We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great sea-front view”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Old Quay House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Fowey
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 23, 2012

We stayed in room 12 for one night - larger deluxe double room with full sea-front view. Definitely worth paying the extra for the larger sea-facing rooms.

Pros:

Great seafront location & beautiful views on sunny days.
Large bathroom & shower.
Very nice staff.
Sleek modern design inside, with nice thoughtful extra touches.

Cons:

Unloading & parking a bit traumatic.
No breakfast service until 8:30am - everyone appears at once, so it can be slow.

If you haven't been to Fowey before, signposts are limited on the approach. The hotel is on the sea-front so keep heading downhill towards the sea at every opportunity (even if it looks unlikely) which will bring you round the narrow one-way roads to the hotel. You have to rush in quickly to unpack & get a car park ticket from reception (with any cars on the road stuck behind you) and then drive about 800 yards to the station car-park on the right. All this is a bit traumatic, but worth it. Pack light to avoid this again on departure.

The staff are very nice and make this hotel. Only slight disappointment was the breakfast (would be better if they started serving it earlier to spread out the numbers).

Room Tip: Go for a larger double with sea view if available
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Snudge08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (663)
There are newer reviews for The Old Quay House Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

508 - 514 of 663 reviews

Reviewed September 10, 2012 via mobile

I can not praise the staff enough, they were friendly and helpful throughout the duration of our stay.

The Hotel is situated in a fantastic position next to the river, thankfully the sun was out so we were able to enjoy drinks on the terrace overlooking the river.

We paid extra to stay in a superior room which enjoyed a view over the river, this was money well spent as it was relaxing just watching the boats go up and down the river from the comfort of our bed!

We would recommend this hotel and will certainly be returning.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank clj91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2012

This hotel is not the cheapest, but for a location in central Fowey it cannot be beaten, we had a superior room, which had partial estuary view. I think it is definitely worth paying slightly more for an estuary view. The staff were very friendly and helpful. We stored our bag after check out with them for a few hours. Although we didn't have dinner in the hotel, we did have lunch (the crab sandwhiches were delicious) and breakfast. Breakfast was typically Cornish, because although it was delicious we were told we couldn't place our order as the chef was busy - we were on a relaxed holiday though so didn't mind. the only gripe was one of the glasses in the rooms was dirty.

If we had to come back to Fowey we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MLD123186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Fowey is our favourite place in UK and we have been to the Old Quay House on numerous occasions. The last 2 years we have been unable to book in at the time we wanted but managed to get our favourite room this year in August. It was great to be back, the hotel managers and staff go out of their way to make sure you have a comfortable and enjoyable stay and nothing is too much trouble. In our experience they achieve quality, high standards and professionalism without compromising on a comfortable, relaxing ambience. The location is fantastic, sitting on the terrace watching the constant activity on the river, taking in the beautiful surroundings is totally relaxing. We have found this hotel always lives up to our expectations and will be back again next year.

Room Tip: Room 12 has great views of the river
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KACH40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

We got held up in traffic on whilst heading down on Friday evening. The hotel called so ask if everything was OK and what time we would arrive and asked if we'd like them to make us some sandwiches for when we arrived. Thought this was a nice touch. Upon arrival we received a super welcome from a very friendly and helpful receptionist / waitress and we immediately felt relaxed. We went downstairs and she brought out two delicious sandwiches, the fresh crab was particularly good. We were offered drinks and nothing was too much trouble. Breakfast was good the following morning with fresh fruit, yoghurt's, cooked breakfast etc. Given how nice it is I think they should probably offer local honey and homemade bread (or better bread from a bakery) rather than the sliced that was offered. Dinner was also good, great service and a good few wines on offer. We enjoyed an aperitif out on the balcony before dinner - great views and a lovely place to sit and watch the passing boats and relax. The room itself was small for the price and lacked a full length mirror (I had to stand on the bed to look in a round mirror), the plug sockets are in awkward places. The furniture seems like a choice of style over substance, as it looks OK but isn't practical. I thought it was an unnecessary hassle to drag everything out of the cupboard just to get to a socket, which was awkward as it was a hanging extension lead. The room itself was really hot and it wasn't particularly hot outside, but it was noisy with the window open. The bathroom was a really good size with a nice size bath too. It's been a while since I've experienced such excellent service and it made a huge difference to our stay.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DNB571
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

Booked a classic room in the knowledge it would not have a water view but expecting a bit of luxury at the price (£180 per night). So disappointed to find a dark , slightly gloomy and very cramped room. The worst part of it was it was right above the kitchen so it was uncomfortably hot (the weather outside was definately not so this wasn't the problem). The window was open but the vent from the kitchen below kindly wafted vapours and steam into the room to make it even less luxurious for us.

Upon request, another classic room became available, a much more comfortable temperature but still cramped and lacking in details - full length mirror ( had to stand on bed to see how an outfit looked in a round mirror), no drawers for storage except tiny bedside cabinet drawers which were awkward and got stuck easily. Divan base scuffed and dirty (didn't go looking for this, it was quite visible ) Venetian blinds had some recent food splattering on them which we asked to be cleaned which they promptly were. Yes things can be missed but when one is paying this amount, expectations are high.

Breakfast was good except the mushroom which on both days were rubbery and tasted foul.

On the plus side the bathroom was fabulous, nice toiletries and huge bath. Also the service from the breakfast staff was very good indeed.

Having read the other reviews, it would seem that the superior rooms offer a far more enjoyable
and comfortable experience, albeit at a higher price. These options were not available to us upon booking but i would still expect all rooms in a hotel like this to be special. The room above the kitchen (no 3 i recall) should definately not be sold at this rate, if at all. At breakfast i heard another couple tell staff their room number was no longer 3 but another room, so they had been moved also.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CornwallZoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theoldquayhouse, Owner at The Old Quay House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to provide such detailed feedback. We are very sorry to hear that you experienced some problems during your recent stay with us.

Both of the rooms that you stayed in are located in the original part of the building and as such were subject to strict planning regulations. We are aware that neither is large but, like all the rooms in the house, they have been individually styled to make best use of the space. With regard to the location of the bedroom and its proximity to the kitchen, the vent is actually located on the roof of the building and careful thought was given to its location at the time the hotel was developed. It may have been that an open kitchen window was causing smells to reach your room – thank you for highlighting this, we have taken steps to ensure that it will not happen again in future. Room 3 is fitted with a colonial-style ceiling fan as well as a free standing fan, so the room should never be too hot, guests are encouraged to use them so as to personally regulate the temperature in the room.

Thank you, too, for flagging the housekeeping matters. It is very rare that problems such as you encountered slip through the net, but if they do we can assure you that our team work to ensure any issues are rectified immediately. We are sorry about the lack of a full length mirror in your room, we are actually in the process of finding a suitable replacement for the mirror which used to hang on the wardrobe door and was unfortunately broken recently.

We hope that you will consider visiting us again and will allow us to find a room that is more to your taste and make sure your next stay is perfect.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

It was a long time since we had been to Fowey and so we decided to spoil ourselves and picked what we believed to be a first class hotel which at GBP270.00 per night for B&B should certainly be the case. As we had read good reports of its restaurant, we booked for dinner on all three nights of our stay.
The location turned out to be completely up to expectations but the hotel did not. We had a wonderful view but the doors to the french balcony did not fit properly. My wife could not open them and I could only do so with difficulty having to kick them to close them. An occasional chair had a broken leg which fell off when I moved it. Thank goodness that my wife did not sit on it first. We were surprised that a hotel charging so much did not provide a bar fridge which, in our experience is a norm. There were several other problems but we found that the extemely hands-on manager was willing to undertake lots of DIY to try to solve them.
The final shock was that we were told on our second day that the restaurant would be closed for dinner on our last day despite our having a confirmed reservation. It turned out to be for a staff party.
The staff were pleasant a helpful. The food was good.
However, after such a disappointing visit, if we visit Fowey again, cetainly we will stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dogwood_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theoldquayhouse, Owner at The Old Quay House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2012

We are sorry to hear that your experience with us did not live up to your expectations. As I explained when we met, The Old Quay House is a boutique hotel rather than a 5* property and as such does not necessarily include all of the features that you might expect to find in a 5* hotel, such as fridges in the rooms in which guests can store their own drinks and food. We prefer to offer roomservice so that everything can be served in the proper manner .We always aim to be clear in the descriptions on our website and in any promotional literature, however we are pleased that were able to provide a mini fridge for you on request. We do also provide a milk fridge on each floor so that guests can have fresh cold milk with their morning tea or coffee.

Thank you, too, for your feedback on the chair and door. We are fastidious in our maintenance procedures, but occasionally things go unnoticed and we very much appreciate it when guests bring these to our attention so that we can rectify any issues immediately, as our manager was able to in this case.

We can only apologise for any inconvenience caused by the unscheduled closure of our restaurant. I do fully understand your disappointment, but I would like to reassure you that it is a decision I made in response to highly unusual staffing circumstances that were entirely out of our control - indeed, the unscheduled closure of the restaurant is something that has never happened before in the ten years since we opened the hotel and I very much hope that it will never happen again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fowey
0.3 mi away
The Fowey Hotel
The Fowey Hotel
#3 of 3 in Fowey
1,381 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fowey Hall
Fowey Hall
#2 of 3 in Fowey
684 reviews
4.6 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
1,581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Talland Bay Hotel
Talland Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Porthallow
876 reviews
22.9 mi away
The Oceanic Hotel
The Oceanic Hotel
#1 of 24 in Falmouth
200 reviews
7.2 mi away
The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Quay House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Quay House Hotel

Address: 28 Fore Street, Fowey PL23 1AQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Fowey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Fowey
Price Range: $187 - $337 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Old Quay House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Luxury Boutique Hotel in Cornwall- 2012 winner of a Cesar Award from the Good Hotel Guide - Best Hotel in Cornwall, Wind your way through the narrow streets of Fowey, passing cafés and pubs, boutiques and galleries and catch a glimpse of boats bobbing in the estuary. Breathe in a lungful of fresh sea air and you'll immediately start to feel relaxed. Pull up outside a whitewashed Victorian building and discover that what was once a refuge for seamen is now The Old Quay House, a boutique luxury hotel and a modern-day refuge from the stresses of daily life. With 11 luxurious bedrooms, a renowned restaurant, the best estuary views in town, and staff that are always ready to add that little extra touch to ensure your stay is perfect, The Old Quay House is one seafront hideaway that you might just want to keep all to yourself. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Old Quay House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Quay Hotel
Old Quay Hotel
The Old Quay House Hotel Fowey, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing