We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A weekend of relaxing”
Review of Lough Erne Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Lough Erne Resort
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Enniskillen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 24, 2011

This was our third trip to the resort, and , as with the other two, was exellent. In fact, having been allocated a Lough view building on its own (no. 19 room 2) at the very front of the complex overlooking the lough, this trip was the best so far. Only complaint, no minibar in the room.
The staff at reception are the most curtiouse and friendly as are the door men. Customer service at its best, believe me.
The rooms were meticulously clean and could not be faulted.
My wife made use of the Thai Spa and loved it. The gym has enough equipment to ensure a proper work out, with towels and water available.
Dinner was in the Bar and Grill, a reservation having been made at the time of booking the room - unfortunately, the Bar had no record of the request when we went to eat. Fortunatley, they quickly made amends and we were shown to a table. The menu wasn't the most varied but what was available was excellent, tasty and thoroughly enjoyable.
Breakfast was excellent, both buffet and table service and the staff were very attentive.
Overall ambience could not be bettered, lets hope that doesn't change.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GAZBOW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LoughErneResort, Manager at Lough Erne Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2011

Dear Gazbow, we were delighted to welcome you back to The Resort for your third stay! I am glad you enjoyed your Loughside Lodge Suite. As you state Loughside Lodge Suites do not have private bars however we do provide a Lodge Shopping Service & we can stock your Lodge with anything you require in advance of your stay. We do apologize about the mix up with your Dinner reservation at The Loughside Bar & Grill but glad to hear that you still enjoyed your experience.
We look forward to welcoming you back to The Resort again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,489)
There are newer reviews for Lough Erne Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,316 - 1,322 of 1,489 reviews

Reviewed August 23, 2011

My boyfriend and I, stayed at Lough Erne resort on our first ever trip to Ireland, and were greatly impressed. The Faldo suite was beautiful, golf was awesome, dinner at the Loughside Bar and Grill was fantastic, the Blarney Bar was excellent. Brandon from the front greeted us as soon as we walked in, he was absolutely fantastic, carrying luggage, golf bags and making sure our golf shoes were dried from the rain and ready for golf the following day. Excellent service. We hope to be back soon!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChelseaLS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LoughErneResort, Manager at Lough Erne Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2011

Dear ChelseaLS, delighted to hear that you choose Lough Erne for your first trip to Ireland! We are glad that you got to experience many of The Resort facilities during your stay. Thank you for your comments regarding the service provided by Brendan and all areas of The Resort. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Resort again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2011

We have just returned from an overnight stay in the hotel.The staff were very attentive especially the doormen, and the staff in the restaurant who could not have been more helpful.The food in the restaurant was fab esp the turbot and sea bass.The treacle bread and the curried carrot soup also deserve a mention.Our room was lovely and very comfy but like most hotel rooms too warm even with the heating off.Our only other criticism was that it all lacked a bit of atmosphere perhaps because it wasn't overly busy.Def would return to sample the food again.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louise65Ni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LoughErneResort, Manager at Lough Erne Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2011

Dear Louise65Ni, thank you for your kind comments regarding our staff, we will be sure to pass them on! to all concerned I will also pass on your compliments to the Chef regarding your dining experience at The Resort. Noel’s philosophy of using the very best of local produce is evident through all of the Menus he creates for the various restaurants. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Resort again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2011

Super hotel. Real 5 star. The golf course is really good. Great greens, fairways, and views.
The fit out of the hotel is excellent the rooms are really good.
Only negatives were the service while ok was not 5 star. And the prices were very much 5 star. So they need to lower the price or higher the service. The food was all show in the presentation but not so good on flavour Otherwise great resort and yes I would go back.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Appraisal4U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LoughErneResort, Manager at Lough Erne Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2011

Dear Appraisal4U, many thanks for your feedback about your stay at The Resort and Golf experience.
We appreciate your feedback on your dining experience at The Resort and will relay this to our Team of Chefs. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Resort again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2011

A great resort hotel. This is a new hotel which has been designed to look old. The staff are just about as good as you will find any where. The older gentleman who greets you one arrival is outstanding. As were the staff in every part of the hotel. I booked a suite. Great bed lovely bathroom and nice living area in and oldie worldie style but its not the same as staying in an old country house hotel. The same applies to the whole hotel, a new facility trying to look old. Last time I stayed here I had an outstanding Thai massage at the Spa, this time 2x18 holes of golf! We had a very nice meal in the club house and a fantastic breakfast in the main hotel restaurant. Again the staff were outstanding.
The Lough Erne Hotel is currently been operated by the receivers. My understanding is that the banks pulled the plug on Mr Tracey the owner. He had great vision in building this resort and training the staff to the highest standard. Hope its still open next year!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HenryV111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LoughErneResort, Manager at Lough Erne Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2011

Dear HenryV111, we were delighted to welcome you back to The Resort. Delighted that you were able to experience The Faldo Course during your stay. Thank you for your comments about our dedicated staff and the five star service they provide, we will be sure to pass them on! The Resort is under the Management of TIFCO Hotel Group and it is business as usual with The Resort continuing to go from strength to strength. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Resort soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2011

Stayed here for one night B&B. Chose a lodge room which was brill. Had our own parking area and own entrance, about a minutes walk from main hotel. Beautiful room, gorgeous free standing bath and amazing views. Breakfast was also excellent. Have used the thai spa facilities here which are wonderful. The changing rooms are not as luxurious as would expect. The service throughout was excellent.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eire27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LoughErneResort, Manager at Lough Erne Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2011

Dear Eire27, we are glad you enjoyed your stay in one of The Resort's luxury Loughside Room's and full Irish breakfast the next morning! Delighted that you were able to experience The Thai Spa during your stay ,as it is so unique with our team of Thai Therapists using only Thai products and traditional techniques. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Resort again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2011

I travel a lot with work and stay in high standard hotels across Europe and the US and really like this hotel and finds it offers great value for money, excellent setting and does the basics very well. Myself and my wife travelled from Dublin and it is a good 2 hours so make sure to give yourself plenty of time. I have been here on a few occasions now and always find it a gret place to stay, very relaxing away from the hussle and bussle of a city. The grounds are beautiful to stroll around and bedrooms of a good standard. We ate in the golf club on the evening we staying. Food was good (except for prawn starter - frozen prawns are a no no sorry). Good choices on a la carte breakfast - the buffet breakfast was short on choices when we arrived (it was 10am on a Sunday so the early risers obviously were hungry as very little fruit left). I decided on the a la carte breakfast menu - good choices and selections. I had the pancakes and berries which was excellent - a welecome addition to a breakfast menu.

There is a nice spa area - my wife is pregrent and really enjoyed the pool area. We paid GBP 130 for B & B which is great value. Many of the 5* hotels in the republic should take note as most were quoting double this price as a bank holiday weekend. One criticism, and only a small one - as a returning customer I always think it is a nice touch to be welcomed a returning customer be it a note in the bedroom or welcoming at reception.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Deiselad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LoughErneResort, Manager at Lough Erne Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2011

Dear Deiselad, we were delighted to welcome you back to The Resort and thank you for choosing to stay with us again. Thank you for your comments on your dining experience at The Resort, I will be sure to pass your feedback on to our team of Chefs. Delighted you were able to experience The Infinity Pool & Thermal Suite at The Thai Spa. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Resort again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Enniskillen
5.6 mi away
Killyhevlin Lakeside Hotel & Lodges
4.7 mi away
Westville Hotel
Westville Hotel
#2 of 7 in Enniskillen
785 reviews
4.4 mi away
The Enniskillen Hotel
The Enniskillen Hotel
#6 of 7 in Enniskillen
566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.5 mi away
Slieve Russell Hotel Golf and Country Club
5.6 mi away
Mahon's Hotel
Mahon's Hotel
#1 of 1 in Irvinestown
325 reviews
14.9 mi away
Knockninny Country House & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lough Erne Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lough Erne Resort

Address: 193 Lough Shore Road, Enniskillen BT93 7ED, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Fermanagh > Enniskillen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Enniskillen
#3 Family Hotel in Enniskillen
#5 Luxury Hotel in Enniskillen
#5 Romantic Hotel in Enniskillen
Price Range: $144 - $507 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Lough Erne Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lough Erne Resort, Enniskillen, Co. Fermanagh, host venue to the G 8 Summit 2013 is the first AA and NITB Five Star Hotel in Northern Ireland and was awarded 'Best Hotel' at the 2011 Northern Ireland Tourism Awards. In 2010, it was awarded ‘Golf Resort of The Year’ by the Irish Golf Tour Operators Association. The Resort is the ultimate expression in old world heritage and new world luxury, set on its very own 600 acre peninsula, between Castle Hume Lough and Lower Lough Erne, just outside Enniskillen, with stunning panoramic views from almost every vantage point. This unique luxury Fermanagh hotel’s facilities include: •120 luxury Rooms and Suites•Two Championship Golf Courses including The Faldo Course, a Golf World & Golf Monthly Top 20 Course (UK & Ireland) and the Championship Castle Hume Course•Rory McIlroy has been its Touring Professional representing The Resort around the World•The Golf Academy, a state of the art Practice and Tuition centre•Authentic Thai Spa, with Thai Therapists using Thai Products and techniques•A variety of innovative Dining Experiences with menus composed by Award winning Chef, Noel McMeel. Including: The Catalina Restaurant, The Blaney Bar with an Exclusive collection of 101 Irish Whiskies; The Loughside Bar & Grill, a variety of Afternoon Teas in The Garden Hall and The Halfway House located behind the 9th Green of The Faldo Championship Course•6 Conference & Meeting Rooms•Cygnets The 'BIG' Experience for our younger guests (0-11 years)•One of Ireland’s most romantic Wedding Venues. All this combined with warm, friendly and attentive service make Lough Erne Resort one of the world’s most magical destinations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Lough Erne Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lough Erne Hotel Enniskillen
Lough Erne Enniskillen
Lough Erne Resort Enniskillen, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing