We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Harbourside stay”
Review of The Galleon Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Galleon Inn
Ranked #5 of 25 Fowey B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 25, 2011

I stayed 2 nights at the Galleon Inn in the small fishing town of Fowey. I also ate there as well from a really good menu with daily specials. The rooms are tastfully furnished with very good ammenities. The rear of the Inn overlooks the large river and estury. Breakfast was excellent with good sized portions and not greasy. There is a choice of fish if you give them a days notice. The rooms are on top of the pub so ask for the 2nd floor if a bit of noise bothers you. I will be going back and would highly reccommend this Inn

Room Tip: Second florr is quieter but there are only 6 or 7 rooms to choose from so book early
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steve_howard77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (210)
There are newer reviews for The Galleon Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

183 - 189 of 210 reviews

Reviewed November 21, 2011

Beer selection is good but the Highlight for us was being able to sit on the front benches, right next to the river, with a great view!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank the_hairy_hiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2011

Excellent bed & breakfast. Very friendly service, well equipped rooms. Front rooms have excellent harbour views. Breakfasts outstanding with good choice and friendly, unhurried service. Food and drink in bar also high quality homemade and local beers

Room Tip: River views well worth it
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PeteGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2011

Hoping for a good meal but .....chilli con carne was worse than weatherspoons obviiously some out of the jar rubbish...fish pie better but could do with more fish and less pie.
Service and cleanliness could be better, our "waiter" was nothing more than a public schoolboy who had no idea how to relate to people - if you can't do it, leavie it to the Cornish!

Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
1  Thank brian g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2011

When in Fowey, do not bother with the boat house restaurant (bad service). Try the Galleon Inn: good service, friendly staff, good pub food and good selection of drinks.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank FandangoEspanol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2011

Lee the manager of the Galleon was there to greet & assist us upon arriving. He gave us some good advice about parking. During our one-week stay @ the hotel we enjoyed the harbor-side location, w/ indoor & outdoor tables to hoist the great drinks served by a courteous staff. Chow was always fresh; we really looked forward to our breakfasts. The final bill was exactly as quoted no sneaky add-ons. They assisted us w/ bags when we left. Thank you, we'd like to come back.
Jimmy & Poppy R. N. Cal. USA

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JimmyR780
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2011

I booked here on a recommendation and went for the slightly more pricey room 7 as I was promised a great view. The accommodation is mainly secondary to the public bar / restaurant but is pretty solid – a clean and comfortable en-suite room though the bed furnishings a bit B and Q and room 7 has a fantastic view over the harbour. Those wanting an early night may be disturbed by the beer garden noise immediately below outside but the room was glazed well and we had no problem. Breakfast was pretty good with haddock and kippers options providing one day notice given. The public house was quite lively in a friendly rather than rowdy way and we ate here one night – good pub food competitively priced – I enjoyed the lamb henry very much. Location is excellent on the Fowey main street but be aware that cars are restricted in Fowey and this will mean bringing the car around to do a quick bag drop at the loading bay opposite the entrance and then leaving it at one of the car parks around 10-15 mins walk away. The staff members behind the bar and at breakfast were very friendly.
I would also recommend nearby King of Prussia, The Globe and The Other Place for evening meals.

Room Tip: Room 7 - fantastic view over the bay
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndrewOfSaunderton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fowey hotels
0.3 mi away
The Fowey Hotel
The Fowey Hotel
#3 of 3 in Fowey
1,380 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Old Quay House Hotel
0.3 mi away
Fowey Hall
Fowey Hall
#2 of 3 in Fowey
682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Old Ferry Inn
The Old Ferry Inn
#4 of 25 in Fowey
447 reviews
0.0 mi away
The King of Prussia
The King of Prussia
#2 of 25 in Fowey
211 reviews
0.2 mi away
Safe Harbour Hotel
Safe Harbour Hotel
#8 of 25 in Fowey
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Galleon Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Galleon Inn

Address: 12 Fore Street, Fowey PL23 1AQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Fowey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Fowey
Price Range: $95 - $105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Galleon Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Galleon Hotel Fowey
The Galleon Inn Fowey, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing