We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous Fowey Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Fowey Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Fowey Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Fowey
Certificate of Excellence
Devon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous Fowey Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

Just enjoyed another short stay at the Fowey Hotel to celebrate our wedding anniversary - our second visit so far this year. Not only did we benefit from their late May special offer but we also took advantage of their discounted second night - excellent value for money. Dinner was, as usual, absolutely delicious - all superbly cooked and beautifully presented and breakfast keeps you going all day! All the rooms we have stayed in are very clean, comfortable and spacious and the hotel offers delightful views over the Fowey estuary. This hotel really makes us feel very relaxed and comfortable. Nothing is too much trouble for the friendly and efficient staff and on this visit our Jack Russell dog was made very welcome too! Already looking forward to our next visit....

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the estuary get the morning sun and, of course, stunning views
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jamfi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,269 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    806
    334
    82
    27
    20
See reviews for
143
928
21
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (566)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

A fantastic and luxurious stay at the Fowey Hotel. Beautiful views, excellent food and a calm atmosphere. Only let down by our room coffee cups.. Otherwise highly recommended and a definite hotel to return to.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sazzie32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby
Level Contributor
193 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

Stayed for one night not realising how lovely Fowey is and wished we had booked for longer. The hotel is impressive and in a brilliant location with stunning grounds and breathtaking views. You can walk along the esplanade to a beach but unfortunately dogs are not allowed. The town itself has lovely shops, restaurants and pubs which are dog friendly. You can enjoy boat trips or take the ferry to Mevagissey. The staff in the hotel are all excellent and the food exceptional. We stayed on a Sunday evening and there was a jazz duo playing in the dining room. We will definitely go back and stay for a week. Some people have complained about the decor but we feel it suits the victorian hotel.

Room Tip: It is worth paying extra for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Romantics77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camberley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

Having once again selected to visit Cornwall, we both wanted to revisit The Fowey, in Fowey south Cornwall. Having had to work the saturday prior to the late May bank holiday, we decided to stay in Yeovil at the The half Moon in Mudford, another little gem which will receive top marks here as well. so yes stayed the saturday night and got an early morning start the next day.

having woken to a bright and sunny morning we set of for the last couple of hours, staying of the the motorways and heading primarily on the A303. have to say great choice and traffic was fantastic, so a nice trip through Somerset and Devon.

so arriving at the Fowey refreshed,a little early, at first when we drove through the tight access rd to the hotel, the parking spot was not available, so we parked up on the public car park a short walk away. walked down to find the parking spot had just been allocated. however the room was not available so walked to the harbour for some lunch. the sun was warm but the wind was cold. but to breath the sea breeze is fantastic.

a couple of hours later, we drove to our allocated spot, a beautiful maroon bugatti was parked up not to far away, another old lady visiting The old Lady of Fowey.

yet again we had a wonderful stay, a sea view this time looking over the harbour to Polruan, Ann my partner had said it looked like a toy town, as no one seemed to be there. although the little ferry boat was bobbing back and forth across the bay all day!.

unfortunately Ann had a bad tum from a pasta dish in the port, and we were going to return to the port for supper. however we had the sancturary of The Fowey, its comfortable unique and classical English(Cornish) style and its ever present friendly smiling staff, who went to every level to help and make your stay comfortable. So a snack in the bar, a couple of drinks and off to bed, not before first admiring the view across to Polruan, with its lights twinkling in the Cornish moonlight.

up in the morning, unfortunately monday lashed it down in typical English summer style, so what to do but have a sumptious breakfast, overlooking a somewhat wet and windswept harbour. but hey what a view in any weather. Great breakfast and guess what, on my last report/visit I had one complaint no HP brown sauce, the power of the written word, mightyier than the sword they say.... so dun dun derrrrrrr, HP with my full English Breakfast complete with hogs pudding shhhh their little secret I wont say another word ha!.

so monday met up not to far from St Mawes in the slashing .... !!!!! with my mother, sister, bro in law and girls for a country lunch, oh beware down these lanes dont drive to fast they are tight and oh take a jungle drum to communicate, no mobile (or cell signal to you two tuns, hey but your welcome from across the pond anytime).

talking of which do not pass up the little boat that bobs accross the bay, go to Polruan and check out the views not only to Fowey, but take a leg burning trek up Polruans winding lanes, as far as you can, up windy pathe and foot beaten steps, to the coast guards look out. the views are worth so much, really fantastic.breath taking !!!

you can imagine running and hiding in these lanes, away from the Navy press gangs, these days you can find tiny shops and tea rooms, so relax the sea master wont be pressing you to serve, you will only be served by the smiling and pleasant people from Polruan, no its not a toy town and people are there, after all ha ha.

so check out this wonderful part of our green and plesant land, and there really is only one place to stay The Fowey, but hey if you cant stay, just turn up for a cream tea, dinner in Spinnakers or a dram or three in the bar and take in the sights. real old Cornish charm in an olde Cornish place by the sea. resist the temptation to speak like a Cornishman in their lilt you cannot, one word Wonderful, you will love it.

Room Tip: sea view sea view sea view, but use the supplied wedges in the old sash windows the wind doth blow m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank scott a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coal point nsw
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

A wonderful hotel overlooking the harbour of Fowey. Staff at reception are smiling and helpful. Nostalgic lift ;: concertina doors, polished brass handles and buttons. Room 305 has a great view over the harbour below. Restaurant is terrific. Great food with fresh local seafood. Staff are attentive and friendly. Try a sunny Wednesday afternoon sitting on the balcony sipping a dry sherry, watching the yachts race out of the harbour to the sea whilst a smaller class of yachts race on the harbour. Wonderful stuff , even for a beer drinking Aussie.
The room was quite large enough although like most English hotels the temperature is way too hot. Try leaving the window open.
The hotel needs to upgrade its Wifi connection to rooms. The parking is a problem but be patient. It really is worthwhile for such an enjoyable experience.

Room Tip: Any room with a view over the harbour on levels one to three.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aussieCoalPointNsw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Callington
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

A comfortable, luxurious turn of the century hotel - well worth a visit! Top quality chef, although the recession bites & the menu is more limited than previously. The same recession means staff shortages take the previous crispness off aspects of the hotel. It is still however our first choice for a relaxing, comfortable break with stunning views & an interesting town to visit.

Room Tip: Sea view essentia!l
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Graham A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

Just returned from a three day stay at this hotel.Our last visit was twenty years ago.We booked an offer and did not know what to expect. Our room was basic and next to the lift, perhaps to be expected.The bathroom had a chipped basin and chipped bath. The toilet seat was damaged and the toilet roll holder was hanging from the wall.The hotel was shabby inside and outside.
The situation and views are stunning. The staff were extremely friendly, helpful and polite.We enjoyed our meals but we will never return or recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fowey
0.3 mi away
The Old Quay House Hotel
0.1 mi away
Fowey Hall
Fowey Hall
#2 of 3 in Fowey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 613 reviews
21.1 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,471 reviews
18.5 mi away
The Alverton
The Alverton
#1 of 6 in Truro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 791 reviews
7.0 mi away
The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fowey Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fowey Hotel

Property: The Fowey Hotel
Address: Esplanade, Fowey PL23 1HX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Fowey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Fowey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Fowey Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Made famous by the celebrated authoress, Daphne du Maurier, and ranked as one of the UK’s most desirable locations, the pretty Cornish town of Fowey, is a delight to explore. Clusters of characterful buildings, cottages and shops tumble down the hillside to rub shoulders with those stacked along the curving main street, which runs parallel to the Fowey estuary. The Fowey Hotel, with its wonderful views over the town, estuary and the sea is the perfect place from which to explore it all!There's plenty to do and see too. Shopping is fun, with a variety of independent specialist shops, galleries and delicatessens - with not a high street name in sight! The town is a most pleasant walk from end to end; to be taken at a reasonable dawdle, in order not to miss a bit as there are some wonderful surprises just round every corner.From here you can venture east or west along the South West coast path and walk for miles or drive no more than a short distance, to visit the numerous sights and attractions situated in this lush, verdant area of Cornwall.The Fowey Hotel is part of Richardson Hotels of Distinction. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, LateRooms, Hotel.de, HRS, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your The Fowey Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Fowey
Fowey The Hotel
The Fowey Hotel Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing