We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Back again”
Review of The Fowey Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Fowey Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Fowey
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Back again”
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Once again a really good stay. The service was as good as ever and the chef first class. The views are amazing and the coastal walks some of the best in Cornwall. This hotel never fails to please and we'll definitely be back. Thank you to everyone who made our stay so enjoyable.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a sea or estuary view, it's worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Moira W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth c, General Manager at The Fowey Hotel, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear MoiraW

Thank you for your kind review. To hear that you enjoyed all aspects of our lovely Hotel is indeed exactly the reviews that we want to hear from our guests. The staff work hard to achieve and exceed guest expectations.

Thank you again for your kind review and we hope to welcome you back to The Fowey Hotel in the very near future.

General Manager
The Richardson Fowey Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,363 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    860
    360
    93
    29
    21
See reviews for
152
996
23
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (604)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

We arrived in Fowey with no where to stay, peak season. A lot of places booked out. We like to stay in places for overnight stays with parking. You really need a small to small medium car to park at most places, including The Fowey Hotel. We took a beautiful room, facing the harbour with a verandah. Huge comfortable room with a beautiful bathroom. Loved sitting on the verandah off the lounge and bar area, great view and watching the huge seagulls.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
auckland nz
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2013

We stayed there on a recommendation of a friend,and were mostly satisfied.Lovely old hotel,great position overlooking the harbour,good size rooms,very good breakfast,bathroom good,,position good.The town itself was a bit of a trek to get to from the main highway but were were fairly happy overall.Not too far to the ferry,shops,cafes etc.
Just small things needed to be carried out.--Why start painting,and repairing the overgrown garden when you are fully booked,and in the busy summer season.Why not a couple of weeks earlier.The driveway/carpark needed repairs extensively to the tarmac.These aspects were not huge financial but should be carried out earlier.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wobbies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth c, General Manager at The Fowey Hotel, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Wobbies

Thank you for your review.

Fowey is 9 miles from the A390 which runs through the centre of Cornwall along with the A30 and the A38. Fowey being a coastal Town situated on the Fowey Estuary and the Coast.

As all gardeners know, the summer season is the busy time for tending gardens and unfortunately if we do not give our beautiful coastal garden our full attention all year round we would not receive wonderful reviews and visitors to our grounds, all comment that they appreciate our work, and indeed ask our gardeners for advise on tending coastal planting.

Thank you again for your review and I am sure that my answers to your questions are as comprehensive as possible.

General Manager
The Richardson Fowey Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ware, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Had a lovely time at this hotel, all staff extremely helpful and friendly. Considering we only stayed one night we were lucky enough to get a room with a view.
We ate dinner which was OK, my husbands fish was over cooked. Great breakfast as it is cooked to order, shame they ran out of fruit and did nor replenish this towards the end of breakfast time.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JanetteS_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth c, General Manager at The Fowey Hotel, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear JanetteS

Thank you for your review. I was pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and especially enjoyed our wonderful location.
I apologise for our breakfast buffet not having been replenished as quickly as is our standard. The use of fresh local produce is our priority and fruit and cereals should have been available at all times. We have spoken to the breakfast team and assure you this was a rare occurrence.
Thank you again for your review. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Fowey Hotel in the future.
General Manager
The Richardson Fowey Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaconsfield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2013

We stayed at the Fowey June 2012,what would have been a very pleasant stay was spoiled by the hotel being decorated.
The bar and ajoining rooms are lovely,but we were unable to use them because of the smell of paint. When we booked out the receptionist was completely dismissive of this.On returning home we complained to head office and was given one complimentary night stay.
We returned in July this year.We could not believe it.The lovely bar was again being decorated,and the in the ajoining sitting room all the easy chairs removed.
When using the bar before dinner we were offered a table where we could watch
Again on leaving we complained to reception.Why did they not contact us to notify us decorating was again in progress.We would have re arranged our visit.
The reply was they had no idea the rooms were being decorated!!!! It was all a total surprise to them,so we're unable to contact anyone.
There was no trace of a manager on either visit,which is strange in a small hotel as this.
So if you miss the decorating,you may have a nice stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carol t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth c, General Manager at The Fowey Hotel, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear CarolT

Thank you for your late review of the Fowey Hotel. We are surprised that your review of The Fowey Hotel you posted in 2012 did not mention the redecoration of the Bar. As a new General Manager I am unable to comment on your previous review and the Management and staff. However, I am extremely surprised that you saw nothing of a Manager. I would be interested to know if you asked to speak to the General Manager at the time.
As you have obviously stayed at a few hotels in September and enjoyed the majority of your experiences we are sorry that the necessary work that we had to carry out for two days in July to our bar area upset you. Unfortunately no record of your complaint was recorded at the time of your stay.
Again we apologise for your experience not being the usual wonderful stay at our Hotel that our Tripadvisor reviews reflect. We will always respond to reviews that are current, unfortunately two months after your stay is very late for us to react with our immediate response.
Thank you again for your review.
The General Manager
The Richardson Fowey Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Somerset
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013

My husband and I needed this week-end break after a particularly busy spell. As soon and you come down the narrow approach to the hotel and see the sea the Fowey magic just washes over you. The staff are so welcoming and friendly and the 'old hands' (no offence intended) recognise us so that we feel at home immediately. We had a Premier room overlooking the water, with the most enormous, comfortable bed. The view is just hypnotic - watching the ferry going over from the town to Polruan on the opposite bank, and in darkness the twinkling lights look so festive. The food at the hotel is just as good as we remember it. We had dinner in the hotel on the Saturday evening, which was superb, with friendly, attentive service - we needed all the walking we did over
the week-end. We noted that all the chairs have been replaced in the dining room - no more wobbling at the table! The bar has been re-decorated since our last visit nearly a year ago, and is beautifully light and fresh looking. A note to those who know Fowey - Sam's in the town is just as good as it ever was. Friday night at Sam's is a must for us when in Fowey. To finish, we can't wait for our next visit.

Room Tip: We like the front facing ones to see the water, and the Premier ones are more spacious, and have big...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amfin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth c, General Manager at The Fowey Hotel, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear Amfin

Thank you for taking the time to give Fowey and The Fowey Hotel such a great review. We are delighted that you enjoyed our refurbished Lookout Bar, we hope it makes the most of the fantastic views from the Hotel. Our Head Chef is indeed producing the same delicious food, and is so pleased that you enjoyed his menus.

We are refurbishing our Spinnakers Restaurant in the near future, and I hope that you will revisit The Fowey Hotel and give us your valued opinion on our changes.
Thank you again for your review.

General Manager
The Richardson Fowey Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Draycott, null, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Just returned from a three night sty at this lovely hotel. Hospitality at its best by all the staff. Nothing was to much trouble. Lovely room with the most delightful view. Could sleep with the window a tad open and could hear the sea lapping against the rocks. The lift is like stepping back in time (even for me!!). As I usually stay in business hotels at least three nights a week this hotel is my idea of bliss. The breakfasts were excellent. Will be back!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denise M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth c, General Manager at The Fowey Hotel, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear Denise M

Thank you for your kind review.

It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your journeys in our Lift. We take great care of this lift which is one of only three left in the Country. It has been photographed many times in it's life as it definitely has a personality all of it's own !

Thank you again for taking the time to review The Fowey Hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

The General Manager
The Richardson Fowey Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fowey
0.3 mi away
The Old Quay House Hotel
0.1 mi away
Fowey Hall
Fowey Hall
#1 of 3 in Fowey
670 reviews
4.4 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
1,561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.5 mi away
The Alverton
The Alverton
#1 of 4 in Truro
874 reviews
6.4 mi away
Talland Bay Hotel
Talland Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Porthallow
864 reviews
7.0 mi away
The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fowey Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fowey Hotel

Property: The Fowey Hotel
Address: Esplanade, Fowey PL23 1HX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Fowey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Fowey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Fowey Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Made famous by the celebrated authoress, Daphne du Maurier, and ranked as one of the UK’s most desirable locations, the pretty Cornish town of Fowey, is a delight to explore. Clusters of characterful buildings, cottages and shops tumble down the hillside to rub shoulders with those stacked along the curving main street, which runs parallel to the Fowey estuary. The Fowey Hotel, with its wonderful views over the town, estuary and the sea is the perfect place from which to explore it all!There's plenty to do and see too. Shopping is fun, with a variety of independent specialist shops, galleries and delicatessens - with not a high street name in sight! The town is a most pleasant walk from end to end; to be taken at a reasonable dawdle, in order not to miss a bit as there are some wonderful surprises just round every corner.From here you can venture east or west along the South West coast path and walk for miles or drive no more than a short distance, to visit the numerous sights and attractions situated in this lush, verdant area of Cornwall.The Fowey Hotel is part of Richardson Hotels of Distinction. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your The Fowey Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Fowey
Fowey The Hotel
The Fowey Hotel Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing