We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect in every way” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Foye Old Exchange

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Foye Old Exchange
Ranked #2 of 26 Fowey B&B and Inns
Dublin
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Perfect in every way”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2011

What a delightful little B&B right in the centre of Fowey. Foye Old Exchange retains all the olde world charm of the original building but with the comforts of a modern hotel. The bedroom was gorgeous with a lovely comfortable bed, and all the extras like tea, coffee etc. The bathroom was charming, large and with a lot of the old features but with a fab modern shower. Breakfast was lovely, waay to big for me even though I mentioned to Michael that I wouldn't eat too much. We only stayed one night in Fowey due to our whistle stop tour of Cornwall but we would have loved to stay longer in this gorgeous B&B and in Fowey which we absolutely loved.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank obrienth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    14
    3
    1
    2
See reviews for
8
78
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
devon
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2011

Loved it here! How lovely to singing and whistling from within before the door is even open! Try and get the four poster suite, as it is beautifully furnished and HUGE!
Only slight drawback if you aren`t very fit is the walk up to the car park, but it`s worth it.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jpe1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2010

we stayed here for the first three nights of our honeymoon and can't recommend it highly enough. micheal went out of his way to make us feel at home (and don't get me started on those amazing breakfasts!!) and the room we stayed in was about as perfect and romantic a honeymoon suite as you can hope for. highly recommend doing the hall walk (ask micheal about it) and eating at sams and tiffins.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kerryjeanpower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2010

Me and my husband spent three nights at Foye Old Exchange from The bank holiday Monday 30/08. We stayed in the four poster room which was really lovely, a large bright room with a seperate large dressing/shower room. We were blessed with fabulous weather and walked the coast paths to Polkerris Beach and Polperro - The walk to Polperro was challenging but well worth it for the stunning coastal scenery. It great coming back to our room after a long day, to relax for a few hours before going out for the evening. We were extremely impressed by the food at Tiffins and would highly recommend.
Michael our host was a real character and a wealth of local knowlege. His breakfasts were really tasty and massive ! We had a fantastic stay and will definately return.

Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank georgethompson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2010

Great location, in the middle of Fowey. Breakfast is one of the best (you won't need to eat anything else for the rest of the day) and served by Michael who has a wealth of knowledge about the area. A very friendly, welcoming place to stay and we will definitely return. Would also recommend The Lugger for super home-cooked food and friendly staff.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ELS3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coleraine, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2010

I,m always a bit apprehensive about booking accomodation far from home as it is so essential to the whole holiday experience. After staying the first of seven nights in this gem of a B&B I knew I had made the right choice.
The accomodation is located perfectly close to the centre of the town, close to the small beaches and beside all the scenic walks.
We booked into the four poster room which was perfect in size and full of character.
The bonus for me was the friendliness of the hosts which helped add to the comfort of the stay. They are both real characters and very helpful. And the breakfast has to be seen to be believed, it really will set you up for the rest of the day. If planning a trip to Fowey and are looking for good value accomodation I would highly recommend this accomodation.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stephen2044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2010

Conveniently in the centre of Fowey this B&B has great character. Our hosts were charming, interesting and friendly. Best breakfast of trip

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rachel282
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fowey hotels
0.2 mi away
The Fowey Hotel
The Fowey Hotel
#3 of 3 in Fowey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,265 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Old Quay House Hotel
0.2 mi away
Fowey Hall
Fowey Hall
#2 of 3 in Fowey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Well House
The Well House
#1 of 26 in Fowey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Old Ferry Inn
The Old Ferry Inn
#3 of 26 in Fowey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
0.1 mi away
Safe Harbour Hotel
Safe Harbour Hotel
#7 of 26 in Fowey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Foye Old Exchange? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Foye Old Exchange

Property: Foye Old Exchange
Address: 12 Lostwithiel Street, Fowey PL23 1BD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Fowey
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Fowey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional B&B in the centre of picturesque Fowey. Our house is over 400 years old and was the telephone exchange for 40 years.Hence the numerous telephone memorabilia.All rooms en-suite; largest has four-poster bed. Famous for our breakfast, minutes from harbour river trips, beaches, castle. Nearby Eden Project, Lost Gardens Heligan, Charlestown, Lanhydrock only twenty minutes away, delightful walks or we are also on the Saints Way & South West Coast path. A warm welcome awaits. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Foye Old Exchange reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Foye Old Exchange Fowey, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing