We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well positioned, quant hotel with comfortable rooms and good service”
Review of The Fowey Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Fowey Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Fowey
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
205 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Well positioned, quant hotel with comfortable rooms and good service”
Reviewed August 2, 2013 via mobile

Superb views and location from this quaint Victorian hotel. A bit dated in places but the large rooms are very comfortable with loads of hot water. Breakfast was delicious, if the weather is good, eat on the terrace. Very small car park and it's a very long and steep walk to the recommended car park so try and hook one of the few spaces. Reception staff not the knowledgeable about places to eat after 9 pm on a Friday! Perhaps there are none? Will be back - gardens are lovely.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank richb0510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth c, General Manager at The Fowey Hotel, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Dear richb0510

Thank you so much for your great review of our Fowey Hotel. We do have the most fabulous location here on the Estuary.

With regard to your comment about Restaurants in Fowey. I am afraid that the local Restaurants take last orders at 9.00pm. Here at the Hotel we provide a room service menu available in the late evenings serving delicious light meals.

Thank you once again for taking the time to review our Hotel. The staff and myself look forward to welcoming you back to The Richardson Fowey Hotel soon.

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,331 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    846
    348
    88
    28
    21
See reviews for
150
970
23
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (595)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2013

Very comfortable stay for 2 nights, hotel is an old building, with character , but as a regular overseas traveller, I missed any form of air conditioning in either bedroom or dining room. A fan was available in the closet, with high room temperatures, not enough to make sleeping comfortable. Also, first time I have stayed in hotel where a £10 charges was made for car parking. Maybe the hotel can comment if they propose installing air conditioning in the near future. Staff and general service very good, their Chef is a hotel bonus, food very good

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alun C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth c, General Manager at The Fowey Hotel, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Dear Alun C

Thank you for your kind review of The Fowey Hotel, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay at The Fowey Hotel.

With regard to your question about the installation of air conditioning in the Hotel. As you will appreciate The Fowey is a Victorian building in a conservation area, therefore making air conditioning a very difficult addition to the building . Due to the variable climate in Cornwall, we supply all our rooms with cooling fans on warm nights

Thank you again for taking the time to review our Hotel and hope to welcome you back to The Fowey in the near future.

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013

This is a great little hotel in a beautiful location for a short break
the staff are very friendly and food is faultless, its well worth eating at the restraunt as its top notch! the hotel has lots of original character with a mechanical Art Deco lift! the views are stunning and walks along the Esplanade are wonderfull!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ken S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth c, General Manager at The Fowey Hotel, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear Barrie D

Thank you for your glowing review !

The staff and myself are delighted that you loved your stay with us. The Richardson Hotels are all lovely hotels in wonderful locations. However to say we are outstanding in the Group is a great endorsement for all my staff who enjoy working at The Fowey and exceeding our guest expectations.

Thank you again for your kind comments and look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Similar to previous reviews we have used other Hotels in the Richardson Group all are excellent but the Fowey Hotel wins on all accounts. Position is superb, rooms are delightful even the land facing ones and the level of service cannot be bettered.
Will certainly be returning in the future

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barrie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth c, General Manager at The Fowey Hotel, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear Barrie D

Thank you for your glowing review !

The staff and myself are delighted that you loved your stay with us. The Richardson Hotels are all lovely hotels in wonderful locations. However to say we are outstanding in the Group is a great endorsement for all my staff who enjoy working at The Fowey and exceeding our guest expectations.

Thank you again for your kind comments and look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2013

We have been to all the hotels in the Richardson group, some more than once but we like the Fowey Hotel the best. We cannot fault the excellent service provided by all the staff. On arrival we were welcomed by Emily who was extremely helpful and polite as usual. We managed to check-in slightly earlier thanks to Emily for arranging this with the housekeeping staff that did a fantastic job cleaning our room.

The evening meals we had didn’t disappoint and the experience was made special by Joe who was working as restaurant manager during our stay. We were served drinks in the bar by Stacey who made us feel very welcome. We noticed since our last visit that the bar been re-decorated; it looks much better now and we all agreed the new colour scheme was a good choice. Breakfast was excellent and once again staff were very attentive. We are already looking forward to another visit later this year.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mikeandjackie-Chi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth c, General Manager at The Fowey Hotel, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
Dear Mike+Jackie-Chi

What a lovey review!

On behalf of my staff I would like to take the opportunity to thank you for taking the time to review The Fowey Hotel and to tell our staff that you appreciate all their hard work. The staff have excellent customer service skills, something that is reflected in our reviews and most importantly endorsed by your kind comments for Emily,Jo and Stacey.

I am so pleased to hear that you loved our new Lookout Bar. Designed to reflect the wonderful view of the Fowey Estuary and the sea beyond.

I look forward to personally welcoming you back to Fowey in the near future.

Thank you again on behalf of The Richardson Fowey Hotel.

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level Contributor
143 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

The hotel is located about 10 minutes easy walk to the centre of Fowey. The rooms are good, particularly if you get a river/sea facing room - Room 106 is recommended because it has a bay window from which the estuary and sea are very visible.
Breakfast is great with all food freshly cooked. Bar meals and snacks are also very good - we tended to eat at local restaurants in the evening.
It is worth paying the £10/day car parking fee - the alternative can be a hilly walk to get to the main town car park (which you have to pay for anyway).
A nice hotel with pleasant and helpful staff

Room Tip: 106, 206 or, if you want to be more extravagant Rebecca Suite?
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BrianofLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth c, General Manager at The Fowey Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear BrianofLondon

Thank you so much on behalf of myself and all the staff at The Fowey Hotel for your kind comments on our Hotel.

Our location definitely gives us one of the best views in Cornwall ! Our Master Chef, Mark is delighted that you enjoyed his freshly cooked food using Cornish produce and locally caught Fish and Seafood.

Thank you again for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Richardson Fowey Hotel very soon.

The General Manager
The Richardson Fowey Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Austell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

I have visited the Fowey Hall hotel on several occasions and have never been disappointed. An outstanding building of extreme beauty. The staff are vibrant, friendly and obliging. The location will never be beaten. The food is exquisite. I spent my birthday evening there tonight and had the most outstanding evening ever. The Fowey hotel is a fantastic place to be, whatever the occasion!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fowey
0.3 mi away
The Old Quay House Hotel
0.1 mi away
Fowey Hall
Fowey Hall
#2 of 3 in Fowey
639 reviews
4.4 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
1,517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.1 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
18.5 mi away
The Alverton
The Alverton
#1 of 4 in Truro
831 reviews
6.4 mi away
Talland Bay Hotel
Talland Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Porthallow
847 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fowey Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fowey Hotel

Property: The Fowey Hotel
Address: Esplanade, Fowey PL23 1HX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Fowey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Fowey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Fowey Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Made famous by the celebrated authoress, Daphne du Maurier, and ranked as one of the UK’s most desirable locations, the pretty Cornish town of Fowey, is a delight to explore. Clusters of characterful buildings, cottages and shops tumble down the hillside to rub shoulders with those stacked along the curving main street, which runs parallel to the Fowey estuary. The Fowey Hotel, with its wonderful views over the town, estuary and the sea is the perfect place from which to explore it all!There's plenty to do and see too. Shopping is fun, with a variety of independent specialist shops, galleries and delicatessens - with not a high street name in sight! The town is a most pleasant walk from end to end; to be taken at a reasonable dawdle, in order not to miss a bit as there are some wonderful surprises just round every corner.From here you can venture east or west along the South West coast path and walk for miles or drive no more than a short distance, to visit the numerous sights and attractions situated in this lush, verdant area of Cornwall.The Fowey Hotel is part of Richardson Hotels of Distinction. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your The Fowey Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Fowey
Fowey The Hotel
The Fowey Hotel Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing