We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will definitely return.”
Review of The Fowey Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Fowey Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Fowey
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 24, 2009

We had a lovely three night stay here. We were upgraded to a beautiful suite and had wonderful views of the water. Meals were very good indeed with fresh fish every night which is a real treat. Easy walk down into Fowey with interesting unusual shops. Took the small 12 seater ferry over the water - quite an experience in November.

Only drawback was having a television that did not work and we had to ask three times over two days for this to be repaired.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,415)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,337 - 1,343 of 1,415 reviews

Reviewed November 21, 2009

Very welcoming staff;;good facilities ;comfortable rooms

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank caskd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2009

We booked an offer during November and found Friendly staff, a really nice room (well worth the Select Room Sea View option), four poster bed, in a great location in a great place, this is a certain recommendation and the off peak price.

Dawn French and Lenny Henny have chosen well for a location to kick back in

But believe me, Parking is a reel pain in the rear end and we come from Plymouth's Hoe area so we known a real parking pain when we see it. Hotel solutions feels like an expensive rip off - £10 per night its too much

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patrick W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2009

Three night stay. Very friendly, comfortable hotel in an excellent position in this attractive Cornish fishing town that offers lots of opportunities for boutique-style shopping and nice places to eat. Beautiful dining room with very good food (although the menu could do with a little more variety from one day to another, and maybe some provision for vegetarians.) The polished-brass antique lift is worth a visit in itself! - so are the gardens if the weather is nice.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bobwd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2009

A lovely hotel. I am a single lady who was walking the coastal path for 3 days, staying 1 night in difererent locations on route. The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful, the room had wonderful views and was extremely comfortable. The only criticism i have was that I couldn't have dinner in the resteraunt as the Fowey hotel hosts a private gourmet dinner evening once a month and it happened to be on the evening I was staying. There is food available in the bar but I prefer a restaraunt meal after walking for numerous miles.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank merylLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2009

My wife and I stayed at this hotel for two nights in order to attend a wedding. I was a little unsure about booking it as it was some 50% cheaper than the hotel recommended by the bride and groom. I have to say though that in every respect I was pleasantly surprised. The room was a good size, cleanliness was impeccable and the attitude and service by the staff was probably one of the best I've ever experienced in a hotel. The only caveat I would add is that I did not dine in the restaurant, but the breakfasts were first class if that is any indicator.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NelsonWoking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2009

This beautiful elegant hotel sits high, quite majestically on The Esplanade, overlooking The Fowey estuary and out to sea. The most perfect location to watch the ever changing land/seascape.(especially if you have a room with a seaview!) All the main function rooms (bar, drawing room and dining room} have sea/estuary views with balcony all the way around. The staff were extremely friendly and welcoming. Stewart who dealt with our arrival and parking was a true gent! Very relaxed atmosphere. Rooms clean and beds comfortable. Evening meal and breakfasts were good and always served by a friendly happy face. A classic "English" hotel ... we loved it.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SUSEYG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fowey
0.3 mi away
The Old Quay House Hotel
0.1 mi away
Fowey Hall
Fowey Hall
#2 of 3 in Fowey
703 reviews
4.4 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
1,615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate
18.5 mi away
The Alverton
The Alverton
#2 of 4 in Truro
928 reviews
21.1 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fowey Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fowey Hotel

Address: Esplanade, Fowey PL23 1HX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Fowey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Fowey
Price Range: $98 - $249 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Fowey Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Made famous by the celebrated authoress, Daphne du Maurier, and ranked as one of the UK’s most desirable locations, the pretty Cornish town of Fowey, is a delight to explore. Clusters of characterful buildings, cottages and shops tumble down the hillside to rub shoulders with those stacked along the curving main street, which runs parallel to the Fowey estuary. The Fowey Hotel, with its wonderful views over the town, estuary and the sea is the perfect place from which to explore it all!There's plenty to do and see too. Shopping is fun, with a variety of independent specialist shops, galleries and delicatessens - with not a high street name in sight! The town is a most pleasant walk from end to end; to be taken at a reasonable dawdle, in order not to miss a bit as there are some wonderful surprises just round every corner.From here you can venture east or west along the South West coast path and walk for miles or drive no more than a short distance, to visit the numerous sights and attractions situated in this lush, verdant area of Cornwall.The Fowey Hotel is part of Richardson Hotels of Distinction. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and Orbitz so you can book your The Fowey Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Fowey
Fowey The Hotel
The Fowey Hotel Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing