We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great break.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Old Ferry Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Old Ferry Inn
Ranked #3 of 26 Fowey B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Broadstone, Dorset
Level Contributor
57 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great break.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2013

Have just returned from a two night break on a Travelzoo deal at the Old Ferry Inn. Five stars for the welcome, the service and the food. The main building is over four hundred years old and account has to be taken of that. Our room had a fantastic view over the river to Fowey and there was always something to look at. A short ferry crossing and you can walk around Fowey although I have to say that now winter is coming along Fowey was a bit dead. (A warning here, don't intend to visit Polperro in the winter, you will get ripped off for car parking as the minimum charge is £4!)

Dogs are allowed everywhere except the Restaurant where breakfast is taken but that does not present a problem as you can eat any other meals in the bar.

Be prepared for a bit of hill climbing though as the small car park is up a very steep hill and there is not really a suitable place to walk your dog. The Inn is on a 'Y' junction with the ferry landing and its uphill on both arms of the 'Y'!

That is the only reason for not giving the Inn five stars which of course is not any fault of theirs.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank topofall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

422 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    202
    142
    40
    24
    14
See reviews for
47
294
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
304 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 238 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013

We stayed here on a Travelzoo deal which represented excellent value for money. Our room had a great view over the water and we enjoyed watching the ferry come and go. The food was excellent with the option of eating in the dining room or the bar. On the first night we ate in the dining room from the set menu. There was plenty of choice (4 options or so per course) and we had a great table with views down the river. On the second night we fancied an informal meal after being out all day, so ate in the bar and really enjoyed the atmosphere. The staff we helpful and friendly throughout and we would highly recommend staying here.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sara_and_Paul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

Stayed here for a night with a Travelzoo voucher in October with my husband, having had 2 night previously in Fowey. So it was interesting to be on the other side of the Estuary. We arrived by car ferry and I was a little concerned that the noise from that would affect our stay as it directly overlooks it. But I need not have worried, the rooms seem to be protected from it. We were in room 9, cosey but comfortable. The bed was lovely. The view from the room looked right down the estuary to the sea, and as it was a gorgeous Autumn evening, beautiful.There was a problem with the shower but this was dealt with by the very helpful and friendly staff.
The inn is a mix of very traditional bar to modern dining room which again had the lovely views, also the food was influenced by the French owner and a high standard, delicious.
There is also a delightful terrace running along the outside of the dining room , perfect for a pre dinner drink.
One thing that I really appreciated was how helpful they were when my wife left her Mac there, only discovering it when we arrived home in Bath. They very quickly got this back to us by post.
The owners are fairly new and are going through the place updating and improving it. It is all going in the right direction and deserves to gain popularity.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenkyn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

Fantastic time here, food was amazing, staff lovely, location lovely cant speak to highly of the inn or its hosts, some really nice walks whatever the weather. we stayed in room 8, it had dual aspect with views up & down the estuary.............. would I stay again absolutely :)

Room Tip: pick a room with a river view .................. :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joeehns58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

Spent a really nice night there. The staff were all very friendly and chatty and polite. The evening meal was lovely, with good choices, and sensible prices. As others have said that they are new owners , they have a lot of work to do in updating the hotel. With amazing views of the river and Fowey. Good luck to them as the there is nice atmosphere. Really enjoyed our short time there

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Christine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petworth
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

Had 2 nights in the Inn. My room had a fantastic view along the river estuary and was a good size, albeit a little tired in decor. The staff were very friendly and chatty and the real joy was the restaurant food. There were so many delicious things to choose from it would have been nice to have stayed a week there just to work our way through the menu. All the meals we had were delicious. There is a nice outside seating area with views across the river as well as a river view from the restaurant. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Ask for a river view if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank portugal42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wimborne,Dorset
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

Booked 2 nights away through Travelzoo, full of old world charm The Old Ferry Inn with it's footings almost in the river next to Daphne Du Maurier child hood home. The owners have been upgrading the bedrooms all beautifully colour coordinated with en suite facilities, many with beautiful views across the river to Fowey.
Dinner was to die for, the sea food vol-au-vent with lobster bisque is a must.
The slower pace of life made for a throughly relaxing few days away.

Room Tip: Room 11 ,top floor and quite
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Edward L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fowey
0.6 mi away
The Fowey Hotel
The Fowey Hotel
#3 of 3 in Fowey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,291 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Old Quay House Hotel
0.6 mi away
Fowey Hall
Fowey Hall
#1 of 3 in Fowey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
The Cormorant Hotel
The Cormorant Hotel
#1 of 1 in Golant
4.0 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
0.4 mi away
The King of Prussia
The King of Prussia
#4 of 26 in Fowey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Well House
The Well House
#1 of 26 in Fowey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Ferry Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Ferry Inn

Property: The Old Ferry Inn
Address: Old Road | Bodinnick-by-Fowey, Fowey PL23 1LX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Fowey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Fowey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Old Ferry Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the banks of the Fowey River Estuary in the picturesque village of Bodinnick, The Old Ferry is a quintessential Cornish Inn that has been providing accommodation and refreshment for over 400 years. We overlook the Bodinnick to Fowey ferry which can trace its roots back to the 13th Century, and 'Ferryside' the former family home of Daphne du Maurier. The Inn with its relaxed and warm welcome has many traditional features including a wood burner and stone slate floor, and is full of old photographs, nautical bric-a-brac and memorabilia. The perfect place to while away time during the winter months.Our panoramic restaurant gives fantastic river views towards the town of Fowey and the village of Polruan. There are also south facing outside terraces which also have splendid estuary views, and capture the sun all day, a perfect retreat for a summers day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, LateRooms and Agoda so you can book your The Old Ferry Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Ferry Inn Bodinnick Hotel Fowey
The Old Ferry Inn Fowey, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing