight stay to celebrate our wedding anniversary having married at the hotel last year. I was overwhelmed throughout our wedding festivities by the best customer service I had ever experienced and when we returned I was not disappointed. The hotel is amazing and the staff are so helpful, nothing is too much trouble. We had dinner last night at the Catalina Restaurant and the food was exceptional, topped off with a complimentary plate of hand made chocolates with Happy anniversary written on the plate in chocolate, a lovely personal touch.

Thank you again Lough Erne Resort!!

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the Lough
Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank gilljonNIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LoughErneResort, General Manager at Lough Erne Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2012

Dear "gilljohNIreland"

Congratulations on your first anniversary, and it was lovely to have you back with us.

You do wonder where the time goes, in that it has been a year since you got married here with us. We are delighted that you enjoyed your first trip back to us, and hopefully it will not be the last.

Thank you for your very kind words, which I have shared with all the team here.

Kind regards

Ferghal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,489)
There are newer reviews for Lough Erne Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,130 - 1,136 of 1,489 reviews

Reviewed November 5, 2012

I have recently returned from a two night break with my family in Lough Erne Resort. And sadly I have left feeling short changed. This is certainly not a 5 star resort although the bar/restaurant prices do reflect a 5 star establishment without the expected level of service.

POSITIVES:
- Welcome from concierge very friendly
- Breakfast was lovely
- Rooms tidy

Negatives:
- Decor not five star
- Waiter service lacking (eg: no cutlery when deserts arrived. Not what you expect in 5 star hotel)
- Front door/reception area no wow factor
- general atmosphere not good

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank motherduckling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LoughErneResort, General Manager at Lough Erne Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2012

Dear "Motherduckling"

Thank you for staying with us at Lough Erne recently.

Decor is always in the eye of the beholder, and what appeals to one guest, displeases or disappoints the other. A great many of our guests do appreciate the old world feeling of the property, with the warmth of the decor and the open fires. This in itself can either add or detract from your impression of the atmosphere.

No excuse regarding the absence of the cutlery when the dessert was served, my sincere apologies for that.

Yours sincerely

Ferghal Purcell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

Having heard lots about the Lough Erne Resort, my partner & I decided to stay a night there to experience some luxury. On arrival we were greeted by the pleasant reception staff & made our way to our room on the first floor. The rooms are quite nice, but like the hotel, quite dated with mahogany furniture etc. the bathroom had a lovely roll top bath but large cracks running across the tiles of the bathroom floor spoiled the effect. Dinner in the restaurant was a pleasant enough experience, with good service, but the quality of the food was definitely not that attributed to a hotel with a 5 star status. The beef was tough... Veg was few and far between.... The complimentary soup at the start of the meal was cold. All in all, not a 5 star experience. Breakfast was adequate. Good selection of meats & fruit & a menu of various cooked options. Having chose the full Irish option I was really looking forward to a hearty breakfast after the disappointments of dinner. The Full Irish had no soda bread & the potato bread was a small triangle in the plate. Beans were served on a side dish ... Congealed to the dish ... And mushrooms were missing which were supposedly with the breakfast. Surely, toast was simple enough??? No... Unfortunately not... Burnt & cold. All in all... We left deflated, having expected a 5 star experience, hanging received at best a fair 4 star one, but with a large 5 star bill. Do yourself a favour....try Galgorm Manor, try the Merchant Hotel in Belfast. I for one won't be in any rush back !!

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Armaghlad32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LoughErneResort, General Manager at Lough Erne Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2012

Dear "Armaghlad32"

Thank you for your recent posting and the comments contained therein. Naturally, I was disappointed to note the contents and indeed some vey valid issues, and will address these with the key departmental heads responsible.

I am terrible sorry that these detracted from the overall enjoyment of your stay.

Yours sincerely

Ferghal Purcell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Great setting, lovely welcome, lounge area a treat..... but food in bar and Catalina restaurant not close to 5 star rating. Bar food over priced and luke warm. Couldn't eat the main course. Chef very apologetic but not happy with minimal compensation. Don't book a courtyard room unless happy with early morning wake up call of lorries backing out of parking bay!

Room Tip: Avoid rooms situated over rear parking bay
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kirky24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LoughErneResort, General Manager at Lough Erne Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2012

Dear "Kirky24"

I was disappointed to read your recent review, and indeed have spoken personally to the Executive Chef, Noel McMeel, regarding your main course in the Blaney Bar area. The Chef was very much aware of the issue and is at a loss as to the problem with the main course, but we accept that everyone has their tastes and opinions.

Thank you however, for having stayed with us, and I am sorry that you were unfortunate to have a Courtyard room overlooking the delivery area.

Yours sincerely

Ferghal Purcell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012

We came from Westchester county, NY to attend the most spectacular affair the accommodations, the food, the scenery were excellent. The staff provided every comfort needed.The room is quiet the service excellent. The wedding was so well done just excellent in every aspect.

Room Tip: We had a lake view The room was lovely and quiet
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CeilM41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LoughErneResort, General Manager at Lough Erne Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2012

Dear "CeilM41"

Having travelled so far, sometimes our expectations do not always deliver. I am delighted that however in this case that we did on these, and that you trip and experience were so worthwhile.

Thank you for taking the time to post your very kind words, and I do hope that the remainder of your stay in Northern Ireland was as enjoyable as your time here with us at Lough Erne.

With kind regards

Ferghal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

Fabulous stay for two nights.Beautiful surroundings,excellent food (and drink!).The perfect place to unwind enhanced by the Spa and walk around the golf course, even a non golfer would be impressed.Something here for everyone.A 5 star plus ! weekend.

Room Tip: Room 216 Loughside view with easy access to Spa.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TRIPLEGGG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LoughErneResort, General Manager at Lough Erne Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2012

Dear "TRIPLEEGG"

One of these days I am going to ask our guests where they get their names from, I am sure there must be an omelette in there somewhere.

You are extremely gracious in respect of your review, and we are delighted that you enjoyed your two days with us.

Thank you for taking the time to post these thoughts and experiences, and I do hope that we have the opportunity of welcoming you back at some stage in the near future.

With kind regards

Ferghal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

I recently had the pleasure of a two night break at this fantastic resort. It's setting is spectacular alongside Lough Erne offering wonderful views from its lounges and restaurants. Also attached is the fabulous 'Faldo' golf course which I had the opportunity to play twice, and having played all over the world I can honestly say this course it among the best, both in terms of setting and, because of the many varied tee positions, difficulty rating. The hotel staff are very attentive and friendly and the place was exceptionally clean and tastefully decorated throughout. The food was very good particularly in the main restaurant but the golf clubhouse was also very nice. Even though we did have rain when we visited, this did not dampen our enthusiasm of this lovely place.

Room Tip: A room overlooking the golf course and lake is a must.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keith C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LoughErneResort, General Manager at Lough Erne Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2012

Dear "Keith C"

Thank you very much for your kind words, and the time taken to post your positive experiences here at Lough Erne.

As a golfer, it is rewarding to hear your comments, and having done a lot of work on the course in the last year, it is great to see it all come to fruition. I have passed on your compliments to the whole team and in particular the kitchen brigade, for we all know that an army marches on its stomach.

Thank you once again and I hope that we have the opportunity of welcoming you back at some stage in the future.

With kind regards

Ferghal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Enniskillen
5.6 mi away
Killyhevlin Lakeside Hotel & Lodges
4.7 mi away
Westville Hotel
Westville Hotel
#2 of 7 in Enniskillen
785 reviews
4.4 mi away
The Enniskillen Hotel
The Enniskillen Hotel
#6 of 7 in Enniskillen
566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.5 mi away
Slieve Russell Hotel Golf and Country Club
5.6 mi away
Mahon's Hotel
Mahon's Hotel
#1 of 1 in Irvinestown
325 reviews
14.9 mi away
Knockninny Country House & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lough Erne Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lough Erne Resort

Address: 193 Lough Shore Road, Enniskillen BT93 7ED, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Fermanagh > Enniskillen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Enniskillen
#3 Family Hotel in Enniskillen
#5 Luxury Hotel in Enniskillen
#5 Romantic Hotel in Enniskillen
Price Range: $144 - $507 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Lough Erne Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lough Erne Resort, Enniskillen, Co. Fermanagh, host venue to the G 8 Summit 2013 is the first AA and NITB Five Star Hotel in Northern Ireland and was awarded 'Best Hotel' at the 2011 Northern Ireland Tourism Awards. In 2010, it was awarded ‘Golf Resort of The Year’ by the Irish Golf Tour Operators Association. The Resort is the ultimate expression in old world heritage and new world luxury, set on its very own 600 acre peninsula, between Castle Hume Lough and Lower Lough Erne, just outside Enniskillen, with stunning panoramic views from almost every vantage point. This unique luxury Fermanagh hotel’s facilities include: •120 luxury Rooms and Suites•Two Championship Golf Courses including The Faldo Course, a Golf World & Golf Monthly Top 20 Course (UK & Ireland) and the Championship Castle Hume Course•Rory McIlroy has been its Touring Professional representing The Resort around the World•The Golf Academy, a state of the art Practice and Tuition centre•Authentic Thai Spa, with Thai Therapists using Thai Products and techniques•A variety of innovative Dining Experiences with menus composed by Award winning Chef, Noel McMeel. Including: The Catalina Restaurant, The Blaney Bar with an Exclusive collection of 101 Irish Whiskies; The Loughside Bar & Grill, a variety of Afternoon Teas in The Garden Hall and The Halfway House located behind the 9th Green of The Faldo Championship Course•6 Conference & Meeting Rooms•Cygnets The 'BIG' Experience for our younger guests (0-11 years)•One of Ireland’s most romantic Wedding Venues. All this combined with warm, friendly and attentive service make Lough Erne Resort one of the world’s most magical destinations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Lough Erne Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lough Erne Hotel Enniskillen
Lough Erne Enniskillen
Lough Erne Resort Enniskillen, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing