We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great to see hotels like this bang up to date and hitting the mark”
Review of The Fowey Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Fowey Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Fowey
Certificate of Excellence
bristol
Level Contributor
53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Great to see hotels like this bang up to date and hitting the mark”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

Just stayed at the Fowey Hotel for a night on Saturday. It a typical "other the era" Victorian seaside hotel but unlike most, its bang up to date and doesn't just rely on its heritage to survive. We managed to park the car (even though we didn't book it in advance which seeing the "reserved for notices I guess we should have). I've read some of the reviews which mention parking charges (maybe this is the case high season) but it was free for the night. The receptionist was chirpy and helpful. The room was tucked round the back of the hotel (c'est la vie, we booked late!) (room 110 for ref) Massive bed (sooooo comfortable), spotless throughout, quirky bathroom up at highlevel. The decor is modern, clean but with a few nods to the period (contemporary chandeliers in the room, Victorian (yet modern) bathroom suite etc) The evening dinner was amazing! Absolutely delicious! Breakfast was just as good, very cheerful (how are you, did you have a good night?) lady serving us. Seriously delicious cooked brekkie along with buffet cold help yourself. To top it all the low morning sun streamed into the dining room and the view to the village opposite over the bay is something a film would be proud of. Had a lovely walk up to St Catherine Castle first thing. Really can't fault the place, its immaculate, friendly and shows other hotel in the UK how it should be done. We're planning to visit the other 3 hotels in the group after this stay.

Room Tip: we had a room at the rear as booked late. The rooms over the bay must have stunning views and catch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bristol1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth c, General Manager at The Fowey Hotel, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Dear Bristol 1973

What a fantastic review for Fowey and The Fowey. Your description of Fowey and its location is indeed a favourite of film and television program makers. Yes, we are a Victorian building, and we always keep at part of our history in our decor and atmosphere, The Richardson Group has also all the modern technology that we require to service our guests, free WiFi in all areas, and flat screen televisions.
My Head Chef is one of the Country's few Master Chef's taking a great deal of pride in providing the perfect menus, using local produce and seafood from our own fishing boat. A taste of Cornwall on a plate, just delicious !

Thank you again on behalf of the staff. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Fowey for a return visit in the very near future.

The General Manager
The Richardson Fowey Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,331 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    846
    348
    88
    28
    21
See reviews for
150
970
23
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (595)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dorking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2013

unbeatable views from this hotel and excellent acommodation and restaurant.The staff are their best asset.They made us feel as if nothing was too much trouble,that we were special and that they really wanted us to enjoy our break,which we did! Cant wait to return.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Moyra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth c, General Manager at The Fowey Hotel, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Dear Moyra M

Thank you for your kind review of The Fowey. I am indeed very proud of my staff and the professional and friendly service that they provide. Nothing is every too much trouble for us to achieve the best customer service possible. You are right, our guests are special to us. So thank you once again for your kind comments.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Fowey in the future.

The General Manager
The Richardson Fowey Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingsbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2013

This hotel is perfect for a peaceful get away weekend. We took a three day package D,B&B. The value was excellent, staff really good, food great and to cap it all the sun shone for almost all of our stay.

Room Tip: If you want a sea view room and a reserved place to park your car, you must secure it when booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth c, General Manager at The Fowey Hotel, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Dear JohnB

Thank you for your kind review of The Fowey. We always try to provide sunshine for our guests ! However even if the sun does not shine all the time in Fowey, we always try to deliver great customer service with a smile.

It is great to hear that you enjoyed our excellent food. Please watch out for our new exciting menu for our Lookout Bar, Using delicious local produce and seafood where available, freshly cooked and presented in irresistible style. Please revisit us in the near future and sample this delicious menu.

Thank you again for your review. I look forward to welcoming you back to The Fowey in the future.

General Manager
The Richardson Fowey Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birmingham
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2013

We stayed recently for three nights over a weekend,We had excellent views over the estuary and out to sea from our room,Our room was also very nice with a four poster bed and a good en-suite bathroom.We had two dinners at the hotel which were first rate with good quality food and good sized portions,the Cream Brulee with Clotted cream desert was exceptional,The three breakfasts were also very good and cooked freshly and served piping hot.The hotel bar offers good views.We found all staff to be professional,friendly and helpful.
I look forward to a return visit

Room Tip: Get a Sea View room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrummieGary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth c, General Manager at The Fowey Hotel, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Dear BrummieGary

Thank you for your review of The Fowey. I am delighted to hear that your three night stay with us met your expectations in every way.

The staff at The Fowey are very appreciative of your comments. To hear that we are delivering great customer service is the aim of the Richardson Group of Hotels.

Thank you again on behalf of myself and the staff and look forward to welcoming you back to The Fowey in the near future.

The General Manager
The Richardson Fowey Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frampton Cotterell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2013

as i said great views from some of the rooms and all the main rooms bar lounge restaurant great food good service very comfy rooms best to book your car into there car park and leave it there close to town and ferry service lovely

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank karen668
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth c, General Manager at The Fowey Hotel, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Dear Karen 668

Thank you for your kind review of The Fowey. You are absolutely correct the views from our Hotel are some of the most beautiful in Cornwall !

If guests book a parking space in our Premier and Premier Plus Sea View Rooms a parking space is guaranteed. It is indeed a very easy walk into the lovely little town of Fowey. The shops at Christmas time are a delight.

On behalf of the staff and myself, thank you again for the kind review. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Fowey in the future.

The General Manager
The Richardson Fowey Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wooburn, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed November 19, 2013

Stayed here last weekend and the hotel was fabulous, with views to die for over the river Fowey, Staff very helpful and friendly, the food was excellent, the room was lovely. It easy walk to the town centre through the hotel grounds. I would recommend you book your parking with the hotel when booking your stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Warren T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth c, General Manager at The Fowey Hotel, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Dear Warren T

Thank you telling us how you enjoyed your weekend. Chef is delighted that you found his menus were delicious. As one of the Country's few Master Chef's, Mark delights in delivering fabulous food which compliments the great service and friendly atmosphere of The Fowey.

On behalf of myself and the staff, thank you again for your kind review and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Fowey in the very near future.

The General Manager
The Richardson Fowey Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perranporth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2013

This was the second time I've stayed here. It is the most fabulous relaxing hotel with views to die for. The staff are happy,friendly and most helpful. I have never encountered any problem there whatsoever. I almost hesitate to rate it so highly as I don't think I want everyone to know it exits but that would be very mean!
The hotel is comfortable and the food excellent.
Would highly recommend and will visit again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jude036
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth c, General Manager at The Fowey Hotel, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Dear Jude 036

Thank you so much for your very kind review - we like you would love to keep The Fowey to ourselves, unfortunately the secret is out ! everyone is visiting us and giving glowing reviews for the wonderful Fowey Hotel. Great service and always with a genuine smile. Please do come back and visit us soon.

Thank you again on behalf of the staff and myself for taking the time to review The Fowey Hotel.

The General Manager
The Richardson Fowey Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fowey
0.3 mi away
The Old Quay House Hotel
0.1 mi away
Fowey Hall
Fowey Hall
#2 of 3 in Fowey
639 reviews
4.4 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
1,517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.1 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
18.5 mi away
The Alverton
The Alverton
#1 of 4 in Truro
831 reviews
6.4 mi away
Talland Bay Hotel
Talland Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Porthallow
847 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fowey Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fowey Hotel

Property: The Fowey Hotel
Address: Esplanade, Fowey PL23 1HX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Fowey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Fowey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Fowey Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Made famous by the celebrated authoress, Daphne du Maurier, and ranked as one of the UK’s most desirable locations, the pretty Cornish town of Fowey, is a delight to explore. Clusters of characterful buildings, cottages and shops tumble down the hillside to rub shoulders with those stacked along the curving main street, which runs parallel to the Fowey estuary. The Fowey Hotel, with its wonderful views over the town, estuary and the sea is the perfect place from which to explore it all!There's plenty to do and see too. Shopping is fun, with a variety of independent specialist shops, galleries and delicatessens - with not a high street name in sight! The town is a most pleasant walk from end to end; to be taken at a reasonable dawdle, in order not to miss a bit as there are some wonderful surprises just round every corner.From here you can venture east or west along the South West coast path and walk for miles or drive no more than a short distance, to visit the numerous sights and attractions situated in this lush, verdant area of Cornwall.The Fowey Hotel is part of Richardson Hotels of Distinction. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your The Fowey Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Fowey
Fowey The Hotel
The Fowey Hotel Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing