We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost a lovely holiday break.”
Review of Finn Lough

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Enniskillen
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Finn Lough
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Enniskillen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed August 21, 2013

The setting is superb, the facilities should be mouth-watering (biking, boules, walking, tennis, indoor games, BBQs, and all sorts of boating) but our few days there were somewhat marred by a few mishaps.

The gated entry needs to be a little more user friendly - both on the first visit and when finally leaving. We had no warning that the system was in place & requires an electronic fob to activate the gates: this left a convoy of three cars stuck outside as the roadside phone wasn't being answered. Sounds petty but it grated after a long drive to get there.

The apartments we hired were on the top floor and we had trouble with the keys. Some worked but others didn't and this took time to work out. Some other things that didn't work included the dishwasher, a bedside lamp and the kitchen clock...all insignificant and all easily rectified BUT they could so easily have been checked.

We were very pleased with the beds, the kitchen and the lounge. The television worked well - as did the sound system and the dining facilities alongside the well equipped kitchen were ideal for our large family gathering. We missed being able to open the windows and would have appreciated some operating instructions for the TV, dishwasher & cooker...but we muddled through.

More attentive management would have made this a superb review, and helped us to explore the area.

Room Tip: Avoid having to use the fire escape as your main way of access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mibeare, Owner at Finn Lough, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2013

Hi John,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we value our guest’s comments and endeavour to improve our service by taking all of these comments on board. I have addressed each of the points below.

We have a gated entry that operates on a fob system. We had hoped this would add to guest’s feeling of security and peace of mind. I send guests a pre-arrival email explaining what to expect on arrival and that the button must be pressed to call for entry. Due to your early arrival I was unfortunately away from the phone at the time and I sincerely apologise for this resulting in your waiting at the gate for several minutes. We are currently deliberating whether a coded entry may be more user friendly.

With regards to the keys I apologise for any disruption. Unfortunately we only have 2 full sets and one set that opens the back door and so couldn’t fully accommodate the 3 cars in the party with full sets. We have had two more sets cut so that this will not be a problem in the future.

As you mentioned a fuse in the dishwasher had blown during your stay in the apartment but fortunately we were able to fix this within an hour. With regards to the clock and the lamp we check all are in working order prior to guest’s arrival but I’m afraid it is difficult for us to predict when batteries or a bulb may stop working. To appease this problem we keep an ample supply of each on hand for when such faults occur.

Thank you for pointing out our need for the inclusion of instructions in the apartment. The ease of use of certain appliances had been taken for granted and so the issue had been wrongly overlooked. I have made out a guide for the use of the television, dishwasher and cooker. I have also included instructions on the windows which open fully upon pressing a button in the frame. I am sorry to hear your stay was sullied by not being able to open them fully as a result of this not being explained.

Being a family run business we pride ourselves on personalised service and strive to accommodate all guests to ensure their stay with us is as enjoyable as possible. I tried my utmost to ensure your break was relaxing and stress free with packing your fridge, organising a taxi bus for your visit to Donegal and printing your boarding passes to ensure your journey home went as smoothly as possible. Please let me know if there is anything else you feel I could have done to make your break more enjoyable as we endeavour to make every guest experience a positive one.

We really appreciate your feedback and are addressing all the issues you have raised. Besides the aforementioned comments we hope your stay with us was somewhat enjoyable. I hope we will see you again in the future and you will be pleased with the changes made.

Kind regards,

Gillian Beare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (284)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

238 - 244 of 284 reviews

Reviewed August 19, 2013

We are just back from a three day stay at Fermanagh Lodges. Both Gillian and Derek couldn't have been more helpful, the activities on offer are fantastic and the lodge spotless. You can clearly see how money is being reinvested into the facilities as the children's playground and tennis courts were like new and the reception area recently modernized. From kayaking, boating, croquet, horse riding, cycling, tennis, picnics and walks you are spoilt for choice in what has to be one of the most scenic parts of Ireland. For us the family run business that genuinely cares for its customers and has that relaxed country vibe mixed with openness and friendliness just made our holiday. We will be back for the croquet alone, not to be missed.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank asbabes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mibeare, Owner at Finn Lough, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2013

Hi Kyle,

Thanks so much for taking the time to write a review. It was fantastic reading your glowing comments. Being a family run business we try our very best to give that personal service, it was lovely meeting you and your family and was great to see you all got out and enjoyed every minute of your stay. I was especially glad to see you enjoying the croquet so much!

Thanks again for taking the time to write your review. I'll be sure to pass on your positive comments to Derek. I hope we'll see you all again soon and next time we'll definitely have to get some pointers on croquet.

Gillian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

The lodges are great, the weather was great, the views from the lodge, again great, that's why it was a great holiday!

Activities were really good also, my son and I hired a boat with an engine and went to one of the islands. Then we both took the kayak introduction course and once comfortable we headed to Boa Island. Super!

There is also free wifi at the reception so we were able to download and access the Internet.

The staff were excellent, very helpful and accommodating.

Would have no hesitation in recommending it.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Ray K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mibeare, Owner at Finn Lough, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2013

Hi Ray K,

Thanks for taking the time to write a review, it was so wonderful to read your Great comments!
I'm so pleased you and your son enjoyed taking the boat out and that you both took so well to kayaking.
I'll be sure to pass on your positive comments to Derek. It's so great to hear you made it all the way to Boa Island!

Thanks again for taking the time to review us. I hope we'll welcome you back soon and you can explore some more kayaking routes.

Gillian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013

my family (wife daughters 20 and 8 son 10 and i) and my father, mother and sister in law stayed for a three day break the first week of august. we had hired two of the lodges for the stay and i must say both places were very clean spacious and had everything you could think of. we booked a package that covered the hire of a rowing boat, bicycles and a complimentary picnic hamper. the first day my father in law son and myself went out in the rowing boat. after being shown how to control it we set out on the great lake and travelled up and down with much enjoyment from my son. it started raining so we came in then everyone set sail for the belleek pottery. a great place to visit with plenty to see and a great cream tea for all of us. the next day we got the bikes from michael who was very good a sorting the bikes for us. we set off round the trail which michael had given us with great views on route. we came back and gillian had made a lovely picnic for us all. the lodges are a great place to stay with donegal only a short drive away. the kids all had a great time and enjoyed the games room,there is plenty here for everyone and i would recommend the lakeland lodges as a great place to stay with fantastic lodges with outstanding views of the lakes.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank dermot m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mibeare, Owner at Finn Lough, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2013

Hi dermot m,
Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review. I'm so pleased to hear you and your family enjoyed your break and that you especially enjoyed all the activities included in your package. Our packages offer a great way to get out and explore the local area by both land and water.
I'm glad you had the opportunity to visit the beautiful Belleek pottery and enjoyed the close proximity to Donegal town.
Thank you for recommending us and I'll be sure to pass on your positive comments to Michael.
All the best,
Gillian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Myself and my Family (Wife and boy 9, girl 7) stayed for 3 days at the end of July. We must compliment the actual Accommodation, very clean, spacious and with ALL mod cons. The only down-side to our stay was the weather... obviously you take a gamble when Holidaying in Ireland. Just bad luck, as it never stopped raining very heavily for 80% of the break. However, we still did our kayaking, a bit of boat fishing and some walking, picnicking and finally a barbecue when the weather broke before we left.
I would advise anyone who is planning on fishing of the banks of this area of the lake to take some bait with them for smaller course fish.
Overall the kids enjoyed themselves and that was the main aim of the break.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Jinky678910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Booked a 5 DAY break here in the Fermanagh Lakeland lodges, stayed in the main building and i can say it was a splendid place, was like a home away from home, nice and clean and spacious, we booked a package along with the stay which covered canoeing ,picnic,castle visit , boating,visit to Belleek pottery and the use of the bicycles for a family trek threw the forest..Can i add that these activities are not set in stone as Gillian Beare who was one of the nice people we dealt with on our stay, was only to willing to accommodate our needs as our children where too small to use the canoes we where able to have extra time in the boat, which was more suitable for us. Michael and Gillian stayed out of our way and left us too it but where there whenever we needed them which was nice, we where able to keep the boat key over night so we could make an early start on our fishing trip which was very considerate .Although the weather was wet , we didnt mind one bit as we where on the water and getting wet anyway.it was nice to come in from the wet and light the big open fire and burn the logs that where there, it was nice to smell the wood burning and it took me back a few years .it was also very nice to have met their father Bobby who is a very down to earth man and he makes you feel like you've been a friend for a long time which is comforting when away from your own home, all in all it was a very pleasant experience and one i would endeavour to have again as soon as we can, the setting and scenery was fantastic and i would recommend staying there to anyone whom wants to visit the Lakelands in Fermanagh..Michael also showed me the plans he has for new developments and after reviewing them i can also say it will be very hard to find a nicer place in northern Ireland to stay when he has achieved his goals, there will be something for everyone here in the not to distant future..

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank fragmaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

This is the second time that we have stayed at the Lakeland Lodges and the welcome was just as friendly as the first time. The accom is of a high standard and any problems are rectified as soon as possible. The facilities were of a high standard and varied. We had three generations of our family staying in a three bed house and we all enjoyed our stay. There was canoeing , fishing , rowing boats with or without engine, walks , outdoor games and a games room with wi fi connection etc .... The welcome pack was appreciated and included a free trip to Belleek pottery with a cream tea for all six of us. We had a good time exploring the surrounding area and had planned in advance the itinerary. History , culture and sports ( surfing) something for everyone.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Catherine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Enniskillen hotels
11.6 mi away
Lough Erne Resort
Lough Erne Resort
#5 of 7 in Enniskillen
1,598 reviews
16.2 mi away
Belmore Court Motel
Belmore Court Motel
#1 of 7 in Enniskillen
1,920 reviews
17.1 mi away
Killyhevlin Lakeside Hotel & Lodges
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.9 mi away
The Enniskillen Hotel
The Enniskillen Hotel
#6 of 7 in Enniskillen
611 reviews
16.2 mi away
Westville Hotel
Westville Hotel
#2 of 7 in Enniskillen
821 reviews
23.8 mi away
Knockninny Country House & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Finn Lough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Finn Lough

Address: 41 Letter Road, Enniskillen BT93 2BB, Northern Ireland (Formerly Fermanagh Lakeland Lodges)
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Fermanagh > Enniskillen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Enniskillen
#4 Luxury Hotel in Enniskillen
Price Range: $98 - $251 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Finn Lough 4.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestling in beautiful Muckross Wood, on the shores of Lower Lough Erne, Finn Lough offers the perfect holiday setting for families, country lovers and serious, and not so serious, fishermen alike. The marina, tennis court, children's playground, nature trails, mountain bikes tracks, spa, restautant and indoor games centre on site, offer a wide range of activities for all ages on your doorstep. Or, you can venture further out and take advantage of Co Donegal, with its golden beaches, spectacular coastline and all North and West Ireland's world famous attractions such as the Giant's Causeway, Bushmills distillery, Slieve League sea cliffs and Glen Veigh national park. So, whether you are seeking a relaxing countryside getaway, an action packed weekend, or angling for a sole fishing trip, we have the perfect package for you. Come and take a look! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Finn Lough Enniskillen, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing