We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely stunning location, great base for boating!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Knockninny Country House & Marina

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Knockninny Country House & Marina
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Enniskillen
Certificate of Excellence
Newtownabbey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Absolutely stunning location, great base for boating!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2014

Another great stay in Knockninny, this time self catering in their Boat House. Massive credit to Gail, Marshall & Elisha in particular for their wonderful hospitality & for going that extra mile (or 3 or 4 into Derrylin :-))
A truly STUNNING setting, especially when arriving by boat!
Would recommend to anyone, in my opinion it's appeal is very broad across all types of visitors.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank richard v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GAIL C, Manager at Knockninny Country House & Marina, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your review.
Having stayed with us before in one of our family rooms and now in The Old Boathouse self-catering house we are delighted you have enjoyed both experiences. As you say our premises do offer a stunning location within close proximity to Lough Erne along with great views and is a great location for boating. For the non boat owner we also provide Day Boats and Kayaks for hire on site. We are so pleased you rated us highly on all aspects of our product and service and we look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    18
    5
    5
    4
See reviews for
18
36
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Newry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2014

We had an overnight stay at this hotel last weekend, Gail and her staff were very welcoming and friendly. The boutique style room was excellent, Our room had a fabulous view of the lake. We also had lovely fluffy robes and slippers and the bed was very comfortable,
We enjoyed both lunch and dinner in the bar and restaurant and the food was excellent. The breakfast was also very tasty with the edition of gluten free toast for myself which was very much appreciated,
We had booked a boat trip but the weather was a bit overcast so we decided not to go out on lake on this occasion but thats a good excuse to go back again.
Overall we had a great stay and will certainly return.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cecilia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GAIL C, Manager at Knockninny Country House & Marina, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Thank you very much for your lovely review. We were very pleased to see your ratings on both our product and service.
Indeed our Lakeview Executive rooms provide magnificent views over Lough Erne as does our restaurant, patio and bar area. Fluffy robes and slippers are an integral part of our overnight guest experience so we are delighted your enjoyed these. We offer lunch and dinner at Knockninny house and are pleased you enjoyed these. Indeed the weather was somewhat inappropriate for a Day Boat trip, but as you say, hopefully we can welcome you back very soon so that you can take in this experience. We look forward to seeing you very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2014

Arrived at this picturesque location by boat with a couple of friends after a busy day. It was only a 100 meter stroll from the well maintained marina to what turned out to be a gem of a place. We were made to feel very welcome by the owner and staff who were both professional and friendly in their approach. The draught Guinness and Carlsberg were eagerly awaited and did not disappoint when delivered. The ambience created by the large open fire and comfortable armchairs makes this jewel the perfect place to wind down.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Starman2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2014 via mobile

My Wife and I returned to Knockninny after a year long absence having had an excellent meal here whilst visiting the area for the first time. We have now moved to this neck of the woods and decided to try Sunday Lunch at Knockninny, having exhausted all of the other restaurants in the region. I just wish we had come sooner, we were greeted warmly by the friendly staff and ushered into the comfortable and cosy lounge bar. I ordered the Roast Beef and my wife had the Salmon with the herb velouté both meals were sumptuous and polished off in very quick time. Perhaps one of the most pleasing aspects of the meal for me was the fact that the food was hot and straight from the oven. The dining room overlooks the Marina and Lough Erne and we both found the experience very relaxing. We will definitely return.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Dereck W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2014

I am ashamed to say I should have written this review long ago but here goes anyway!
We stayed at this lovely boutique hotel at the start of October 2013 for the wedding of a friend who was having their reception in Crom Estate. As this was not too far away we decided to go for it even though many of our friends from that part of the world had never heard of it. Shame on them as it is just lovely.
We live in Belfast so before we booked I had several questions such as distance to Crom, how to get a taxi and if they could recommend a good hair dresser for the day of the wedding all of which were answered promptly and with lots of information, even though we hadn't actually booked anything yet.
We arrived the night before the wedding in some of the worst rain I have ever seen and in the pitch black. We arrived in and the girl who booked us in was very friendly and offered to upgrade us to an executive suite at no extra cost. Our room was lovely; big comfy bed, huge clean bathroom and when we woke the next morning I was very surprised to see just how close to the loughs we actually were! The hotel is located right on the shore with a long garden and small stone marina at the bottom to the lake and the view after all the rain out over the islands was stunning. A very pleasant surprise.
Breakfast was good and more than enough with a cooked and continental selection and set us up for the day on both days. There was a wedding in the hotel the day after the wedding we attended and the set up looked really lovely but there is also the choice of a marquee that has permanent residence in the grounds. For a wedding in that part of the world we would definitely consider it.
The only extremely minor thing I could say is that we sat outside in the morning on the lovely terrace and wanted some tranquil peace to enjoy the sound of nature, a rare thing when you live in Belfast! They seem to play the same music through speakers to the outside as they have inside which is slightly distracting but only a very minor thing. Certainly nothing to ruin your morning!
I also understand that there is a restaurant on the premises during high season which we just missed. I am sure that if the setting is anything to go by then it would make for a very good night out! All in all a very pleasant stay and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BelfastRed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballymoney, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

We stayed here during the Ulster Rally in August and occupied a family room. The location is wonderful on the shores of Lough Erne. The welcome was warm and friendly. We ate in the hotel on 1 night and the food was tasty with excellent service and presentation, only slight downside was rather limited choice and fairly pricey too. The bar area is open plan with a sitting area leading into the dining area but it was a very relaxing space in which to enjoy a drink after dinner. The room was comfortable although it proved difficult to get a hot bath as the hot water kept going cold. Also no extractor fan and not able to open the bathroom window and no hook to place your robe. Small niggles really. All in all I really enjoyed our stay and found it a very relaxing and beautiful place. The staff make this country house and are to be congratulated on the service they provide.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Shauna L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

Over the years we had only ever moored overnight at Knockninny and never ventured up to the House. Well this year I was taken for a quick drink and have to say I was really impressed. So much so that I couldn't wait to go back, this time with my husband who had been at work on my previous visit. We had an absolutely fabulous meal - well cooked, well presented and very reasonably priced. We loved the whole experience so much that we returned a couple of weeks later with our family and were not disappointed. All six of us had another fabulous meal. Knockninny is set in an idyllic spot, the views are to die for. The House itself is beautifully decorated and has a lovely relaxed feeling to it, just right after a hard days sailing!!!!!! But in my opinion the best thing about Knockninny is the staff - they are some of the friendliest I have ever met. How many places do you visit and they remember your name from the last time? I do not like recommending restaurants as everyone tastes and expectations are so very different but I would have no hesitation whatsoever in recommending Knockninny. Don't know what the accommodation is like but if the rest is anything to go by then you can't go wrong. We will definitely be back!!!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank myrtle c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Enniskillen
12.8 mi away
Lough Erne Resort
Lough Erne Resort
#5 of 7 in Enniskillen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,391 reviews
7.3 mi away
Killyhevlin Lakeside Hotel & Lodges
8.3 mi away
Westville Hotel
Westville Hotel
#3 of 7 in Enniskillen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
The Enniskillen Hotel
The Enniskillen Hotel
#6 of 7 in Enniskillen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 514 reviews
9.0 mi away
Slieve Russell Hotel Golf and Country Club
17.0 mi away
Radisson Blu Farnham Estate Hotel, Cavan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Knockninny Country House & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knockninny Country House & Marina

Property: Knockninny Country House & Marina
Address: Knockninny Quay | Derrylin, Enniskillen BT92 9JU, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Fermanagh > Enniskillen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Enniskillen
#6 Romantic Hotel in Enniskillen
#7 Luxury Hotel in Enniskillen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Knockninny Country House & Marina 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms and Booking.com so you can book your Knockninny Country House & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Knockninny Marina Enniskillen
Knockninny Country House & Marina Enniskillen, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing