We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing happened - just left disappointed :(”
Review of Lough Erne Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Lough Erne Resort
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Enniskillen
Certificate of Excellence
Newry, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Nothing happened - just left disappointed :(”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

I have recently returned from a two night break with my family in Lough Erne Resort. And sadly I have left feeling short changed. This is certainly not a 5 star resort although the bar/restaurant prices do reflect a 5 star establishment without the expected level of service.

POSITIVES:
- Welcome from concierge very friendly
- Breakfast was lovely
- Rooms tidy

Negatives:
- Decor not five star
- Waiter service lacking (eg: no cutlery when deserts arrived. Not what you expect in 5 star hotel)
- Front door/reception area no wow factor
- general atmosphere not good

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank motherduckling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LoughErneResort, General Manager at Lough Erne Resort, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear "Motherduckling"

Thank you for staying with us at Lough Erne recently.

Decor is always in the eye of the beholder, and what appeals to one guest, displeases or disappoints the other. A great many of our guests do appreciate the old world feeling of the property, with the warmth of the decor and the open fires. This in itself can either add or detract from your impression of the atmosphere.

No excuse regarding the absence of the cutlery when the dessert was served, my sincere apologies for that.

Yours sincerely

Ferghal Purcell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,470 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    948
    271
    138
    83
    30
See reviews for
314
702
16
67
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (341)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

Having heard lots about the Lough Erne Resort, my partner & I decided to stay a night there to experience some luxury. On arrival we were greeted by the pleasant reception staff & made our way to our room on the first floor. The rooms are quite nice, but like the hotel, quite dated with mahogany furniture etc. the bathroom had a lovely roll top bath but large cracks running across the tiles of the bathroom floor spoiled the effect. Dinner in the restaurant was a pleasant enough experience, with good service, but the quality of the food was definitely not that attributed to a hotel with a 5 star status. The beef was tough... Veg was few and far between.... The complimentary soup at the start of the meal was cold. All in all, not a 5 star experience. Breakfast was adequate. Good selection of meats & fruit & a menu of various cooked options. Having chose the full Irish option I was really looking forward to a hearty breakfast after the disappointments of dinner. The Full Irish had no soda bread & the potato bread was a small triangle in the plate. Beans were served on a side dish ... Congealed to the dish ... And mushrooms were missing which were supposedly with the breakfast. Surely, toast was simple enough??? No... Unfortunately not... Burnt & cold. All in all... We left deflated, having expected a 5 star experience, hanging received at best a fair 4 star one, but with a large 5 star bill. Do yourself a favour....try Galgorm Manor, try the Merchant Hotel in Belfast. I for one won't be in any rush back !!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Armaghlad32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LoughErneResort, General Manager at Lough Erne Resort, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Dear "Armaghlad32"

Thank you for your recent posting and the comments contained therein. Naturally, I was disappointed to note the contents and indeed some vey valid issues, and will address these with the key departmental heads responsible.

I am terrible sorry that these detracted from the overall enjoyment of your stay.

Yours sincerely

Ferghal Purcell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Great setting, lovely welcome, lounge area a treat..... but food in bar and Catalina restaurant not close to 5 star rating. Bar food over priced and luke warm. Couldn't eat the main course. Chef very apologetic but not happy with minimal compensation. Don't book a courtyard room unless happy with early morning wake up call of lorries backing out of parking bay!

Room Tip: Avoid rooms situated over rear parking bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kirky24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LoughErneResort, General Manager at Lough Erne Resort, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Dear "Kirky24"

I was disappointed to read your recent review, and indeed have spoken personally to the Executive Chef, Noel McMeel, regarding your main course in the Blaney Bar area. The Chef was very much aware of the issue and is at a loss as to the problem with the main course, but we accept that everyone has their tastes and opinions.

Thank you however, for having stayed with us, and I am sorry that you were unfortunate to have a Courtyard room overlooking the delivery area.

Yours sincerely

Ferghal Purcell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marco Island, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 1, 2012

We came from Westchester county, NY to attend the most spectacular affair the accommodations, the food, the scenery were excellent. The staff provided every comfort needed.The room is quiet the service excellent. The wedding was so well done just excellent in every aspect.

Room Tip: We had a lake view The room was lovely and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CeilM41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LoughErneResort, General Manager at Lough Erne Resort, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Dear "CeilM41"

Having travelled so far, sometimes our expectations do not always deliver. I am delighted that however in this case that we did on these, and that you trip and experience were so worthwhile.

Thank you for taking the time to post your very kind words, and I do hope that the remainder of your stay in Northern Ireland was as enjoyable as your time here with us at Lough Erne.

With kind regards

Ferghal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2012

Fabulous stay for two nights.Beautiful surroundings,excellent food (and drink!).The perfect place to unwind enhanced by the Spa and walk around the golf course, even a non golfer would be impressed.Something here for everyone.A 5 star plus ! weekend.

Room Tip: Room 216 Loughside view with easy access to Spa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TRIPLEGGG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LoughErneResort, General Manager at Lough Erne Resort, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Dear "TRIPLEEGG"

One of these days I am going to ask our guests where they get their names from, I am sure there must be an omelette in there somewhere.

You are extremely gracious in respect of your review, and we are delighted that you enjoyed your two days with us.

Thank you for taking the time to post these thoughts and experiences, and I do hope that we have the opportunity of welcoming you back at some stage in the near future.

With kind regards

Ferghal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
248 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012

I recently had the pleasure of a two night break at this fantastic resort. It's setting is spectacular alongside Lough Erne offering wonderful views from its lounges and restaurants. Also attached is the fabulous 'Faldo' golf course which I had the opportunity to play twice, and having played all over the world I can honestly say this course it among the best, both in terms of setting and, because of the many varied tee positions, difficulty rating. The hotel staff are very attentive and friendly and the place was exceptionally clean and tastefully decorated throughout. The food was very good particularly in the main restaurant but the golf clubhouse was also very nice. Even though we did have rain when we visited, this did not dampen our enthusiasm of this lovely place.

Room Tip: A room overlooking the golf course and lake is a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LoughErneResort, General Manager at Lough Erne Resort, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Dear "Keith C"

Thank you very much for your kind words, and the time taken to post your positive experiences here at Lough Erne.

As a golfer, it is rewarding to hear your comments, and having done a lot of work on the course in the last year, it is great to see it all come to fruition. I have passed on your compliments to the whole team and in particular the kitchen brigade, for we all know that an army marches on its stomach.

Thank you once again and I hope that we have the opportunity of welcoming you back at some stage in the future.

With kind regards

Ferghal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belfast
Level 6 Contributor
84 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

We stayed here for a saturday night in October. The hotel is up a long driveway and surrounded by lodges and the golf course. We were checked in immediately by very efficient and friendly staff and given information about breakfast times etc. Our room(218) on the second floor was enormous, much bigger than a standard hotel double room. We had booked a courtyard view but actually had a lake and golf course view off to the side which was lovely. the room was nicely furnished with the most comfortable bed ever. Mini bar however was just a fridge but ok as we didnt use it. Television had lots of channels including sky sports 1, 2 and 3. The bathroom had a shower and beautiful claw bath. Everywhere was spotlessly clean and so comfortable. the room is situated right at the door down to the pool and jacuzzi which meant we were able to change into the robe and slippers provided and go down the back stairs rather than walking through the hotel. It was warm and quiet during the night, with heavy tapestry curtains to keep out any light. We dined in the Loughview bar and Grill, we had pre-booked luckily as it was really busy. It is outside the hotel, about a 2 minute walk. The lighting is not very good around it which was our only issue. The food was delicious and served quickly and pleasantly. They do add service charge onto your bill, not everyone likes this. We would have tipped anyway but prefer to give it to the waiter who actually serves us. The main hotel has open fires throughout and has a really cosy atmosphere. The doorman was very friendly and helpful and gave us a map of a walk alongside the golfcourse. Elaine in reception was also very good. The pool, sauna and jacuzzi area is spotlessly clean and very enjoyable. The changing rooms were well equipped and towels provided, also lockers. The only downside to our stay was the lack of entertainment in the bar or anywhere in the hotel. The bar is very nice but some music or a singer would have been a nice touch. Breakfast was also really enjoyable, the service was efficient and the food cooked beautifully, even the sausages which previous reviewers have commented on as being anaemic. They were nicely browned and very tasty! We will definitely go back here, and request room 218!

Room Tip: Room 218 is a larger courtyard double room and is directly beside the stairs leading to the pool so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelmumBelfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LoughErneResort, General Manager at Lough Erne Resort, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Dear "travelmumBelfast"

We will undoubtedly have to get you back for longer the next time. You are entirely correct, one night is never enough, but at least you did get the opportunity to spend it with us here at Lough Erne.

Thank you for taking the time to post such a rewarding and positive review and indeed for the detail therein. I have passed on all of your comments to the staff, and delighted you noticed my efforts on the sausages.

Thank you once again, and I look forward to welcoming you back at some stage in the future.

With kind regards

Ferghal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Enniskillen
5.6 mi away
Killyhevlin Lakeside Hotel & Lodges
4.4 mi away
The Enniskillen Hotel
The Enniskillen Hotel
#6 of 7 in Enniskillen
558 reviews
21.5 mi away
Slieve Russell Hotel Golf and Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Mahon's Hotel
Mahon's Hotel
#1 of 1 in Irvinestown
318 reviews
15.3 mi away
The Valley Hotel
The Valley Hotel
#1 of 1 in Fivemiletown
472 reviews
4.7 mi away
Belmore Court Motel
Belmore Court Motel
#1 of 7 in Enniskillen
1,867 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lough Erne Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lough Erne Resort

Property: Lough Erne Resort
Address: 193 Lough Shore Road, Enniskillen BT93 7ED, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Fermanagh > Enniskillen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Enniskillen
#3 Family Hotel in Enniskillen
#5 Romantic Hotel in Enniskillen
#5 Luxury Hotel in Enniskillen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Lough Erne Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lough Erne Resort, Enniskillen, Co. Fermanagh, host venue to the G 8 Summit 2013 is the first AA and NITB Five Star Hotel in Northern Ireland and was awarded 'Best Hotel' at the 2011 Northern Ireland Tourism Awards. In 2010, it was awarded ‘Golf Resort of The Year’ by the Irish Golf Tour Operators Association. The Resort is the ultimate expression in old world heritage and new world luxury, set on its very own 600 acre peninsula, between Castle Hume Lough and Lower Lough Erne, just outside Enniskillen, with stunning panoramic views from almost every vantage point. This unique luxury Fermanagh hotel’s facilities include: •120 luxury Rooms and Suites•Two Championship Golf Courses including The Faldo Course, a Golf World & Golf Monthly Top 20 Course (UK & Ireland) and the Championship Castle Hume Course•Rory McIlroy has been its Touring Professional representing The Resort around the World•The Golf Academy, a state of the art Practice and Tuition centre•Authentic Thai Spa, with Thai Therapists using Thai Products and techniques•A variety of innovative Dining Experiences with menus composed by Award winning Chef, Noel McMeel. Including: The Catalina Restaurant, The Blaney Bar with an Exclusive collection of 101 Irish Whiskies; The Loughside Bar & Grill, a variety of Afternoon Teas in The Garden Hall and The Halfway House located behind the 9th Green of The Faldo Championship Course•6 Conference & Meeting Rooms•Cygnets The 'BIG' Experience for our younger guests (0-11 years)•One of Ireland’s most romantic Wedding Venues. All this combined with warm, friendly and attentive service make Lough Erne Resort one of the world’s most magical destinations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Hotwire, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Lough Erne Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lough Erne Hotel Enniskillen
Lough Erne Enniskillen
Lough Erne Resort Enniskillen, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing