We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful”
other travelers have booked this property
Cornwall, near Fowey - Poltor Cottage - overlooking St. Austell Bay
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Cornwall, near Fowey - Poltor Cottage - overlooking St. Austell Bay
Garden side of Poltor Cottage Patio of Poltor Cottage
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
27 reviews
Cornwall, near Fowey - Poltor Cottage - overlooking St. Austell Bay
Garden side of Poltor Cottage
Patio of Poltor Cottage
Sitting Room Poltor Cottage
Kitchen/Diner through to Sitting Room Poltor Cottage
Sitting Room Poltor Cottage
itting Room through to Kitchen/Diner Poltor Cottage
Sitting Room Poltor Cottage
Sun Lounge Poltor Cottage
Kitchen/Diner Poltor Cottage
Kitchen Poltor Cottage
Kitchen Poltor Cottage
Dining area Poltor Cottage
Downstairs Bedroom Poltor Cottage.  2 (superking) twins joined
Downstairs Bedroom Poltor Cottage
Downstairs Bedroom Poltor Cottage
Downstairs Bedroom en suite Poltor Cottage
Downstairs Bedroom with ensuite Poltor Cottage
Upstairs 2nd Bedroom . 2 (king) twins joined or  made up singly on request.
Cornwall, Fowey - Poltor Cottage - Bedroom 2 upstairs.  Twin linked/2 singles  5ft/2ft6ins bed(s).
Cornwall, nr Fowey - Poltor Cottage - Bedroom 2 (upstairs) Twin linked/2singles 5ft/2ft6ins bed(s)
Poltor Cottage - upstairs bathroom (corner bath with shower, hand basin and lavatory)
Poltor Cottage
Poltor Cottage
Cornwall, near Fowey - Poltor Cottage - Good sized patio with garden furniture
Cornwall, nr Fowey - Poltor Cottage - Sitting Room through to Kitchen/Diner
Cornwall, nr. Fowey - Poltor Cottage - Kitchen/Diner through to open plan Sitting Room
Cornwall, nr Fowey - Poltor Cottage - Sun Lounge through to Sitting Room
Cornwall, nr Fowey - Poltor Cottage - Sitting Room through to Patio (Engine House view)
Cornwall Fowey - Poltor Cottage - Bedroom downstairs - twin linked - superking - ensuite shower room
Cornwall - en suite shower room to downstairs bedroom (slightly stretched photo)
Cornwall - Poltor Cottage - Bedroom downstairs - twin linked - superking - ensuite shower room
Cornwall, near Fowey - Poltor Cottage - Utility Room with washing machine and sink (gas boiler)
Cornwall, near Fowey - Poltor Cottage - Cottage patio (far reaching views Luxulyan Valley and sea)
St. Austel Bay -  Sea View from Poltor Cottage
Cornwall, near Fowey - World Heritage Austen Engine House ruin as seen from cottage
Cornwall, near Fowey - Austen Engine House, World Heritage Site - view facing cottage
Cornwall, near Fowey - Poltor aerial view -  surrounding country and sea view
Cornwall - Fowey
Cornwall - Par beach nearest beach to Poltor Cottage
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Fowey, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 27 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
JJays
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed August 22, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

The cottage has everything you could possibly wish for - and more! Spotlessly clean, beautifully equipped and cheerfully decorated.
A wonderful Cornish tea - the table laden with goodies & even the kettle boiled to greeted us. Delicious!
The owners live next door, but after a warm greeting, they left us to our enjoy our break.
A real home from home, set in beautiful countryside & the sea in the distance.
Brilliant place to stay!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All of it
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 23, 2016
I was so pleased to receive your review and to hear that you all enjoyed your stay in Cornwall. Thank you so much for finding time to write. It really is appreciated
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith H
1 review
“A wonderful place to be”
Reviewed July 24, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

A warm and friendly welcome in a glowing place to be.

It was always a wrench to leave the cottage to go out on our trips and always a pleasure to return to it (not that our trips were not enjoyable).

Everything we wanted was at hand, we did not even have to make an early shopping trip for provisions as the basics and more were waiting for us when we arrived.

It was an oasis of calm and colour that helped make our holiday even more memorable for all the right reasons.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The bright colourful well thought out decor and the obvious meticulous attention to detail in everything
Liked least: If anything the lack of a towel rail in the Kitichen.
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 25, 2016
It is very kind of you to leave such a nice review and I am so glad you all had a good stay and good holiday. Holidays are such a valuable time to relax and re-build strengths for busy working lives that it is always hoped that expectations are met in the choice of destination. Thank you all for visiting this part of Cornwall.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AvipsaDas
Greater London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Highly recommended - Beautiful cottage with a warm welcome”
Reviewed July 20, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We are just back from Cornwall and already missing the place and Pauline's beautifully decorated cottage with a nice view of the coastline. I was there with my parents who are visiting me from India. Pauline prepared such a warm welcome for all of us to make that visit so much more special that we immediately felt home. She has maintained the cottage and the garden at high standards and also her hospitality is something to remember by. I will highly recommend this cottage to all my friends and will definitely come back soon. Thanks again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Hospitality
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 21, 2016
Thank you so much for your generous review and I am so glad you all enjoyed your brief visit. I hope it won't be long before you will be retracing your steps back here and for a longer stay. It is always appreciated when guests take the time and trouble to write a review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moev24147
Kiel, Germany
1 review
“Nice and comfortable cottage”
Reviewed August 24, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

After nearly 7 hours driving from London we were very warm welcomed with cream tea, strawberries and many other little things including breakfast for the next day. That was really unexpected. We liked it very much.
We were not so lucky with the weather... after 3 days of summer, where we could enjoy the garden and the area... had endless rain and fog. It was useless to go out, you couldn't see anything. And that 's what we wanted: explorer Cornwall.
But we made the best of it: reading, playing cards, cooking....we just relaxed.
The cottage was well equipped and made it easy for us to relax.
Although we found the beds not so comfortable ( too hard in the downstairs bedroom, and two very small beds upstairs) we liked our stay at poltor cottage!
For large people (>1,90 m) the en suite-bathroom downstairs might be to small. For me it was okay, but my partner found it very narrow and uncomfortable.
But all in all we really liked our stay and appreciated our hosts "little somethings" very much, thank you Pauline!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 28, 2015
Thank you for your constructive and informative review and especially for very kindly taking the time to do one. It was so unfortunate that the weather wasn’t a showcase for Cornwall for a major part of your week’s stay and disappointing for you all although I think there were possibly 2/3 redeeming days! I take on board your comment about the bed lengths but they are standard sizes. The downstairs joined singles are Superking size in width but single size in length (200cms x183 cms) added to which there is an additional 6.35 cms fibre fill topper on each mattress. The upstairs singles are normally joined making a King sized bed width but single size in length (152cms. x 183 cms.). Unfortunately because of the cottage shaped rooms and the access to the room it has been impossible to get larger sizes into that room. For some reason single beds and double beds are seemingly made 3ins shorter than Superking and King! Single mattresses have more flexibility in usage I find. I am glad you drew my attention to blunt knives which had been sharpened at the beginning of the summer season and since then one has been damaged; they have now been sharpened and I hope won’t cause injury! With regard to the directions I think those who use GPS seem to arrive by a different access road than that given in my written directions.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Captaincy
Oxfordshire
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Bottled relaxation with a warm Cornish welcome.”
Reviewed August 16, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We left booking too late in the season and found that the main areas were full.
Upon searching further I discovered Poltor Cottage.

Arrival at site; we were greeted with a Cornish Tea with home baked goodies and (of course) clotted cream. We didn't expect that.
The cottage is well appointed with tasteful and comfortable furnishings. The beds are absolutely fine too.
There are a numerous rules that need to be adhered to... and you are reminded constantly with many notices around the cottage.

If you want to be isolated from modernity - good news because the internet is languishing in the mid 1990's, perfect to avoid emails and other distractions. You can get 2G on your phone so you're not totally cut-off. After a day of anxious annoyance I reminded myself that I was on holiday. Perhaps this is the best feature of the cottage. I was able to completely forget about work for a whole week!

Situated between Bodmin and St Austell, it's good to explore the area and within twenty minutes you can get to a decent beach. The closest beach isn't that great due to the close proximity of a working dock, but don't be put off, it's very clean and easy to get to.

The only thing that can 'dampen' your experience is the Cornish weather, but you can't control that - and the Cornish have provided plenty of things that you can do when you're faced with a day rain.
I recommend getting the branch line (from Par Station) to Newquay. It's a bargain (about £9 for an adult return ticket), has good scenery and helps you avoid the west coast traffic or having to stay in Newquay.

Bottom line: We loved staying at Plotor Cottage and would recommend it to anyone.

I haven't been to Cornwall since I was a child, but (once they've finally fixed the A30), I'll happily return again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything.
Liked least: Numerous rules.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 18, 2015
Thank you so much for taking the time to do a constructive review and I am glad that you did enjoy your stay at Poltor Cottage. It was just such a shame the weather was not at its best for your week. It’s a lottery as this week so far has been true “summer”. With regard to "notices" that you mentioned, unfortunately some are now obligatory for fire regulations and personal safety, and it seems sensible for those unaccustomed to septic tanks, bore hole water etc.to be notified in case they incur the expense of having to repair damage they may otherwise unwittingly cause. With regard to the capricious free Wi-Fi facility, the media reports have recently exposed that those not on major highways throughout the country have not been able to access the fast speeds promised. Regrettably to lay additional underground cabling is far from financially viable. The cottage walls are also extremely thick making transmission more difficult in bad weather. (I don’t know if you spotted on the guest information leaflet the invitation to use the house facility if there were any difficulties in reception). The one perk is that we at least have mains gas where many don’t! I hope we will see you back in Cornwall when the A30 has resumed normal service!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OlwenMcLe...
Essex, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Charming Cottage”
Reviewed August 10, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Very well equipped charming cottage in beautiful surroundings with fantastic views and within easy access to other places of interest.. The attention to detail is superb.Loved the beach hut theme decor! Excellent communication and shared local knowledge from the owner with lots more information on site, - very helpful. The extra touches were appreciated - the cream tea on arrival was especially welcome. We were disappointed that due to the unpredictable weather we were unable to make use of the beautiful gardens.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 11, 2015
Thank you so much for taking time out so quickly after your holiday to write your generous review. I am indeed glad to know you all found your stay at Poltor satisfactory in spite of the unfortunate weather! It is immensely helpful to know when guests are content with their chosen holiday rental.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Multi_tas...
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Practically perfect in every way”
Reviewed August 2, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

There's not a lot we can add, as we agree with everything that has been written before. The attention to detail is second to non. From the generous afternoon tea on arrival to the fairy lights in the garden and the stairs, as well as the copious leaflets and recommedations on where to visit, we couldn't have felt more welcome and comfortable.
The cottage is very tastefully decorated with a beach hut theme, which was just delightful.
It was an ideal location for many of the places we wanted to visit, such Charlestown, Fowey, The Lost Gardens and the Eden Project.

5 stars isn't enough, 6 / 5 would do it justice! Absolutely didn't want to leave.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything - but especially the colourful uplifting atmosphere.
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 4, 2015
That was such a welcome spontaneous review and I thank you all so much. It is really nice to know that people who have stayed here have had an enjoyable time in the area and have found their rented accommodation satisfying their needs. I do hope you can all find time to pop down to Cornwall again very soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing