We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sleepy hilltop hideaway”
Review of The Fowey Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Fowey Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Fowey
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 22, 2010

This is a good hotel in a spectacular location. We booked a premier room for the views of the harbour and estuary and the extra cost was worth every penny. The room was comfortable, although beginning to show some shabbiness. The shower was far too powerful for the small cubicle. The bed was a super king - vast and comfortable. We did not go for the expensive fixed price dining room menu, but ate in the bar - good priced food, with those stunning views. Many of the other guests seemed to be like minded as the bar food appeared to be as popular as the dining room. However, breakfasts in the dining room were very good - and those views again!!

Biggest gripe - the car parking. This is very limited and pre-warned by other Trip Advisor reviews, we tried to pre-book, to be told they had no available spaces. First night then in the distant public car park. The hotel do offer to drive you to the car park to collect your car, but this can be a bit of a wait, although for anyone other than the able bodied the steep walk to the car park could be life-threatening! Big tip, you do not need to buy a 24 hour ticket if you move your car before 9.00 am the next morning, just pay for the remainder of the day and the overnight rate. Could save you over 50% of the cost, so do not follow the hotel recommendation. I was told that hotel spaces were allocated daily from 9.00pm, so ensured I was at reception at exactly this time to enquire about the next day - guess what - no spaces again. THEY OBVIOUSLY DO NOT ALLOCATE DAILY THEREFORE! but have some other method of deciding who gets the special treatment. We were in one of the more expensive rooms, so it cannot have been that as a decider either. Anyone else who works out how this is done, it would be nice to know.

Other than that, a lovely hotel and well worth a visit.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ang&tom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,400)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,306 - 1,312 of 1,400 reviews

Reviewed May 20, 2010

This hotel was charming and perfect for the town of Fowey. If it would have been glitzier or snazzier, it would have seemed out of place in the laid-back little fishing town. Main plus of the hotel is its location -- on a hill just above the harbor (though it is VERY easy to get into the town center -- just one straight street off of the side of the hotel). Main negative would have to be the elevator -- one of those cool old-fashioned elevators that is not shut the right way, will not work. Restaurant was good, though I found the bar food better and much less pretentious. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ceeceerose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2010

Stayed for 3 nights with husband and 10- week old baby. Had very enjoyable break in comfortable surroundings with excellent service. Old, Victorian hotel with usual grandeur but some areas in need of repair or refurb to continue to justify the high-end tarifff. Would definately recommend though, and would also return.

Rooms - Stayed in room 402, located on the lower ground floor accessed by flight of stairs (no lift access to this floor). We had a 'select room' which I understand was categorised as such due to the view and larger-than-average size. Superb views from the french doors which opened onto a small communal terrace. Good supply of tea/coffee/biscuits etc., TV & hairdryer. However, the decor and most of the furniture and furnishings need a revamp - mis-matched, very faded bedding has seen better days, as has the dated and scratched furniture. Bathroom exceptionally small but well equipped with spa bath and separate shower cubicle.

Staff - Very accommodating and helpful. Turn-down service available with tea/coffee replenishment offered.

Restaurant - We had the gourmet dinner in the restaurant, pre-booked at the discounted £25. Choice of 5 main dishes, although the steak carried a £6.95 supplement. Couldn't complain about the quality of food nor the service, both very good, but chose to cancel a second pre-booked reservation on other nights of visit after seeing what else was available in Fowey and subsequently ate for same price in a quay side restaurant with much more varied menu.

Breakfast - Served in the dining room. Only 4 tables are located by the windows, and they cannot be reserved so it's fisrt come, first served! Good breakfast choice from cereals/fruit/pastries to full English, a range of Fish dishes, or a Cold plate of Cornish Cheeses & Ham. Tried all of them - very good.

Location - Unrivalled in this area - superb views across the estuary. Set on a hillside so you either have a very steep walk down-hill or down steps through the tea garden into Fowey, approx 10 min walk. Managed no problem with a pram, but the lesser mobile would find it a challenge.

Parking - We paid for the reserved parking, and I would strongly recommend this. I think most visitors did as most spaces were taken. Be warned, the spaces are very tight! Ask for one near reception if your are less-mobile and intend to use car frequently as they are situated on a hill which leads upwards from the hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VOB72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2010

The hotel has fantastic views over the estuary / sea, has comfortable and spacious rooms (even those without sea view), offers warm, welcoming service and great food. Staff are very friendly and knowledgeable about the local area and cannot do enough to make your stay enjoyable. Dinner was excellent, although expensive. We stayed there five years ago, and on this occasion we thought that the hotel exterior was in need of a lick of paint and some attention - great gardens too. Ask reception for the leaflet on the walk to Polkerris - it's a gorgeous walk.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travellingtoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2010

We had a great two days here. A lovely bedroom, with view. Good food and very attentive staff. Would recommend it to anyone

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tombeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2010

We wanted a few nights relaxing break, hassle free with good food and nice surroundings. We booked 2 nights a The Falmouth Hotel followed by 2 nights at the Fowey Hotel - both are owned by same people so a bit of a gamble, never having stayed with either before. Both were excellent - if forced to choose I would say the Fowey had the edge.
We were concerned about the parking as we know Fowey has limited parking. Our worries were unfounded, from the minute we arrived the Hotel staff had everything under control, a space had been reserved and within 5 minutes we had booked in, our luggage was delivered to our room and we were sitting in the lounge gazing out at a wonderful view, and drinking complimentary afternoon tea.
My husband and I have travelled extensively with his business as well as for pleasure, we have stayed in many hotels around the world ranging from the 7* Burj Al Arab to 2* B&Bs, we expect value for money and only ever comment on a hotel if it exceeds our expectations or disappoints.
Thank you to all the staff and hotel for an excellent stay.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank experiencedtosay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2010

Stayed here for 2 nights in December as part of a deal booked through the hotel - £99 per room to include B&B and evening meal.
ROOM
Our room although an ‘inland’ room had a partial sea view and was very large and well decorated. The décor is quiet traditional, but is fitting for the hotel.
HOTEL FACILITES
No gym etc. The bar has great views and there are well presented grounds which I expect would be lovely in the Summer.
One of the plus points of the hotel was the service. All the staff, from reception, bar, restaurant to car park were efficient, friendly and helpful – I think this is the best service we have ever encountered in a UK hotel.
FOOD & DRINK
The food was fantastic – breakfast was cooked to order with the haddock being the best ever tasted! The evening (3 course meal) could not be faulted with the food being of an excellent standard and extremely well presented.
LOCAL
As we were half board, we didn’t have the opportunity to try any of the local restaurants. There is good walking locally and we also caught the boat over to Polruann. There is a leisure centre in Fowey which a swimming pool and squash courts.
SUMMARY
The hotel was in a superb location with fantastic views – especially from the bar and restaurant. The hotel is slightly ‘old fashioned’ but in a good way – superb service and standards and lots of nice features such as the original lift mentioned in other reviews.
The only downside is the parking – it is limited and expensive, but there is little the hotel can do to change the parking arrangements – unfortunately it’s a feature of the location.

Considering the quality of food and service – the price paid was fantastic value…….we will be booking to go back later in the year!

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SpecialTr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fowey
0.3 mi away
The Old Quay House Hotel
4.4 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
1,595 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fowey Hall
Fowey Hall
#2 of 3 in Fowey
693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate
18.5 mi away
The Alverton
The Alverton
#1 of 4 in Truro
907 reviews
6.4 mi away
Talland Bay Hotel
Talland Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Porthallow
886 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fowey Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fowey Hotel

Address: Esplanade, Fowey PL23 1HX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Fowey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Fowey
Price Range: $138 - $275 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Fowey Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Made famous by the celebrated authoress, Daphne du Maurier, and ranked as one of the UK’s most desirable locations, the pretty Cornish town of Fowey, is a delight to explore. Clusters of characterful buildings, cottages and shops tumble down the hillside to rub shoulders with those stacked along the curving main street, which runs parallel to the Fowey estuary. The Fowey Hotel, with its wonderful views over the town, estuary and the sea is the perfect place from which to explore it all!There's plenty to do and see too. Shopping is fun, with a variety of independent specialist shops, galleries and delicatessens - with not a high street name in sight! The town is a most pleasant walk from end to end; to be taken at a reasonable dawdle, in order not to miss a bit as there are some wonderful surprises just round every corner.From here you can venture east or west along the South West coast path and walk for miles or drive no more than a short distance, to visit the numerous sights and attractions situated in this lush, verdant area of Cornwall.The Fowey Hotel is part of Richardson Hotels of Distinction. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Orbitz so you can book your The Fowey Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Fowey
Fowey The Hotel
The Fowey Hotel Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing