We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room With A View”
Review of The Old Ferry Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Old Ferry Inn
Ranked #3 of 25 Fowey B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 13, 2013

Stayed the last two days of January using a Travel Zoo voucher which cost £99:00 for my wife and I. When after purchasing the voucher I checked the reviews I confess to being somewhat apprehensive as some of the historic reviews were far from complimentary whereas the more recent reviews generally indicated good customer feedback. I understand that the Inn has recently changed hands, mid June 2012 and is now in the ownership of Pascal Rivault and partners. Pascal Rivault is the Chef, he hails from La Rochelle and serves excellent food I had Rib Eye steak , which was cooked to perfection and my wife had Scallops which she indicated were cooked perfectly, these are very often over cooked and rubbery, both main courses attracted a supplement of £4:00 but well worth having. We ate in for our second evening meal and once again the food was excellent, we both had the Rib Eye Steak which was most enjoyable. Visitors must accept that this establishment dates from I believe the 17th Century and consequently has for some more senior visitors some difficult stairs, I managed to access our room located on the top floor without undue difficulty despite a recent major heart operation (room 9 which has a fine view of the estuary, "a room with a view") it is worth mentioning that the water was hot and the room was comfortable if somewhat tired, however, I understand that the owners have plans to improve the accommodation and were planning new bedroom furniture as well as other major projects which will no doubt improve the visitor experience, I do hope that in achieving their objective that they retain the current homely atmosphere. We found the staff very helpful especially Ivita (front of house) and her partner who assists Pascal in the kitchen. Thank you for an enjoyable two days at a bargin price.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DevonshireWrinkle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (465)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

371 - 377 of 465 reviews

Reviewed January 16, 2013

A short two day bargin break in the middle of January was just what we needed.
A room with a river view was an added bonus.
We ate at the inn both nights and the food was good value.
A view of the river from the lounge was very enticing after a days sight seeing.
On the downside there wasn't many attractions open but the countryside was still lovely.

Room Tip: Get a room with a river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BARBIE134833
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2013

Like others we had a 2 night break in January with a Travel Zoo voucher for £100. For this price we had what was probably the best room in the hotel overlooking the river. The ceilings were low and my boyfriend is tall but it's what you expect in an old building. Also included was breakfast for two and a two course evening meal for two on one of the nights. We ate in the hotel the first night and the food was lovely. The breakfasts were equally good. We ate in the hotel the second night too, mainly because the food was good but also because in the winter the ferry stops running after about 7.30ish. We'd gone across in the day though and explored so we didn't mind.

The staff were friendly and the room was spotless with fluffy white towels and good quality bed linen. We felt that what we experienced for £100 (between us, not each!) was fantastic value for money!
Thank you everyone at The Old Ferry Inn for making our stay so enjoyable!

Room Tip: We had number 1. Referred to as "the crow's next" up some steep stairs, low ceilings b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mundaycaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights on a Travel Zoo Voucher in January. We received a warm welcome from Pete, who I would describe as the hotels Mr. Fixit. Nothing was too much trouble for him. On the afternoon that we arrived we had not eaten and although the kitchen was closed he was more than happy to make us a couple of rounds of sandwiches. Our tv was a little bit temperamental, and when I told him about it, he was once again there to the rescue. He fixed it for us and then returned a bit later to check that it was still working ok. One evening we asked for a jug of milk for our room, and there he was again with a big smile on his face and still very obliging. Our room (number 6) had a great view of the estuary, as did the restaurant. The original building is possibly about 500 years old, and I think that it has always been an Inn. The building has obviously been run down by the previous owners, and the rooms are a bit dated, but too much modernisation would spoil the beauty and charm of this building. The new owners of the business are certainly going to have their work cut out to update things, and to do the work sympathetically but If we had wanted plusher surroundings we could have stayed in a boring Premier Inn. To sum it all up it was an enjoyable couple of days (despite the damp and misty January weather) It was what I call a 'Proper Job' good value for money, pleasant obliging staff and good food.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with an estuary view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Robert L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2012

In common with many other reviewers of this Inn, we used a voucher from Travelzoo for 2 nights B & B + dinner on one night, paying for the second night's dinner separately. What a bargain! The food was excellent - Pascal, the owner and chef, certainly knows how to cook. We stayed in December and, even though we were on a deal, we were allowed to choose anything from either the Christmas or ordinary menus,or from the specials board, the only small supplements being for more expensive dishes, such as sea bass or steak, which seemed very reasonable. We had breakfast both mornings, ate there both nights and the food was uniformly excellent. The restaurant overlooks the water.

We understood, from talking to Pascal, that there is lot of updating to do and there were small niggles with the room, mainly that the mattress on the bed is old and soft as are the pillows. However, the view of the estuary from the room was superb and as good a view as you would get anywhere - fabulous! The ferries start at 7am and run back and forth every few minutes so, as the pub is so close to the slipway, you may get woken by the noise.

As it was winter time, there are no ferries across to Fowey after about 7pm but this didn't matter as the company in the pub was fine in the evenings. We did the Hall walk (from Bodinnick to Polruan along the South West Coast Path) the first day we were there - fantastic views but take your walking boots as it would have been impossible in trainers - too muddy & slippery & very steep in places.

All in all, a really good couple of days - thank you Pascal & staff - we would love to come back!

Room Tip: Obviously go for a river view if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PigletExeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2012

We stayed at the Old Ferry Inn Bodinnick for a two night Travel Zoo stay mid December.
We were welcomed by Pete, who showed us our room, and explained the dining room arrangements for breakfast and evening meal.

The offer included two nights stay, with a two course meal for two on one night, with breakfast. Supplements applied for certain meal choices. Got to say the breakfast was really good, couldn’t fault it, the Lady who served us deserves praise as nothing was too much trouble, and used plates/dishes were taken away promptly which is usually one of our pet hates. Thank you again.
The car and foot passenger ferry is literally metres away from the Inn, and once we had checked in didn’t lose much time in venturing over to Fowey for a few drinks before catching the last Ferry back at 1900. If you miss this ferry it’s a long walk around, or a Taxi journey which you could easily avoid.
This restricts where you can dine on the Bodinnick side to The Old Ferry Inn. Here I would like to say we were not disappointed with this at all, the food was nicely presented and good quality ingredients. My Rib eye was really good, cooked the way I like it and my partner had Sea bass fillet which was equally as good.
The next day we did the “Polkersis” walk and had returned to Fowey late afternoon, thinking to ourselves should we restrict ourselves to eating that evening again at the Inn, or should we find somewhere in Fowey and perhaps catch the last Ferry back to Bodinnick? We decided for a change we would not eat at The Inn and chose a Bistro type place in Fowey.
That was our first mistake, not only was it expensive for what we had, it wasn’t a patch on the quality of food offered at The Old Ferry Inn where we should have eaten.
Oh well our mistake. Next time we will eat at the Inn.
The owner/s of the Inn have taken on a big challenge, and has an extensive refurbishment plan to modernise and attract more custom. This venture deserves to succeed and I have no doubt that it will, but repeat offers may be required until they are fully up to speed with their proposals.
What I would also say is we met a few locals whilst on our walk, who asked where we were staying, after telling them the reply “oh yes, we have heard the food there is very good these days”, so the word is out. Give it a try; I am sure you will enjoy the food and the service.

Room Tip: Got to be a room with a view overlooking the river Room 9 suited us or the room next door on the cor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank fletcher22Plymouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2012

Stayed in this really old Inn on the side of the River Fosey (a favourite spot of ours) and would really like to say how much we enjoyed it. The room was perfect, and overlooked the river and ferry... Our intention was to chill out and do as little as possible.. this is the ideal place for this. Yet there are many attractions close by you can get to quite easily and quickly. We stayed two nights and could easily have spent the week pottering about the hotel, and being tended to by the friendly local staff... beautiful.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank julie_goodwin1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fowey hotels
0.6 mi away
The Fowey Hotel
The Fowey Hotel
#3 of 3 in Fowey
1,428 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Old Quay House Hotel
0.6 mi away
Fowey Hall
Fowey Hall
#2 of 3 in Fowey
713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Safe Harbour Hotel
Safe Harbour Hotel
#8 of 25 in Fowey
110 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Ship Inn
The Ship Inn
#9 of 25 in Fowey
154 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Well House
The Well House
#1 of 25 in Fowey
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Ferry Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Ferry Inn

Address: Old Road | Bodinnick-by-Fowey, Fowey PL23 1LX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Fowey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Fowey
Price Range: $105 - $182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Old Ferry Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the banks of the Fowey River Estuary in the picturesque village of Bodinnick, The Old Ferry is a quintessential Cornish Inn that has been providing accommodation and refreshment for over 400 years. We overlook the Bodinnick to Fowey ferry which can trace its roots back to the 13th Century, and 'Ferryside' the former family home of Daphne du Maurier. The Inn with its relaxed and warm welcome has many traditional features including a wood burner and stone slate floor, and is full of old photographs, nautical bric-a-brac and memorabilia. The perfect place to while away time during the winter months.Our panoramic restaurant gives fantastic river views towards the town of Fowey and the village of Polruan. There are also south facing outside terraces which also have splendid estuary views, and capture the sun all day, a perfect retreat for a summers day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Old Ferry Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Ferry Inn Bodinnick Hotel Fowey
The Old Ferry Inn Fowey, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing