We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for family/friends to get together”
Review of Finn Lough

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Enniskillen
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Finn Lough
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Enniskillen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great place for family/friends to get together”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Over 30 of us gathered at the lodges for 50th birthday party. Lodges all located beside each other with excellent facilities containing everything you could possibly need for your stay. The weather was great which meant that we could go for a picnic by boat, bikes etc and play soft ball in the woods. This was all organised by the owners who could not have been more helpful. This is magical place and I would recommend that you should go.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shortyu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    211
    16
    9
    0
    1
See reviews for
65
125
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cala d'Or, Spain
1 review
Reviewed October 2, 2013

Superb facilities; fantastic accommodation; breath-taking views; friendly owners! Many National Trust attractions nearby including areas of outstanding beauty and interest. Set in such an idyllic and tranquil setting and so close to the quaint Donegal town. A place to revisit again and again.

Room Tip: The fitness centre comprises of natural walks in a gorgeous woodland, tennis courts, water sports, c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle580287
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 15, 2013

This was our third trip to Fermanagh Lakeland Lodges (previous 2011 and 2009) for myself, my partner and my three children aged 13, 11 and 9 at the time we went. We stayed this year at the end of July and had a fantastic 7 night stay. We got the overnight ferry between Liverpool and Belfast which added to the fun and broke up our journey. The accommodation is brilliant, we love the split level lodges and the space where we can lose the children. We loved the open fire and wonderful views from the lodge and the balcony. One big improvement this year - if that was possible, was the introduction of bike hire at a very reasonable cost. We also made good use again hiring out the kayaks and paddling on Loch Erne. We did get caught in heavy rain when cycling, but that is the fun of Ireland. We were very near some wonderful cycle routes which are off main roads and safe for children and visually impaired people such as me. The estate is quiet and peaceful with lots of open space and hills. We arranged a shopping delivery from Asda to our lodge which maximized our time to relax. In our lodge we had everything we needed including bed linen, towels, washing machine, dishwasher, iron and ironing board, all kitchen utensils, kettle, toaster, oven, microwave, TV, DVD player etc. The family who run the Lodges, as always, were very friendly and helpful and nothing is too much bother for them.

The Lodges are set in a great location to visit the west coast of Ireland or head North East to visit the stunning Giants Causeway. There is so much to do and see, but this is the ideal holiday location and we will be back again - and probably again and again. Traveling from England or Scotland is easy and there are a variety of ferry choices if you want to take a car or use the Rail/Sail option, and want to avoid the usual airport and cattle conditions of going by air. So would we recommend Lakeland Lodges, YES ABSOLUTELY.

Room Tip: All the Lodges are in good locations
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AllanAndJane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Our family had a wonderful week staying at Lakeland Lodges and exploring the local area. The owners were really very nice , friendly and helpful . The lodge was cosy, exceptionally clean and had everything we needed. Our sons delighted in seeing the rabbits and hares run across the lawns and loved the boats.
An adventure in a boat to the pub on Lusty Beg is essential.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsBDH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

Myself and my fiancé along with 4 friends booked ourselves in for a nice end of summer treat for a bit of time out and relaxation. Personally that's exactly what we got we stayed in 1 of the lakeside lodges which I would definitely recommend although saying that it would not be suitable for people with walking difficulties as there are quite a lot of stairs to climb!! the decor is rather dated but the lodge was spotless throughout. There is a washing machine and dishwasher with a small amount of powder and tablets supplied also you have every sort of pot and pan and cooking utensil you could ever need. A small BBQ is provided along with BBQ tools. All rooms where of a good size. I'd just also like to mention that the owners are absolutely lovely and nothing was to much trouble. The location is ideal for exploring with Donegal only about 20 mins in 1 direction and Enniskillen about 30 mins in the other so plenty to see and do.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ronster1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 21, 2013

I have spend last weekend in Fermanagh Lakeland Lodges and I would highly recommend this place to everybody!!! First the most beautyful area, second extremely clean and lovely Lodges and third the most friendly and helpful owners....this place is more than you can expect!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank SylwiaSchon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire
Level Contributor
271 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013

The setting is superb, the facilities should be mouth-watering (biking, boules, walking, tennis, indoor games, BBQs, and all sorts of boating) but our few days there were somewhat marred by a few mishaps.

The gated entry needs to be a little more user friendly - both on the first visit and when finally leaving. We had no warning that the system was in place & requires an electronic fob to activate the gates: this left a convoy of three cars stuck outside as the roadside phone wasn't being answered. Sounds petty but it grated after a long drive to get there.

The apartments we hired were on the top floor and we had trouble with the keys. Some worked but others didn't and this took time to work out. Some other things that didn't work included the dishwasher, a bedside lamp and the kitchen clock...all insignificant and all easily rectified BUT they could so easily have been checked.

We were very pleased with the beds, the kitchen and the lounge. The television worked well - as did the sound system and the dining facilities alongside the well equipped kitchen were ideal for our large family gathering. We missed being able to open the windows and would have appreciated some operating instructions for the TV, dishwasher & cooker...but we muddled through.

More attentive management would have made this a superb review, and helped us to explore the area.

Room Tip: Avoid having to use the fire escape as your main way of access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mibeare, Owner at Finn Lough, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Hi John,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we value our guest’s comments and endeavour to improve our service by taking all of these comments on board. I have addressed each of the points below.

We have a gated entry that operates on a fob system. We had hoped this would add to guest’s feeling of security and peace of mind. I send guests a pre-arrival email explaining what to expect on arrival and that the button must be pressed to call for entry. Due to your early arrival I was unfortunately away from the phone at the time and I sincerely apologise for this resulting in your waiting at the gate for several minutes. We are currently deliberating whether a coded entry may be more user friendly.

With regards to the keys I apologise for any disruption. Unfortunately we only have 2 full sets and one set that opens the back door and so couldn’t fully accommodate the 3 cars in the party with full sets. We have had two more sets cut so that this will not be a problem in the future.

As you mentioned a fuse in the dishwasher had blown during your stay in the apartment but fortunately we were able to fix this within an hour. With regards to the clock and the lamp we check all are in working order prior to guest’s arrival but I’m afraid it is difficult for us to predict when batteries or a bulb may stop working. To appease this problem we keep an ample supply of each on hand for when such faults occur.

Thank you for pointing out our need for the inclusion of instructions in the apartment. The ease of use of certain appliances had been taken for granted and so the issue had been wrongly overlooked. I have made out a guide for the use of the television, dishwasher and cooker. I have also included instructions on the windows which open fully upon pressing a button in the frame. I am sorry to hear your stay was sullied by not being able to open them fully as a result of this not being explained.

Being a family run business we pride ourselves on personalised service and strive to accommodate all guests to ensure their stay with us is as enjoyable as possible. I tried my utmost to ensure your break was relaxing and stress free with packing your fridge, organising a taxi bus for your visit to Donegal and printing your boarding passes to ensure your journey home went as smoothly as possible. Please let me know if there is anything else you feel I could have done to make your break more enjoyable as we endeavour to make every guest experience a positive one.

We really appreciate your feedback and are addressing all the issues you have raised. Besides the aforementioned comments we hope your stay with us was somewhat enjoyable. I hope we will see you again in the future and you will be pleased with the changes made.

Kind regards,

Gillian Beare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Enniskillen
11.3 mi away
Lough Erne Resort
Lough Erne Resort
#5 of 7 in Enniskillen
1,433 reviews
16.8 mi away
Killyhevlin Lakeside Hotel & Lodges
16.0 mi away
Westville Hotel
Westville Hotel
#3 of 7 in Enniskillen
754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.7 mi away
The Enniskillen Hotel
The Enniskillen Hotel
#6 of 7 in Enniskillen
547 reviews
25.7 mi away
Knockninny Country House & Marina
13.9 mi away
Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Finn Lough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Finn Lough

Property: Finn Lough
Address: 41 Letter Road, Enniskillen BT93 2BB, Northern Ireland (Formerly Fermanagh Lakeland Lodges)
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Fermanagh > Enniskillen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Enniskillen
#2 Luxury Hotel in Enniskillen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Finn Lough 4.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestling in beautiful Muckross Wood, on the shores of Lower Lough Erne, Finn Lough offers the perfect holiday setting for families, country lovers and serious, and not so serious, fishermen alike. The marina, tennis court, children's playground, nature trails, mountain bikes tracks, spa, restautant and indoor games centre on site, offer a wide range of activities for all ages on your doorstep. Or, you can venture further out and take advantage of Co Donegal, with its golden beaches, spectacular coastline and all North and West Ireland's world famous attractions such as the Giant's Causeway, Bushmills distillery, Slieve League sea cliffs and Glen Veigh national park. So, whether you are seeking a relaxing countryside getaway, an action packed weekend, or angling for a sole fishing trip, we have the perfect package for you. Come and take a look! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Finn Lough Enniskillen, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing