We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent stay, made to feel at home.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Old Quay House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Fowey
Certificate of Excellence
Beaconsfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Excellent stay, made to feel at home.”
Reviewed June 9, 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights. From the moment I stepped in, I was made to feel welcome and the staff were both knowledgeable and attentive. Stayed in a room with a partial quay view, this was great because you could see all the drama of the goings on in the quay, including the Regatta on Saturday afternoon.
The breakfast was cooked to order with a buffet for cereals, granola and pastries, bagels and croissants. The coffee was excellent, smooth, freshly roasted. I had the Eggs Florentine, which were cooked to perfection!!
The dinner was very good value, esp the Duck for starter and Risotto for main.
The staff and owners are to be congratulated on their attention to detail, I will certainly be back.

Room Tip: The penthouse!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Ella C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

608 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    404
    151
    35
    10
    8
See reviews for
36
447
6
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2014

The Old Quay House lived up to all our expectations. The setting was perfect for our anniversary weekend away in Cornwall. We soon realised the pace of life here was different, when we were told to pull our car up outside the hotel to unload our bags. In doing so we completely blocked the road (all 8 feet of it) holding up the traffic behind. And guess what, nobody cared! Just relax. Great food and service too. A drink on the terrace over the water is a must.
One small point. Room 3 is very hot in the evenings, we think because it is over the kitchen.

Room Tip: Room 3 is hot at night. Even with the ceiling fan on.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2014

We loved this hotel. We upgraded to the penthouse which had amazing views of the harbor. I had fun observing a seagull sitting on her nest, The food was good, lovely cooked breakfast. My daughter and I enjoyed the Pim's Cups at cocktail time. All the staff were nice and helpful especially Martin.

Room Tip: upgrade to rooms with views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janegs70124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park City, Utah
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2014

My husband and I loved this hotel and Fowey, Cornwall (Cornwall in general was a highlight to our recent trip to England.) The hotel is ideally situated on the High Street of one of prettiest villages in the area. It's quaint and charming but there are enough restaurants to keep a visitor happy. The hotel breakfast was really good. The terrace off the restaurant was beautiful and, though it was a little chilly & rainy when we were there, the sun came out on our last morning to give us a beautiful good-bye view of the harbor. Some fun things: We did the Hall walk, a 4 mile walk around the harbor taking two ferries to go and come. You pass beautiful views, an ancient church where Dauphne Du Maurier was married and the spot where King George I narrowly escaped assassination. We enjoyed dinners at FOOD for THOUGHT, Sam's (best fish sandwich EVER!) and The Bistro. Loved the staff at the hotel. They were helpful, interested and always friendly.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChiliGSD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park City, Utah
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2014

Really liked this hotel. Staff was very nice and the room was comfortable and clean with a partial view of the river. (We paid to the upgrade to the small balcony with a view. 1 problem no where to sit other than the bed) The location in Fowey was perfect and loved the pub next door Sam's! Best fish sandwich I've ever had. The breakfast that was included was wonderful. We really love Fowey the best out of all the towns we saw in Cornwall and was perhaps the highlight of our trip to England. Also we happened upon a great hike, the Hall walk. Take the ferry across the river hike for around 4-5 hours and take the water taxi back for a cold brew.

Room Tip: Do yourself and favor and rent a small car. Roads in Cornwall are VERY narrow!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SWACaptain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
100 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2014 via mobile

Nice location for a quiet getaway. Staff is friendly. Rooms are typical for hotels in the area. Quaint and quiet. Food is good with a nice variety. Pub is good to hang out place with a nice local crowd.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Onefiftyone H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bicester
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2014

From the minute we arrived until the moment we left the staff at this hotel could not have been anymore fantastic. The rooms, dining room and terrace were second to none I have ever stayed in. Fantastic views over the river and the village of Polruan on the opposite bank were stunning. The rooms included binoculars, umbrellas and wet weather gear just in case. blankets were available for the terrace for the cooler evenings. Food was well cooked and worth far more than the very reasonable set dinner charge. can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: Room 12 overlooked the river and had full length doors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mchefj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fowey
0.3 mi away
The Fowey Hotel
The Fowey Hotel
#3 of 3 in Fowey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,310 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fowey Hall
Fowey Hall
#2 of 3 in Fowey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 631 reviews
4.6 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.2 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
6.1 mi away
Talland Bay Hotel
Talland Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Porthallow
5.0 of 5 bubbles 819 reviews
14.0 mi away
The Lugger Hotel
The Lugger Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portloe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 856 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Quay House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Quay House Hotel

Property: The Old Quay House Hotel
Address: 28 Fore Street, Fowey PL23 1AQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Fowey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Fowey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Old Quay House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Luxury Boutique Hotel in Cornwall- 2012 winner of a Cesar Award from the Good Hotel Guide - Best Hotel in Cornwall, Wind your way through the narrow streets of Fowey, passing cafés and pubs, boutiques and galleries and catch a glimpse of boats bobbing in the estuary. Breathe in a lungful of fresh sea air and you'll immediately start to feel relaxed. Pull up outside a whitewashed Victorian building and discover that what was once a refuge for seamen is now The Old Quay House, a boutique luxury hotel and a modern-day refuge from the stresses of daily life. With 11 luxurious bedrooms, a renowned restaurant, the best estuary views in town, and staff that are always ready to add that little extra touch to ensure your stay is perfect, The Old Quay House is one seafront hideaway that you might just want to keep all to yourself. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HRS and Hotel.de so you can book your The Old Quay House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Quay Hotel
Old Quay Hotel
The Old Quay House Hotel Fowey, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing