We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Family Cornwall trip”
other travelers have booked this property
Kitchen & Dining Area - the dining table seats ten comfortably
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Kitchen & Dining Area - the dining table seats ten comfortably
Kitchen & Dining Area overlooking the garden The fully equipped Kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
28 reviews
Kitchen & Dining Area - the dining table seats ten comfortably
Kitchen & Dining Area overlooking the garden
The fully equipped Kitchen
View of the Terrace and Garden
Sitting Room
Sitting Room
TV Den
TV Den
Master Bedroom
Master Bedroom with Ensuite
Master Bedroom
Ensuite bath and shower to Master Bedroom
Bedroom 2
Bedroom 2 - can be set up as a superking double or as twin singles
Bedroom 2 - can be set up as a Superking Double or Twin Singles
Bedroom 2 Ensuite with walk-in shower
Bathroom for Bedrooms 4 and 5
Sitting Room / Kitchen for Bedrooms 4 and 5
Sitting Room / Kitchen for Bedrooms 4 and 5
Sitting Room / Kitchen for Bedrooms 4 and 5
The Old Watermill Gardens
The Old Watermill with Kitchen Terrace
View of main entrance from the Courtyard
Kitchen Terrace
Pond
Upper Terrace and Waterwheel
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
5 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Fowey, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 28 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
tobegrant
Newport, United Kingdom
1 review
“Family Cornwall trip”
Reviewed September 13, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

This is one of the best places I have stayed and the most beautiful, everything was perfect and wouldn't have changed a thing , had the best family holiday ever

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vivb3
Northamptonshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic Holiday property”
Reviewed August 7, 2017 for a stay in July 2017
1
person found this review helpful

The house and gardens were amazing, so well thought out and could be enjoyed whatever the weather. Our family of 8 - 3 generations and two dogs had a wonderful time and really enjoyed the Old Watermill and Cottage, lots of room for everyone.
Thank you Bill and Carole for such a wonderful house, so tasteful and well equipped. The welcome pack was much appreciated by all.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rod L
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Lovely place to stay just outside Fowey”
Reviewed August 4, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

This is a perfect place to stay if you're looking for somewhere peaceful and beautifully situated just outside Fowey. It's not in the town or on the river, but this means it's surrounded by lovely gardens and countryside and completely unaffected by mass tourism. The property is very clean and well maintained and has every convenience you could possibly want with impressive attention to detail. The eating areas both inside and out were particularly attractive. We have no hesitation in recommending it.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gaddingab...
Hatfield, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Exceptional holiday accommodation.”
Reviewed July 3, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

The Old Watermill is an impressive, beautifully renovated old property, standind in a two acre garden, in the delightful small town of Fowey, Cornwall. It was perfect for our group of friends (four couples). We had rented the Old Watermill plus the attached cottage, so there was plenty of room for us all.
On arrival, we were thrilled to find a charming, spotlessly clean and exceptionally well-appointed holiday home. Everything we needed was provided. - A special treat was the basket of essentials and goodies, kindly provided by the owners, Bill and Carole, that we found as we entered the kitchen.
We enjoyed sitting in the lounge, with the log stove, on a couple of chilly evenings and on a hot evening, we used the BBQ in the garden, and sat around the super-sized table enjoying our food, wine and the friendly ducks in the garden.
We were all reluctant to leave at the end of the week and hope to visit again one day.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
louiall
Ware, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful Mill in Fowey”
Reviewed March 28, 2017 for a stay in March 2017

The Old Watermill is exactly as described: beautifully fitted out, with almost everything you could wish for provided. We did a lot of cooking there and everything in the kitchen was of the highest quality and had been well thought out for those who did want to cater. The only things we missed were steak knives, not vital, but useful, and we did have difficulty with the tin opener. The knives needed sharpening so perhaps a sharpening device to hand? As I say, nothing to cause us any disappointment but when so much has been thought of for you, its easy to pick up on a tiny number of small details!
We were blown away by the house and garden, all beautifully maintained to a high standard, and it was so lovely for everyone to have their own top quality bedroom and shower facilities. Huge and very comfy beds! The house was warm, plenty of hot water and lovely to have the fire as we were there during a wet week in March.
Fowey itself is delightful but very much a place to walk to or leave the car in the outlying car parks as the streets are so narrow; difficult for pedestrians and cars to share the limited space available. Plenty of pubs and eateries if you want them - we particularly liked The Ship and Sam's. We enjoyed taking the car over on the ferry and exploring the other side as well as the amazing clifftop walks only Cornwall can offer. All in all a great place to spend some time whatever the weather.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 2, 2017
Dear Nic,

Thank you for your very kind review; we're so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that you were so impressed by the Old Watermill.

Guest satisfaction is paramount to us and we are very aware that we are only ever as good as our last review! We constantly check, update and replace equipment and linen at the Mill to keep our standards high and are sorry that you felt the knives were rather blunt - as keen cooks we pride ourselves on supplying a good range of kitchen equipment for our guests.

In both our Check-in information, and our Guest Information Guide, we do ask that guests contact Caroline, our wonderful House Manager, with any questions or problems. Caroline would have pointed out that there was an 'AnySharp' knife sharpener in the kitchen drawer! We will also be adding a 'chef's steel' sharpener to the equipment.

Your suggestion of steak knives is an excellent one and something which we had overlooked as non-steak eaters. We would have welcomed the opportunity to have supplied some for you at the time but a gleaming set of new steak knives is now awaiting your next visit.

We are not really sure what we could have done about the can opener as it is the "Oxo Good Grips" brand which is marketed for ease of use!

Thank you again for choosing the Old Watermill and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,
Bill & Carole
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
caitlinuk...
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fallen in love with a house”
Reviewed November 28, 2016 for a stay in November 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Wow. What can I say? I'm an American who has travelled all over the world and have stayed in the best of hotels and holiday homes. Mill Cottage is amazing. We loved the house and the fields close by where we walked our dogs every morning - so beautiful. I befriended 2 horses who have come visit me for apples every day. We've extended our stay by 2 days because we've been so happy (well plus some vehicle issues). Please take our recommendation and stay in this incredible place. We will definitely come back.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teresa L
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing holiday rental”
Reviewed July 23, 2016 for a stay in July 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Just returned from a weeks stay at the Old Watermill and wanted to add my comments straight away. I have stayed in some fabulous holiday rentals in England and I always look for those extra special ones that make staying here in the UK extra special. This time I surpassed even my own expectations. This house and adjoining cottage were wonderful and allowed our family to spend the week together without us getting on top of each other. The Old Watermill has been tastefully renovated to the highest standards. Caroline the housekeeper does a superb job and everywhere was spotlessly clean for our arrival. Bill and Carole ensure a warm welcome with the beautiful hamper on arrival (including treats for the doggies) and I can honestly say myself and my family could not have asked for a better week down in lovely Fowey. I would definitely recommend the Old Watermill to anyone. I simply couldn't fault anything about our stay.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing